We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magnificent Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently spent a week at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall in Jamaica.
It was nothing less than spectacular! Spacious room with an excellent ocean view.
Bathroom was huge, including a whirlpool tub, rain shower head, two his/her vanities.
Bedroom contained a huge king size bed with 2 night stands , foot bench, and bureau.
Storage closets and plenty of drawers for clothing.
The added living area contained a writing desk and couch.
Step onto an oversize balcony with a swing and another couch w cocktail table.
At this all inclusive resort our butlers were outstanding. Many thanks to Marlon, Omead,
Wheeler and Dwayne also thanks to Jo-Dane for her help w dinner reservations prior to
our arrival. The buffet is very good and the specialty restaurants are superb. Many thanks to
Morris the bartender for preparing the best martini in the resort.
We had a magnificent vacation, which was a special anniversary trip.
This was our 6th trip to Jamaica but our first to the Iberostar Grand Hotel.
We are already making plans for our return next year.
Thanks for a memorable week.

AT/MT

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking the pool with a westward beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are grateful for your mention of specific staff members who made your stay an enjoyable one. Our rooms and services have been designed with your comfort in mind, so it is encouraging to hear that our property exceeded your expectations. It was an honor to have been able to host you on your 6th visit to the island, but it would be our greatest pleasure to have the chance of hosting you on your 7th visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will think of us as your new-found Jamaican “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,221
    583
    135
    46
    28
See reviews for
375
2,708
82
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visited Oct 16-23. We've been to many AI's all over the Caribbean, and this was the nicest one so far! Food and drinks were very good. 24 hour room service, what more could you want? The grounds were spectacular, very clean, and all the workers were really friendly. The beach was perfect, sure there are pebbles that wash up, but a giant step takes care of all that, if one is worried about such things. The water this time of year is absolutely the right temperature, no shock at all getting in. Beach service was pretty good, sometime taking longer than others. Again, if thats a problem, its only about 100 ft to the bar. Everyone there seemed geniunely interested that we were having a good time. Asked directions a couple times, the staff would actually walk you to place, making sure you found it, rather than just telling you where it was. Nice touch! We were upgraded when we got there, given an oceanview room right next to the ocean. Room 6318, location was perfect. They met us with a cool towel, and a cold drink, again, much appreciated.

This was our 5th trip to Jamaica, if we return, would definitely look at the IGRH again, we felt the extra cost, was well worth all the pampering!!! Played golf at Cinnamon Hill, the "freebie" from the resort, and that place was beautiful. Highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: Had "tip" money ready to secure a nice room, but didnt need it. Went back later, and gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We are honored to have been able to garner your high recommendation of our property. Here at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Grand we take pride in providing a quality vacation experience for our guests, so your comments are inspiring to our team. We invite you to come again soon as we hope to surpass your expectations even further on your next visit.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second stay at Iberostar Grand and it was great. They have improved their buffet selections and menus at the Theme Restaurants since we visited 2 years ago. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. The bartenders are awesome and the alcohol selection is great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your motivational review. Our management and staff are greatly appreciative of your recommendation of our property, staff, service, rooms and wide array of beverages on hand. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ok, the hotel is expensive, but you won't be disappointed with the quality of the facilities and services. The place is beautiful, located in a calm nice exclusive beach in Montego Bay. The hall and corridors smell good, serious! The bedroom is huge, very comfort, nicely decorated, with a good bathtub. The shower is large, but tha water that falls is scarse.
The service around the pool and on the beach is not the best, but enough. And if you want to get the best places, you should get up early, because the guests put their towels and personal belongings on the fancy sunbeds and leave to eat breakfast, do activities etc.
The best is the food: plantiful and delicious. Lobsters, shrimps, scallops, crabs... Great! Desert is also tasteful. Drinks are various and very good too.
Finally, staff is really friendly and the Star Friends don't bother you if you are not in the mood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous recommendation of our property and services. We are truly motivated by the fact that we were able to meet all your vacation needs. You also highlighted the emphasis that we place on the quality of our rooms, cuisine and beverages. Though our management is aware of the hard work of our staff, it is always even more rewarding to receive positive comments such as yours about our staff. We look forward to being able to serve you again, so we hope that you will not hesitate to return soon.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at The Grand from Nov 3-10. Upon arrival we opted to pay for a taxi to take us to the resort rather then wait for the bus that was arranged through our travel agent. Took approximately 15 min and was a cost of $40US...well worth it to avoid potential delays by stopping to drop off people at other resorts.

