We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fingle Glen Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Five Mile Hill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we have just returned from a 7 night holiday in the lodges which we booked through hoseasons, we had 2 VIP lodges which included a hot tub (highly recommended), i must admit they saw a lot of use, especially after a long day out it was nice to get back & relax with a glass of wine in all the bubbles.
our party was made up of 6 adults of whom 1 was disabled and 2 young children aged 9 & 5.
the facilities are a little limited if golf is not your thing but the kids had fun nevertheless using both the putting green & driving range. the bar & restaurant are small but the food is excellent and reasonably priced, the staff are very friendly & helpful even if some of the clientele are not, by that i mean golf buggies were left in roads restricting access to the lodges and damage to vehicles by stray golf balls not being reported?
the roads/paths are dark at night but a torch is provided, they are also gravel based which proved a little difficult for the less able member of the party to move between the lodges and the clubhouse/restaurant easily
we would have probably given this a 5 if it wasn't for the fact that the lodges seem to have an ongoing water leak from the en suite bathrooms but rather than make us aware of the problem on arrival we had to discover for ourselves that the damage had been covered over by rugs..... not very VIP! but to be fair repair work was carried out during our penultimate day at the lodges after a complaint was raised
overall this is a lovely location for a relaxing holiday ideally situated to explore the many attractions Devon has to offer and of course a round of golf if you fancy it .

Room Tip: hot tubs are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
29
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently held my Daughter’s wedding reception at Fingle Glen most of my side of the family live in other parts of the country and had to book accommodation as did we despite only living in Exeter, some had rooms in the hotel some had lodges. It was a fantastic day the staff where friendly helpful and understanding particularly when it came to things like adding extra guests changing arrangements etc. Although we provided all the table decorations they did all the work themselves and the place looked great. We ordered a three course dinner for the wedding breakfast and a buffet for the evening disco, both were excellent served hot and in a timely fashion, I spoke to many of the guests who had nothing but compliments about the food and service. The house DJ was brilliant and very quickly got the measure of the type of music we wanted to hear, it is also handy that the room is split in two so the older ones could sit and chat, with the music being muffled by the partition. As for the accommodation it was clean and functional we went down to one of the Lodges in the afternoon and they are excellent. For the money, which was very reasonable I do not think we could have got better I would recommend this venue for any function and as I have one daughter left to marry off I wouldn’t hesitate to book here for the next one (if that’s what she wants of course)

Room Tip: The lodges are excellent and good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staying in Dawlish and fancied a game of golf. Really enjoyed this course, relatively short but really testing. Plenty of blind shots so buy a course planner. Great day and the warm sunshine helped. Would recommend for a day out

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for three nights on a special deal in April which made it good value. All staff were very friendly and our room was clean and tidy. The rooms in the main building are small, but if you are out and about or playing a lot of golf that is not a problem. The cabins look nice but we did not explore them. No shaver point in our bathroom and the hair drier expired on the final morning! Our room was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. Food good - breakfasts very good.

Room Tip: My review is based on the value of a "three nights for two" deal. If you don't like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Some friends and I stayed in one of the lodges which were very impressive and well equipped. Just be wary of bad golfers as some of the lodges are right next to greens/fairways. I stayed here with two friends and we had an all inclusive deal for a lodge, evening meal, breakfast and unlimited golf for £65 a head. At this price it's hard to criticise anything, apart from the greens which were pretty sub-standard, but in general it's a nice, picturesque setting. The food was very good as well, particularly the breakfast which was cooked to perfection and hit the spot after a few drinks the night before and before a round of golf on what is quite a hilly and tiring course (without a buggy or trolley). The service was a little slow as well, but I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is very nice, but the room a double, was very small. Although the bed was very comfortable. Basically, in my opinion this is golf club with rooms. Ok for overnight stay. Not impressed with the decor in bar and Restaurant. Food ok, nothing special.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Having needed to be to the west of Exeter I chose this hotel due to it's location and upon arrival it looks rather odd - looks like a green 'tin shed'. I was met by the receptionist who was friendly and checked me into room 1 without delay. The room was of average size at the back of the building although the sounds coming from the kitchen area below were rather load at times. The TV remote in the room did not work at the plug for the sink in the bathroom missing but the mini bar (not that I used it) did have a plentiful amount of confectionary / drink within it. Being a golf hotel the bar area was populated by men having finished their round although service was good. I ate in the restaurant and had a good meal with solid service once more. The only comment about the bar / restaurant is that the décor (all white) makes the place feel like a Doctors waiting room, My sleep was uninterrupted and breakfast next morning was good with checkout prompt. Overall the price I paid £70.00 B&B was good value for this basic hotel. If I needed to be west Exeter again I would return but only on that basis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fingle Glen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Address: Five Mile Hill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fingle Glen Golf Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Fingle Glen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fingle Glen Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.