We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Fun Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Gorgeous beach property close to airport
We prefer boutique hotels however we were pleasantly surprised with the superb food, service and ambience not to mention the fun nightly entertainment
Think Club Med for adults on powerful steroids...upscale with customer service being the driving force!
With the good comes a smidge of bad...the gym and spa is way too small to accommodate the facility and restaurant lighting far too bright. They need dimmers to create more intimate settings
If you want to experience Jamaica in a great all inclusive book your trip
Think Seabourn cruise lines but on "land"
The "Star Friends" which are the Iberostar's in house facilitators are fantastic!
Thank you Grand Rose Hall for a fun Holiday vacation

Room Tip: Oceanfront on a high floor Room 5434 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. It was very motivating to learn that we had exceeded your expectations as it relates to our food, service, ambience and staff. Please be assured that your critique will also be taken into account when next we are looking at lighting options.

We look forward to serving you again in the future and hope that you will not hesitate to book our property for your next vacation.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,493
    650
    149
    49
    31
See reviews for
413
2,943
88
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took wife and two kids to Jamacia.. Had a blast. We got a personal tour, which is well worth the additional $35 to do. Instead of a huge bus we were in a minivan and they took us to many stops along the way that the traditional tours do not do. They were great and kept the shopping hounds off our backs. Shopping with these guys was hassle free and enjouable. they took us to athe market, not the tourist market, but their market and we got coconuts and chopped them open and drank the clear milk. Also went to see their schools and learned how the kids "cock fight" at recess. It is with the pistils of flowers. The hotel at Iberostar was again EXCELLENT. The beach was very nice and snorkeling right out infront was great as there were soem rocks about chest deep in the water with all kinds of fish and star fish to look at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic family vacation. It is hoped that whenever next you are planning your family vacation, the Iberostar name will be foremost on your mind as your destination of choice. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are in our 50's and have travelled extensively to the Caribbean staying at resorts such as Sandals (Negril and Whitehouse multiple times), Couples Swept Away and Excellence and Iberostar properites in Mexico. We were excited to stay at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall over New Years due to it's high ratings and our love of Jamaica. The ratings on this board are accurate ... the resort is beautifully kept, the rooms decorated nicely and the customer service excellent. However, the hotel did not lend itself to the type of caribbean resort vacation we have been used to for a number of years.

First, our cons... With so much glass and concrete, it felt like we were in a nice hotel on Miami Beach rather than at a resort in Jamaica. In the evening there are a number of things to do inside the main building (disco, show, etc.), but, no bars are open outside after the pool bar closes. No entertainment is held outside with the exception of the weekly pirate beach party. So, it was not possible to sit outside before or after dinner with a drink and listen to music. The only bar open outside during the day is at the pool (or at the lunch restaurant). If you want a beach chair, be sure to get up by 7:30 am to get one or you are out of luck. Everyone seems to play the chair game by placing towels and books on the ones they want and then they go back to bed. What a pain. As far as the rooms go, they are nicely decorated, but, be sure to book the type that you want. We had read on this board that there wasn't a bad view in the place - they were wrong. We booked the least expensive room of 3 types and were shown 3 options - none of them good. Due to the time we were there, we were told all of the ocean views were sold out so there was nothing to move us to (even for a paid upgrade) during our stay. They post a daily list of who is checking in - it was hard to believe that everyone booked an ocean view or ocean front. There is a pool with a swim up bar, but, hardly anyone was in it. Nothing to float on is provided. For dinner, reservations are a must. We booked the first day we arrived and were only offered 6:30 pm or 9 pm. We were told the times in between were taken by those with longer stays. Towards the end, 8:30 pm at the Italian did open up.

Now for the positives... as stated earlier, the resort and the rooms are very nice. The bars in the rooms and throughout the resort are well stocked. The customer service from the butlers, housekeepers and restaurant staff was great. We did tip frequently, but, it was well deserved. We had the lamb chops and duck at dinner and thought they were both very good. The outside dining option for breakfast and lunch is the closest to the "typical" resort feel that we had while there. We were there over New Years Eve and the fireworks on the beach at midnight were amazing. We also celebrated our anniversary while there and upon arriving back from dinner we found a hot bath ran for us with rose petals and champagne. We took the complimentary shuttle bus to the Rose Hall Shopping area (an outdoor complex only 10 min. away) which was a nice break for a couple of hours one afternoon.

