We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th Anniversary Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

There simply aren't enough words to say how wonderful this resort is. Above all, the thing that will take us back again and again is the top notch personal service. Stanley, Lucky, Kiki, and so many others made every single day memorable and wonderful. The drinks were divine! Be sure to ask for a "pretty in pink" from my bartender friend at the main bar...or a "dirty banana" or "bob marley" by the pool. Each of the restaurants were wonderful, but we especially loved the Surf and Turf and the Gourmet. The nightly shows were really fun, and the live music was exceptional. The Star Friends by the pool were tons of fun. They kept activities going on all the time for those who wanted to participate. Sometimes we did (and won great prizes), and other times we preferred to nap or read on the beautiful bed-like loungers under the palm trees. The spa was divine. We splurged on the couples massage under the stars, and it was well worth the fee. We went into town one morning, and though we enjoyed the experience, we were content to stay at the resort the whole time. From the mimosas we were given when we first stepped off the shuttle, to the friendly goodbyes from staff whom we had begun to think of as friends, it was the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Spring for ocean front. It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to have been your chosen destination for your recent visit to the island. It was a pleasure to hear that our staff, restaurants, entertainment, spa and drinks had all met your high standards. Please be assured that we are already looking forward to your next visit to our property, so we hope you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,755
    509
    117
    34
    17
See reviews for
323
2321
68
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012 for 5 nights. Modern, clean hotel with beautiful views. Food was ok. Breakfast and lunch are buffet, I found the food to different from American food I am used to. Did not enjoy these two meals at all, kind of a bad point of the trip. Dinners were great, enjoyed each restaurant we tried. While we had a wonderful time in Jamaica, the resort was too small and compact for us. Felt a bit trapped. We prefer the larger resorts, with tons of room to walk and explore so it may be a personal preference. Staff was wonderful and attentive, had tons of fun with Dwayne at the lobby bar. We would not return mainly due to the size of the resort and the poor breakfast and lunch food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your opinion of your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. We wanted to remind you that when our guests stay at the Iberostar Grand you have access to visiting the Iberostar Suites and Iberostar Beach also. This gives you a long stretch of beach as well as grounds to walk. Your comments regarding our staff will also go a far way in encouraging our team members. We apologize if you thought our deed fell below par and will certainly endeavor to make improvements. We will be passing on your comments regarding the cuisine to our Executive Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will not hesitate to return soon.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Grand Rose Hall All Adult Hotel. We were traveling with my husband's brother and his wife.
This place is wonderful. On arrival we walked right up to the counter and were checked in together with rooms side by side. We were in rooms 5429 and 5430 facing the ocean on the top floor. My critique of the rooms must say that they were very clean. And I am very picky about this. The bathrooms were nice, large, two sinks, a Jacuzzi tub, walk in shower and a toilet area that was closed off with a door. The toilet area is see-thru glass though and it really did not make it a “private” area. The shower had a rainfall shower head. Nice pressure but I personally would have like other jets or a hand held nozzle as rinsing is difficult. Perfectly clean bathroom with morning service and evening service and clean towels always. Wish they could find a place to hang the towels that is a little easier to reach as I had to step into the tub to get one off the rack. More closets and drawers then anyone could possibly ever need! The bed area is not as big as I have been in with most luxury hotels. The temperature was inconsistent even though we rarely opened the sliding door to the balcony and only briefly if we did. At night we would be alternately very hot or very cold. The Ipod dock would not charge up the device. We could use it but it would not charge. The room could use a charging port. We had to unplug a lamp on the desk to charge our various devices. The TV worked nicely after we figured out the remotes.
Service was terrific. Every staff member smiled and talked to us. The staff makes a point of asking what your name is and calls you by name when they see you again. The butler service is a little off-putting. To me I think they were just looking for tips. They did try to bring you what you requested but it just seem weird to me. We asked for a specific wine but got a different kind. We asked for soft pillows. One was OK but the other was really not. We made most of our own reservations for dinner before we got there but the butler did make one for our group. Sometimes we got ice in the room, sometimes not. Inconsistent with that, We did get bubbles and rose petals in the tub one night and towels in swan formation! Reminded me of our cruises! Housekeeping was EXCELLENT.