Upon arrival to the resort we experienced a bit of a bump with check-in...no fault of the resort but the staff were very patient and helpful in dealing with our travel agent to figure things out.

Room: We stayed in an ocean front jr. suite. The room was very nice and spacious. I believe that all the rooms on the resort for the most part had a great view so not sure that paying for the upgrade was necessary. Alot of people we met that week requested the upgrade upon arrival and got it for free if there were still ocean front suites available. The room was kept very clean. There was a safe in the room as well as free internet in the room also. (Receive your code and password from front desk for the week) The internet was very slow to say the least but if you were patient you could eventually get done what you needed. It was difficult to skype because of the slow connection. The wireless in the lobby wasnt any quicker either. Room service is offered 24hrs and was good if you werent up for going out. There is also a selection of movies offered by the resort that you can use at anytime with the in room DVD player if you wanted a quiet night in. The butler service was a nice added bonus. Donovan and Melly J were the two we seen the most and they both were AWESOME! They were there for any and all requests you had including looking after making your a la carte reservations. The mini bar was stocked daily in the room and you could request to have more of your favorite items. The butler actually would bring quarts of any of the local booze we wanted in our room...so much liquor available all the time!

Food/A la carte: This was our 5th all inclusive and definitely the best for food. The Japanese a la carte was the best that we ate at while there. The buffet was also really good but the evening buffet wasnt open every night. The nights they were open were themed nights...Mexican night and the beach party night were the best. The beach buffet was open every day and was delicious. The jerk chicken is awesome if you love spice! Reservations to the a la cartes were tough to make even one day in advance even though they never appeared to be full when you would walk by. Its best to make your reservations the first day so you have them, and then cancel if you change your mind so you at least have the option to go.

Entertainment: The animation team were lots of fun but not too pushy to get involved in different activities during the day. Each evening in the theatre there was a show but it didnt begin until 10pm. They lasted an hour typically. We only seen part of one show and it was ok. The beach party on Wednesday night was really good! We never made it to the disco but heard lots of people say that it was fun. The resort also has a casino...which is more a small room with about 20 slot machines and that is it. There is a billiards room available also just down from the lobby that has 2 pool tables, chess etc and about 4 computers available to use for internet.

Shopping: The resort had a view shoppes to get souvenirs and rum etc in. It made for an easy way to pass some time when there was rain. Many of the items that the resort sold however were available at the airport in Montego Bay and were much cheaper there. We had over an hour to shop at the airport once we checked in and that is where we did the bulk of our shopping. The resort also offers a shuttle to "The Shoppes of Rose Hall" which is a large shopping center about 5-10 min down the road. It goes every hour and returns every half hour so you can spend as much or as little time there as youd like.

Spa: Lots of services available at the spa - the prices are about the same as you would expect to pay at home. The staff were all polite and professional. The massages were awesome and the ladies and mens individual areas in the spa were nice. They had 2 jacuzzi's, 2 roman baths, a cold tub, a sauna, a decongestant sauna room, rustic showers and swedish showers. Also a good place to spend an afternoon in the event of rain. There is one large hot tub that is shared and is nice, but the room it is in needs some TLC. All services at the spa are charged to the room and paid at checkout. Side note: the beach massages are done in cabanas in front of the All suites or Beaches resort. Still relaxing, but very noisy with lots of families and children running around.

Pool/Beach: There are 4 pools total...the quiet pool, activity pool, cool tub, and pool bar. We spent all of our time in the pool bar. The staff there were all awesome. Jerry was our main man while we were there...makes some great drinks! There were also waitresses walking around the pools and beach taking drink orders too so you never had to move if you didnt want to! Beach beds and chairs were easy to get unless you came out late in the morning. The ones closest to the pools always filled up first. There is towel service next to the pool and they also have sunscreen, magazines, books, and pool floaties available to use. There are also some ping pong tables, a foosball table and a few board games available to use. The beach and pool area are very clean and well maintained. Down the beach between the Grand and All suites resort is where they offer different water sports. (Sea kayaks, catamarans, wind surfing etc.) Most services are free...if you want to go on the catamarans with a guide they charge 10.00.

Overall experience: I would recommend this resort to anyone! Whether you are looking to party or enjoy a nice week of some R&R there is something for everyone. The staff were all extraordinary and made you feel at home. Lots of little perks to make it stand out over some other similar resorts we've stayed at before. The fact that it is so close to the airport is a huge bonus too in my opinion...after flying 6 hrs to get there I certainly didnt want to spend another hour or more on a bus to the resort. Hopefully you all enjoy your week there as much as I did!