This is a very nice hotel however our preference is one with a more tropical atmosphere when traveling to the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view or ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your review. We were disappointed to hear that we had not met all your vacation needs, especially as you mentioned we lacked a Caribbean atmosphere. Despite that opinion, we were encouraged by the fact that you found our rooms, bars, staff and service in general to be satisfactory. We apologize for not being able to accommodate your request, particularly as we were fully backed whilst you were here for New Years’ Eve. It would be a pleasure to host you again so we hope that will not hesitate to return soon.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We got married November 27,2012. It was excellent from beginning to end.

Check in and check out team was excellent! Everyone I encountered was very professional and easy to talk to.

The food. I do not know how people can actually complain. The buffet was tasty and had traditional Jamaican food!!! Yummy!! there is variety and something for everyone.

Out of all the restaurants our favorite was the Italian restaurant !!!! The salmon was perfection. I thought the wines were very good.

The entertainment and the entertainment staff was one the best I have seen at an all inclusive resort. It was not cheesey by any means. Very talented staff cudos!!

Room service staff was always courteous and I was able to request favorite dishes for breakfast like Ackee and saltfish.

Also butlers and staff followed up and checked in with us.

Nice touches were that the staff remember who you are.

The Suite

We were upgraded to ocean front. Wow nice view. The room was clean spacious and the incense was nice. we also like receiving the local paper.


The Wedding November 27th

The Wedding Coordinators .... All I have to say is the hotel management should be very proud of Janielle and Syrecka. Correspondence was responded in a timely manner and we had many phone contacts before the wedding. When we met with Janielle, she was so very organized all we had to was review. Janielle and Syrecka went above and beyond and Janielle executed our vision for the perfect day and we did not have to worry about anything. Our 46 guests had a great time and the bride and groom were very happy!!! The D.J I can't believe his name escapes me just now but he was great!! He got the crowd going and had something for everyone!! The steel band thank you for making the day so magical and beautiful.
We ordered rum and blue mountain coffee for our guests as a last minute thing through the rum store. The young lady in the store who help us with the gift choices thank you so much !

The Salon staff was excellent and my hair was beautiful and my bridesmaid loved her makeup. I highly recommend to use the hotel resources you will not be disappointed.

The hotel photographer Atto, did an excellent job, he was patient and captured the day and most of all the pictures were so good it was so hard to chose we ended buying more photos than our package.

The main thing for us was that they enjoyed their trip because they came a long way! They did!!! Only thing that happened that was not good was my dad's blackberry and his iPod speakers were missing from his bag ( which he did not lock) we believe 3days before they left. We believe it could have been taken when they changed rooms for checkout. We know that these things can happen but what is important for us is how the resort responds and we need to know that at the very least that it would be looked into and what one person did does not reflect the rest of the staff or the resort. I believe Angellie has responded and the hotel are looking into the matter. We do not know if anything will come of it but we appreciated that there was response. I wish it didn't happened because they had a great time otherwise. I would like them to come back again.

Regardless, we would definitely come back to the Grand and are planning for 2013 for our 1st year anniversary.

Thank you for a great time !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We are honored that you chose our resort as the hosts of your recent nuptials. It was our pleasure to hear that the quality of our food, restaurants, entertainment, and personalized service had met your high expectations.

Our Management team are well aware that our Wedding and Spa Team make an exceptional contribution to our brides’ overall satisfaction. So it is indeed delightful to hear that our guests are also appreciative of those dedicated team members.

We are sorry to hear about the loss of your father’s personal items and invite you to email pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm to follow-up on the status of that matter.