Beach and pools were nice. There was some holding of lounges but they staff did try to clear the towels off if they did not see anyone using them for a while. Waitress service was very fast around the pool, slower on the beach. Activities were nice. If you wanted to be active, there was always something going on. Games, exercises and such. If you wanted to just rest or read, you were left alone. Beach was raked and clean. Pools were FREEZING COLD! The so-called hot tub at the pool area was more like a COLD Plunge.
I only utilized the wet room at the spas area and this was very large and nice. Because the men’s side steam room was being repaired one day. The wet room was co-ed. That is better to me but bathing suits were required and I know some people like top go all-natural The next day the repairs were done and then there was Women and Men wet rooms. Large Roman tubs of various temps and Jacuzzis with hot or hotter water! Very large steam and sauna. Could not figure out how to use Swedish Showers and no one around to ask. Gym is nice but very hot. .
Restaurants_ The breakfast buffet was OK. I really would have liked to see it change daily but there were many choices.
Lunch buffet at St Maria’s was different every day. Nice choices, Plentiful and high quality.
Dinner was pretty good. We absolutely loved the surf and turf restaurant. Sasha-Gay, our server, really treated use Grandly!.. She was sure to offer use a lobster tail along with whatever entree we ordered. She brought the sides to our table family style so we could all try everything. She was funny and very attentive.
The Italian restaurant server was not as nice. He was sure to tell use we could only have one entree and one appetizer. Portions were small and our group are very big eaters. We did not like his attitude. The Gourmet restaurant was almost laughable. We are “Foodies” with many years of restaurant experience. I asked questions about the preparation of some of the listed dishes. There was a very limited amount of choices so this should not have been difficult for the server. He could not answer anything about the dishes and I think I scared him off. He kind of hid from us. Food there was good but not great. The Japanese restaurant really annoyed me. We had reservations but were not seated at the grill. What is the point of going to a Tapanake style restaurant if not to see the “show” .
Evening shows were fun. The theater was very modern and big. They had a different show every night were there. Fun and professional. Reminded me of cruise shows.
Weather. We had temperatures in the 80’s. Clouds and sun and a lot of wind. The ocean was really stirred up but the water was warm.
We walked thru both the Suites and the Beach hotels. Lobbies are big and very different in each one. The pools at the Suites looked like fun and had a lazy river but very few people were in it. Probably because the water is so cold! If we came back to Iberostar, we might try the Suites. There were kids there but not nearly as many as at the Beach hotel. The Grand is adult only and a much older more subdued crowd.
Transportation to and from the airport was TERRIBLE both ways. We booked thru Expedia and this was their recommended transportation. Jamaica Tours I will let them know how disappointed we were with it. At arrival. We were placed on a very large bus that probably held 50 or more people. We sat there waiting for many flights to arrive and fill the bus. We sat there another hour after the bus was full for reasons unknown. The driver got on once and said he could not leave until his dispatcher gave him permission to do so. The people on the bus were getting very annoyed. Then people were getting off to get a beer or to have a cigarette so we had to be sure they were back on the bus. Wasted a good two hours of my precious vacation time. Once we left we had to drop off people at three other hotels before the Iberostar properties but that was not the issue. But in the transportation back to the airport. When stopping at each of the hotels, the driver and the hotel staff were always looking for missing people. We sat at one hotel for about 30 minutes. I was afraid of missing the plane and the driver just blamed everyone but himself. Seems no one knew who was supposed to be picked up. Buses were dirty and chairs were broken. Not happy with this service AT ALL. Should be named Jamaican-Me-Crazy.
Airport at Montego Bay. Very nice, Fast efficient. No problems. Lots of shops. Clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. It was inspiring to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel rooms, excellent service and variety of entertainment shows. We aim to ensure that each guest is treated to a luxurious and flawless vacation experience so your review was quite rewarding. As it concerns your comments about the service of Jamaica Tours Limited, feel free to share your comments directly with that company at info@jamaicatoursltd.com. We look forward to hosting you again soon and hope you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

