We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fingle Glen Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Five Mile Hill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Devon UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very good food, clean rooms and friendly staff. We went on a Friday night and though the restaurant was busy the service was still very good, the food beautifully presented and steaks cooked just the way we asked them too be. The following morning the same friendly staff looked after us and were most helpful regarding local places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
36
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend - South wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stay in one of the eight rooms the hotel section above the public areas of the golf club. Our room overlooked the first fairway it was tired and needed redecorating and 3 of the rooms light bulbs needed replacing.We had to request for the heating to be turned on as it was a chilly evening The room had not been thoroughly cleaned especially in the corners.
The food was below average and not very hot, the waitress/barmaid did her best to make our evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had booked last minute at the wooden lodges during the last bank holiday- it was so busy we could find only 2 days booking.

The lodge was excellent, every aspect went beyond are expectations - spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen, clean and stylish bathroom, comfy beds, no ac or heater were required.

location was set in nice golf course

only thing they should allow non-golfers to take a stroller or build a pathway for access

Services - didnt need them at all
Restaurant served good breakfast and dinner- they accommodated us being vegetarians and also assisted with heating baby food

Overall ..great location, space and service..will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book he wooden lodges which look out at the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Recently made our third overnight stay and it has never disappointed. The room is comfortable, well sized and clean and the food is very good. There are a few improvements "around the edges" which could be initiated e.g. cracked wash basin, loose toilet roll holder but these are relatively minor and do not detract from an excellent rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Conveniently located off the A30 in a pleasant setting, this hotel is primarily a golf club with 9 guest rooms and restaurant available for non-members. There is generous car parking.
The building, including the attached driving range, is not particularly aesthetic but it is bright and airy. In the grounds there are several separate chalets providing additional accommodation. The grounds constitute the golf course, access to which is restricted to members.

Our room was well lit, and clean; equipped with a well stocked fridge and a very small TV high up on the wall opposite the bed. The door key had a simple cut, suggesting a basic lever lock was used, although I was assured the locks were secure. The en-suite had a tiny wash hand basin in a corner, a rickety towel rail above the radiator, toilet with ill-fitting seat, and Formica paneled shower cubicle. It could all do with a bit of a make-over.

The bed was quite firm but comfortable; the pillows less so.

The staff were pleasant, friendly and extremely helpful when asked, but would benefit from some professional coaching and training, which would transform the hotel from good to excellent.

Later in the evening several calls to reception got no response, which suggests there could be a problem with under-manning..

The restaurant food is average and the service could be a bit more professional.

Some suggestions that might help:

1. On checking-in, ask guests if they would like a newspaper in the morning, an early morning call, help with their bags, Wi-Fi access, etc. The same when checking-out; help with bags, ask how the guests enjoyed their stay, etc. — to create an atmosphere of hospitality and good service. At check-in we didn't receive any of these pleasantries, although the receptionist was perfectly friendly. Perhaps there was no one available to assist anyway, which in itself needs addressing.

2. In the restaurant give a menu to each guest at the table: two people having to share a menu is unnecessary, inconvenient, and wastes time when ordering.

3. Breakfast might be a lot easier if the cereals, juices, milk, fruits, pastries, etc. were laid out buffet-style, rather than brought on request. This makes ordering easier and cuts down on the waiting and serving time.

The hotel is best avoided at the weekend if there's a club function. The facilities and staff are likely to be stretched and the hotel will be very noisy.

.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tawton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the weekend. Most of our guest stayed for the weekend. We stayed in hotel rooms and lodges which were all excellent. The food was outstanding all weekend. The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Why we were planing our wedding we dealt with Andy and he was more than helpful with all our requirements. We will definitely go back again. Fantastic job and thank you all for making my amazing weekend unforgettable!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at Fingle Glen for a 3 night golf break, booked into one of the Hotel rooms which was clean and spacious, it was a return trip and it was lovely to be greeted by the same staff that we met on our first visit 3 years ago. This to us is important as continuity in staff generally shows a good working environment and friendly team and we weren't disappointed. The club house and hotel rooms have all been refurbished since we last stayed to a very good standard.
We had a DBB package with all golf included, breakfast was the best we have ever had in any hotel, all freshly cooked to order and plenty of it. The evening meal was three courses all freshly made to order and beautifully presented also every one of their desserts is homemade which considering they were extremely busy with a wedding for 100+ people impressed us greatly.
The golf course is undulating and interesting, some hilly parts but buggies are available at a reasonable price for those who don't fancy the walk. Overall we cannot speak highly enough of the situation, the extremely helpful and friendly staff and the delicious food. We left feeling part of a very happy family and have already booked to return again in April next year but this time we are bringing friends and staying in one of the lovely lodges that line either side of the first fairway. Many thanks Andy and staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fingle Glen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Address: Five Mile Hill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Fingle Glen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fingle Glen Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.