We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort but poor butler service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort but poor butler service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wonderful resort with good food, very friendly service, beautiful setting with plenty of beach chairs, good evening performances and fun beach parties. My husband and I have traveled to various Caribbean resorts and this one was one of our favorites. Overall outstanding with the exception of the butler service. Would NOT for this option at this resort. We met our butler at check-in and never again. We had to go to the front desk and ask why we had not seen our butler since check-in. Another butler came but he really could not tell us what they provided. We have stayed at 3 other resorts (Sandals) with butlers and they were fabulous. We would definitely stay at this resort again but would NOT go with the butler service. Our room was beautiful with a modern update and ocean front balcony but it was a bit noisy in the morning as housekeeping congregated outstide our room at 8:15 each morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for providing your feedback on the service you received on your recent vacation.

Firstly, we want to wholeheartedly apologize for the negative impression of our butler service. We remind guests that you can also communicate with the Front Desk or Public Relations Assistant/ Concierge who would be happy to radio the Butler for you. Unfortunately, quite often the Butlers are trying to find guests who spend very little time in their rooms – in such instances guests might leave a suggested meeting time in your message to the Butler. Please be assured that we will be looking into ways in which to improve our Butler service.

Secondly, we will be taking immediate steps to remind Butlers to make periodic checks on all guests.

We look forward to serving you again and hope that we can have the opportunity to show you our usual level of service.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,669
    687
    156
    53
    31
See reviews for
450
3,067
93
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I want to say that I booked my Honeymoon in 2009 didn't know what to expect and arrived at the hotel I was amazed! so much, I went back 2010 and 2012 all in the month of December. The hotel was clean , beautiful , the food is great! the service is impeccable, My suite was a suite it was spacious , clean , bright The workers in the hotel are pleasant, always a smile on there faces . if you are looking for great weather , great food and a beautiful beach look Know more!
I will return every year with my husband we made friends there with the staff and other guest. All three hotels are beautiful we were at the adults suits , but the other ones are just as nice , and the gym is the best gym I have ever been to on vacation I would know I own my own gym... so just booked it , you wont be sorry:)

Room Tip: ocean is the best but the pool view is just as beautiful I have had both :) Corner suite large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are honored to have been able to meet your discerning standards. Your kind acknowledgement of our hotel’s cleanliness, food quality, and high levels of service will also serve to encourage our staff. We hope that you intend on returning soon as it would be our pleasure to serve you again.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Gorgeous beach property close to airport
We prefer boutique hotels however we were pleasantly surprised with the superb food, service and ambience not to mention the fun nightly entertainment
Think Club Med for adults on powerful steroids...upscale with customer service being the driving force!
With the good comes a smidge of bad...the gym and spa is way too small to accommodate the facility and restaurant lighting far too bright. They need dimmers to create more intimate settings
If you want to experience Jamaica in a great all inclusive book your trip
Think Seabourn cruise lines but on "land"
The "Star Friends" which are the Iberostar's in house facilitators are fantastic!
Thank you Grand Rose Hall for a fun Holiday vacation

Room Tip: Oceanfront on a high floor Room 5434 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. It was very motivating to learn that we had exceeded your expectations as it relates to our food, service, ambience and staff. Please be assured that your critique will also be taken into account when next we are looking at lighting options.

We look forward to serving you again in the future and hope that you will not hesitate to book our property for your next vacation.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took wife and two kids to Jamacia.. Had a blast. We got a personal tour, which is well worth the additional $35 to do. Instead of a huge bus we were in a minivan and they took us to many stops along the way that the traditional tours do not do. They were great and kept the shopping hounds off our backs. Shopping with these guys was hassle free and enjouable. they took us to athe market, not the tourist market, but their market and we got coconuts and chopped them open and drank the clear milk. Also went to see their schools and learned how the kids "cock fight" at recess. It is with the pistils of flowers. The hotel at Iberostar was again EXCELLENT. The beach was very nice and snorkeling right out infront was great as there were soem rocks about chest deep in the water with all kinds of fish and star fish to look at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic family vacation. It is hoped that whenever next you are planning your family vacation, the Iberostar name will be foremost on your mind as your destination of choice. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are in our 50's and have travelled extensively to the Caribbean staying at resorts such as Sandals (Negril and Whitehouse multiple times), Couples Swept Away and Excellence and Iberostar properites in Mexico. We were excited to stay at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall over New Years due to it's high ratings and our love of Jamaica. The ratings on this board are accurate ... the resort is beautifully kept, the rooms decorated nicely and the customer service excellent. However, the hotel did not lend itself to the type of caribbean resort vacation we have been used to for a number of years.

First, our cons... With so much glass and concrete, it felt like we were in a nice hotel on Miami Beach rather than at a resort in Jamaica. In the evening there are a number of things to do inside the main building (disco, show, etc.), but, no bars are open outside after the pool bar closes. No entertainment is held outside with the exception of the weekly pirate beach party. So, it was not possible to sit outside before or after dinner with a drink and listen to music. The only bar open outside during the day is at the pool (or at the lunch restaurant). If you want a beach chair, be sure to get up by 7:30 am to get one or you are out of luck. Everyone seems to play the chair game by placing towels and books on the ones they want and then they go back to bed. What a pain. As far as the rooms go, they are nicely decorated, but, be sure to book the type that you want. We had read on this board that there wasn't a bad view in the place - they were wrong. We booked the least expensive room of 3 types and were shown 3 options - none of them good. Due to the time we were there, we were told all of the ocean views were sold out so there was nothing to move us to (even for a paid upgrade) during our stay. They post a daily list of who is checking in - it was hard to believe that everyone booked an ocean view or ocean front. There is a pool with a swim up bar, but, hardly anyone was in it. Nothing to float on is provided. For dinner, reservations are a must. We booked the first day we arrived and were only offered 6:30 pm or 9 pm. We were told the times in between were taken by those with longer stays. Towards the end, 8:30 pm at the Italian did open up.