loved this resort! fantastic staff! great food. pools and beach were fabulous too. there were a few things that bothered us: guests can smoke at the resort ( although not inside ) but for two non smokers this bothered us. also, from everything I had read prior to going I didn't realize that Jamaica is very windy from jan - mar , so be prepared for sand blasts on the beach. also guests tend to get up early to reserve their pool side or beach chairs really early in the morning . I haven't been to many all inclusives so perhaps this is common. but we were frustrated that most chairs were being saved with towels sometimes all day and no one ever used them! felt like the hotel should monitor that . and lastly Jamaica is EXPENSIVE! rum is cheaper at home ( although duty free at airport was super cheap ) and everyone expects a tip! we budgeted for $ 5/ day in tips which helped

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. Your review of our food, pools and beach was also encouraging to our team. We are currently trying to address the issue of saving chairs with towels, by removing them every one (1) hour. We look forward to hosting you again soon, and hope that you will think of your Jamaican “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 5 days at the resort - eight of us in four rooms. Beautiful, well maintained facility. Dining was on the whole very good. Better entertainment (particularly at the lobby bar) then usual. Very friendly, attentive staff. Overall, enjoyed our stay very much, and would likely return, but there are some criticisms which I hope will be addressed: 1) the pool and beach lounge chair "saving" is the most out of control and ruthless we have ever encountered. Guests "hiring" the early morning staff to set out towels. Guests moving other guests' belongings to gain "control" of seats. Guests putting towels out at midnite for the next morning. In that the resort was at 100% occupancy, this made for an endless series of angry encounters, etc. The management needs to take control of this sitiuation. 2) the Japanese restaurant is an impossible choice if you want to eat at a set time. We waited over 1 hour for a 7 PM reservation and the meal (hibachi style) was not complete until 10 PM. The food was fair and the "show" tired and lame. This place needs to be "retooled". 3) The hallways leading to the guest rooms in the resort are dark, gloomy, and a bit creepy. Some changes in lighting, decor need to be made. 4) Although the AC units seem to work reasonably well, they only do so if some one is in the room. What one then finds is that virtually everything is damp - the sheets, the towels, your clothes. Not particularly appealing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We would like to immediately apologize for the negative experiences whilst on your recent vacation at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. We will certainly be looking into each issue that you have mentioned with a view to making changes to our service. Please be assured however, that we do not save chairs for guests for payment. Also Guests save chairs continuously, as we do remove the items every hour even during the nights. We regret the inconvenience that was caused to you, but remind you that we cannot promise the chair of your choice at all times.

We look forward to serving you again and showing you our usual high levels of service.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We split our vacation in August of 2012 between couples Negril and the Iberostar. We spent the first part of our trip at the couples and enjoyed wonderful food, drink, and service. It was more rustic and friendly. We left for a new hotel in rose hall and it met our expectations in a different way. The rooms and balcony were large, the room butler attentive, the bathroom was modern and well equipped with tub, rain shower and two separate sinks. The beds were comfortable. The only problem with the room was a leak from above that dripped down the wall creating a pool of water. It was very quiet in August and we had the place lastly to ourselves. The food and drinks were good, but. Not quite as good as the couples resort, however the modern feel and beautiful pool area and interior of the hotel were very nice. The spa area was disappointing seeing it was shared With the other kids friendly parts of the hotel chain. There was no sauna, steam room, slippers, tea and other amenities you would find at a spa. It is very convenient to the airport for a quick get away if you want to visit Jamaica without traveling the two hours to Negril. This hotel could be found anywhere and did not offer a Jamaica feel. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are grateful for your feedback as it assists us in making improvements. We are sorry about the issue with your room. We would be grateful if you could email us at pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm as it would be helpful to identify which room you were in, so that we could correct the problem. It would appear that the problem with the ceiling/wall you mentioned is not a consistent occurrence as we have not heard another guest complaint of this nature. Hence your email would be very helpful in locating the room.

Despite that inconvenience we were grateful to hear that you were satisfied with our food, drink, service, and friendly atmosphere had met your discerning standards. We look forward to serving you again and trust that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were on the Allure of the Seas and stopped in Jamaica for the day. We picked Iberostar because of it's excellent reviews. I have to say I wasn't sure what to expect when we left the cruise terminal and on our way to the resort. However, upon arrival at the resort you will completely understand when you arrive why this is a great resort. The staff were friendly and went above and beyond to help or just simply to greet you when passing. The beach was alot of fun with plenty of chairs and beautiful clear water. The infinity pool was really nice with its swim up bar. Included in our day pass were plenty of restaurants. We enjoyed trying two of them and they were excellent. I would recommend this resort to cruise passengers or for regular vacationers. We definately look forward to returning to this lovely resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your warm review. We are pleased that you had the chance to visit with us while on a recent cruise. It is kind of you to have remembered us on your return home. We are thankful that you opted to share your feedback as reviews like yours remind us that we are on the right track. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us so we pay great emphasis on our customer service and amenities. Your positive comments certainly serve as reward to our staff who always make a special effort for each guest. We look forward to being able to serve you again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.