Please come again soon as we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A awesome place for a vacation. Brilliant service, luxurious acco with your own personal butler. Food was great, and with an all-inclusive program, there was always someone attentive to get your favorite drink to you. Only hitch is the constant tipping, but you get over it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean View junior Suite - which was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. Your comments regarding our service, food and staff will also serve to inspire our team, who work assiduously to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that you will be returning in the near future.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th return vist.... being met by Natalie and Alba at the front desk and other rememberd faces. Check in so easy and swiftly shown to our beach view rooms. As always delightful, very clean. The bed soo comfy and a menu to decide which pillows one would like. The ones in the room were perfect
The service is always tip top and the Jamaicans very friendly. Pleased to see familiar faces being the Food and Beverage Managers Carlos & Santos with the Iberostars wonderful chef. The food could not be faulted. We preferred the Surf n Turf as well as the Japannese and I especially enjoyed the Buffet which was continually monitored and refreshed with a splendid selection of International cuisine. Never in the 2 weeks we were there did I ever see tired food!!! Nothing was too much trouble and any whim catered for. The whole experience has kept us returning. Excellent value for money. Superb food. Friendly staff. Very clean. Any problems with the rooms were dealt within moments..... even though the 2nd week was Christmas week and extremely busy. The beach did get busy. The only beaches I have not found busy at these peak times have been in Mauritius and the Seychelles ... back to the little gem in Montego Bay. The staff kept the beach clean, fresh towels available all day and the drink service constant and friendly. Entertainment was all there for the active but the entertainment crew were also aware of those who did not care for anything other than relaxation
Nothing is too much trouble.... and is done with such grace..one can't remember if you did ask for something or not!!!!
To have to pick at anything bad would be differ cult but these are a couple of points
NO wifi...... apart from the lobby....with only a few private chairs and tables for one who wants to Skype or Face time. This is cheered with two delightful waitresses Yolanda and Racheal serving drinks and small bowels of warm popcorn.. mmmm!!!
Some of the restaurants have a corporate feel about them. So they lack personality or warmth... which could maybe be improved with inspirational lighting or dropped ceilings
Some parts of the hotel just starting to show a little age. Our desk had a chip in it which may have been there last year. However. There were teams of people constantly redecorating rooms. Corridors,carpets,gardens,decorations were constantly being cleaned changed or manicured
The gym was dull and did not motivate me to go back..... Think the food was calling me louder!!!
Tipping. No idea. It certainly was not expected by most of the staff. The Americans do.... This year as I spent the first week on my own awaiting the family... Well I did too. Not constantly to the point I had to remember money every day but to the people who helped me on a daily basis...yes I did. As I say it was not expected but they were very grateful
Bedrooms in my opinion with the best view would be the ocean ones. The sound of the ocean.... the most relaxing and comfortable beds ever
The pool and beach supplies are also loaded with complimentary sun creams, books, games and lilo's to use
Enjoy. Eat and relax. There's no 'worries' at the Grand Rose Hall

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manger - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are grateful that you chose the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall as your hosts for your recent vacation to the Caribbean. Your compliments regarding our staff, entertainment, cleanliness, rooms and amenities were also noted. Your review will serve as a source of motivation for our staff who work tirelessly to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again in the near future and trust that you will not hesitate to return soon.

Quality Manger - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'll start by saying that last year I went to an all-inclusive resort in the Dom. Republic, and was hesitant to ever try it again because of poor service and bad food. My girlfriend and I decided to try the Iberostar, and thank God we did! The staff was extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. Like other reviewers have stated, you are welcomed with a cold towel and a mimosa while you check in at the front desk. Then a porter escorts you to your room, and gives you the highlights of this beautiful resort. The rooms are very spacious and well decorated. We stayed in an oceanfront suite, and the view was absolutely breathtaking. Imagine waking up in the morning, and having room service bring you an omelet and mimosa while gazing into the clear blue ocean, and that's what we experienced.

The restauants were delicious, particularly the Japanese steakhouse, and Surf & Turf. They also have a lunch/breakfast buffet at the restaurant on the beach so you don't have to walk back to the hotel to have a delicious quality lunch, and you can still enjoy the scenary. Another thing that separated the Iberostar from my previous stay was that waitresses are constantly checking in on you on the beach to see if they can get you a drink. The pool area is also gorgeous, and there are lots of covered areas for all of those looking to relax.

I really can't say enough good things about the staff. Everyone has a smile on their face, and every question is answered with "no worries" or "no problem." It makes you wonder what it would be like if we all treated each other with kindness and a smile. If you're looking for a relaxing, beautiful place to get away in the Carribean, I highly recommend the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manger - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall for your recent vacation. We feel a tremendous sense of responsibility in ensuring that all our guests are satisfied. It is for this reason why we are so elated that you opted to spend your vacation with us. It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our rooms, restaurants, staff and warm service. We invite you to come again soon as it would be an honor to welcome you back.

Quality Manger - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.