Now for the positives... as stated earlier, the resort and the rooms are very nice. The bars in the rooms and throughout the resort are well stocked. The customer service from the butlers, housekeepers and restaurant staff was great. We did tip frequently, but, it was well deserved. We had the lamb chops and duck at dinner and thought they were both very good. The outside dining option for breakfast and lunch is the closest to the "typical" resort feel that we had while there. We were there over New Years Eve and the fireworks on the beach at midnight were amazing. We also celebrated our anniversary while there and upon arriving back from dinner we found a hot bath ran for us with rose petals and champagne. We took the complimentary shuttle bus to the Rose Hall Shopping area (an outdoor complex only 10 min. away) which was a nice break for a couple of hours one afternoon.

This is a very nice hotel however our preference is one with a more tropical atmosphere when traveling to the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view or ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your review. We were disappointed to hear that we had not met all your vacation needs, especially as you mentioned we lacked a Caribbean atmosphere. Despite that opinion, we were encouraged by the fact that you found our rooms, bars, staff and service in general to be satisfactory. We apologize for not being able to accommodate your request, particularly as we were fully backed whilst you were here for New Years’ Eve. It would be a pleasure to host you again so we hope that will not hesitate to return soon.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We got married November 27,2012. It was excellent from beginning to end.

Check in and check out team was excellent! Everyone I encountered was very professional and easy to talk to.

The food. I do not know how people can actually complain. The buffet was tasty and had traditional Jamaican food!!! Yummy!! there is variety and something for everyone.

Out of all the restaurants our favorite was the Italian restaurant !!!! The salmon was perfection. I thought the wines were very good.

The entertainment and the entertainment staff was one the best I have seen at an all inclusive resort. It was not cheesey by any means. Very talented staff cudos!!

Room service staff was always courteous and I was able to request favorite dishes for breakfast like Ackee and saltfish.

Also butlers and staff followed up and checked in with us.

Nice touches were that the staff remember who you are.

The Suite

We were upgraded to ocean front. Wow nice view. The room was clean spacious and the incense was nice. we also like receiving the local paper.


The Wedding November 27th

The Wedding Coordinators .... All I have to say is the hotel management should be very proud of Janielle and Syrecka. Correspondence was responded in a timely manner and we had many phone contacts before the wedding. When we met with Janielle, she was so very organized all we had to was review. Janielle and Syrecka went above and beyond and Janielle executed our vision for the perfect day and we did not have to worry about anything. Our 46 guests had a great time and the bride and groom were very happy!!! The D.J I can't believe his name escapes me just now but he was great!! He got the crowd going and had something for everyone!! The steel band thank you for making the day so magical and beautiful.
We ordered rum and blue mountain coffee for our guests as a last minute thing through the rum store. The young lady in the store who help us with the gift choices thank you so much !

The Salon staff was excellent and my hair was beautiful and my bridesmaid loved her makeup. I highly recommend to use the hotel resources you will not be disappointed.

The hotel photographer Atto, did an excellent job, he was patient and captured the day and most of all the pictures were so good it was so hard to chose we ended buying more photos than our package.

The main thing for us was that they enjoyed their trip because they came a long way! They did!!! Only thing that happened that was not good was my dad's blackberry and his iPod speakers were missing from his bag ( which he did not lock) we believe 3days before they left. We believe it could have been taken when they changed rooms for checkout. We know that these things can happen but what is important for us is how the resort responds and we need to know that at the very least that it would be looked into and what one person did does not reflect the rest of the staff or the resort. I believe Angellie has responded and the hotel are looking into the matter. We do not know if anything will come of it but we appreciated that there was response. I wish it didn't happened because they had a great time otherwise. I would like them to come back again.

Regardless, we would definitely come back to the Grand and are planning for 2013 for our 1st year anniversary.

Thank you for a great time !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We are honored that you chose our resort as the hosts of your recent nuptials. It was our pleasure to hear that the quality of our food, restaurants, entertainment, and personalized service had met your high expectations.

Our Management team are well aware that our Wedding and Spa Team make an exceptional contribution to our brides’ overall satisfaction. So it is indeed delightful to hear that our guests are also appreciative of those dedicated team members.

We are sorry to hear about the loss of your father’s personal items and invite you to email pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm to follow-up on the status of that matter.

Please come again soon as we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A awesome place for a vacation. Brilliant service, luxurious acco with your own personal butler. Food was great, and with an all-inclusive program, there was always someone attentive to get your favorite drink to you. Only hitch is the constant tipping, but you get over it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean View junior Suite - which was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. Your comments regarding our service, food and staff will also serve to inspire our team, who work assiduously to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that you will be returning in the near future.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
3.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
12.6 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Secrets St James
Secrets St James
#9 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 4,518 reviews
40.0 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.