We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imbassai Beach

Imbassai Beach
Imbassai, State of Bahia, Brazil
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Imbassai
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

lovely beach in a quiet town (we were ther in week days) Wake up very early (5 am sun is up) and go to the encounter of sea and river! peaceful!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    189
    64
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Imbassai Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful beach, meeting of the sea with a river of clear and clean water.You can choose enjoy between staying IN the fresh water or on the beach.
Bycicle track, clean public restrooms and shower and honest prices!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The family all time favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My family and I just love this beach and we have been here many times. When the kids are small, the river was the big thing. When older they enjoy the forcefull waves with pleasure.
Take a walk north at low tide, after crossing the river you we get to some rocks. Her you can see small fish trapped in pockets with water. Also great for bathing and collecting shells. Still my small daughters (7 years) favourite place.
Go south on the beautifull beach all the way to Diogo (Santo Antonio). You can either walk or run (mind the heat and the sun). At low tide the sand gets very hand and it is just PERFECT for barefooted running. This is my hands down world wide favourite running track - Imbassai to Diogo and back makes about 12km.
Many great barraccas - and the best one is Barraca do Baixinho. Go there and enjoy the perfect food and superior service. Send my greetings to owner Baixinho and head waiter Mario (you cant miss him). Just say hello from the Danish guy.
I am going back in a week and I am looking forward to see how the new Barracas are proceeding. All Barracas will be removed from the river.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocking, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Long and clean Beach with many rows of incoming waves. Nice Little Bars on the Beach (so called baracas)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would be perfect without the garbage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Some barracas serve up tasty seafood, with wonderful views. My favorite was just north of our pousada. Waves aren't as strong as they appear, at least not next to the beach, though there's a pretty strong current.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imbassai Beach also viewed

 
Praia do Forte, BA
 

Been to Imbassai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imbassai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.