Room Tip: Ocean front junior suite was great, however most rooms have a spectacular view anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. It was a pleasure to have been able to meet your discerning tastes with our relaxing ambiance, quality of our food, entertainment options, spa, rooms and beach buffet. We are encouraged by positive reviews such as yours as it reminds us how important it is to offer consistently good service. You also highlighted the excellent work of our staff and we have no hesitation in agreeing with you that it is their tireless efforts that keep our guests returning, time after time.

We look forward to your return and trust that we will be foremost on your mind when planning your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

WOW - we had an AMAZING first time experience in Jamaica at the Iberostar GRAND Rose Hall! The actual property exceeded the photos! The food was fantastic - fresh, local, traditional. ALL the staff were so friendly and engaging. We'd like to give a SPECIAL shout-out to our servers at the Pool Bar: KINISIA & NADYA! Hope to return again SOON!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite that overlooked pool & beach - open window all the time brought fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to have been able to host you on your first visit to Jamaica. It was a pleasure for us to have been able to show you the warmth and friendliness of the island through our service. Our hotel takes pride in offering our guests personalized service, so it was most rewarding to hear that our efforts did not go unnoticed. We invite you to come again soon as it would be an honor to be able to welcome you back.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I find it hard for anyone to say anything bad about this resort. It was fantastic. As with any resort, some staff has 'off days', some food is too salty, and we didn't get our slippers until the third day; if these are my only worries or concerns about the hotel, then we're doing quite well!

The resort is amazing, the grounds are wonderful and immaculate, and the people are extremely hard working and want to ensure you have a fantastic trip. They succeeded at that 100%. Whatever you pay for this hotel is well worth it. We spoke with many people who have traveled all over and all stated that this was among the best resorts they've ever been to, and we agree.

The lobby is beautiful with free wifi, and there is always someone to get you a drink from the lobby bar. As suggested by other vacationers, I emailed the resort ahead of time to book a restaurant for the night of arrival as well as to request a room upgrade, and they followed through on both. Wonderful ocean view (5416) couldn't ask for anything better for free!

We were exhausted and hungry by the time we got to the hotel (which is only 20 mins from the airport, we took the included shuttle in our package) so we did not wait to meet with our butler as many recommended and instead checked in, got our room, and then went to eat. By the time we unwinded and came back to the room it was time for dinner and after that we went straight to bed. So we did not meet with our butler until a few days after. Because we did not, we did not have a restaurant reservation for one night, the other nights I booked for the rest of our trip, however because we were late in doing so, we had some late dinner times like 8:30 or 9. No big deal, we just had late snacks or two meals!

Ensure you book your restaurants so you don't have to eat at one of the ones at the other resorts. We ended up at Aunt Ruby's SteakHouse and it was unpleasant. Service was great but quality was poor. Although anything in relation to the calibre at Rose Hall is likely to be unpleasant. But there were kids and teens you were eating alongside, so stick with the adult all inclusive.

Everyone has butlers assigned to them, morning and night. Marlon was our AM, Duane was our PM. We mostly dealt with Marlon and he was fantastic. Always such a genuine concern that we were having a great time, all our needs are met, and constantly asked if there was anything he could do for us. He truly exuded warmth and caring. Duane was really nice as well but we only ran into him a few times since we were always at the beach.

Drinks are top notch, loved all the restaurants (Italian the least). Make sure you're up early if you want a choice pool chair or palapa. Ocean front palapas were often reserved by 7:00 a.m.

We went shopping at the Rose Hall Shoppes one AM via a free shuttle at the hotel. You stand to make some good deals and can bargain. If you're planning on buying jewelry or watches prepare to spend some cash: they have high end watches like Tissot and Tag and Rolex. Sunglass shop will not bargain.

I absolutely loved this hotel and if it wasn't for wanting to travel the world to new places I'd return here in a second. Someone actually had the gall to write that they thought the hotel had professional writers writing good reviews for them: shame on you. I book all of my hotels and resorts and trips based on what Tripadvisor reviews say and rate and it has ALWAYS been accurate. This is no exception.

Wonderful resort, wonderful people, and holiday that I will forever remember and look forward to one day returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are grateful for your informative review, which will go a far way in assisting us to evaluate our services.

It was encouraging to hear that you enjoyed our resort, rooms, butler service and beverages. Though we are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying at the Iberostar Grand, we were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner at Aunt Ruby’s at the Iberostar Suites. It is unfortunate that you had not offered your comments to Waiter who would have made steps to have your meal done to your specific requirement.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and trust that the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall name will be foremost on your mind when planning your next vacation.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.