We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pousada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua to your Saves list
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia do Forte s/n, Mata de Sao Joao, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice pousada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice pousada,with a great location right on the beach and good value for money. It is next door to Pousada Farol das Tartarugas (also by the beach), a few houses down from Projeto Tamar and 5 minutes walk to the village.
The sea in Praia do Forte is warm and colour and visibility vary greatly with tides, rain etc. The big problem is that there are many reefs and rocks and it is difficult to get in and out of the water. When the tide is low, some natural pools are formed just in front of the pousada.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean and spacious.
I think the pousada lacks a bit on attention to detail. The towels could be better quality; breakfast is good, but there is not hot options (no eggs); even if the beach in front of the hotel does not belong to them, they could clean some of the seaweed and rubbish brought by currents and winds; staff is super friendly but cannot answer simple questions such as what is the opening time of Projeto Tamar or what is the best time to visit it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    84
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
69
126
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This pousada is really wonderful and it deserves 1st place on TA. Everything about it is great: location, rooms, food, service, sunbeds outside, the beach. That's why I cannot believe the water!!!! I don't understand why people do not mention it in their reviews!!! Besides the ugly color of the water (Atlantic ocean) that is greyish dirty-lool-like greenish something, there is no way one can get into the water as there are slippery stones, and algae and grey muscle as far as the beach leads and for tens and tens of meters far in the water - see the photos! I could not believe that I was on this wonderful beach without being able to get or swim in the water! The only place one can actually gets to swim a little is the small beach in front of the church as there are not any stones but because of that it is the place where all the fishermen boats pull in and so you get to swim in even more dirty water that smells like gas! It's not the Atlantic because I saw it at Varadero-Cuba and it was almost emerald green and clean there! Well, here you have the best accommodation, a wonderful quite beach but no ocean! How frustrating that is?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great thing about this hotel is its location. It's located right at the beach. And all rooms face the ocean, which brings a lot of advantages: ocean views, ocean breeze and also you can sleep listening to the waves. Great experience.

Another good thing about this hotel is its price. It is not so expensive as other options in the area.

The beach in front of the hotel is not the best one to go into the ocean though (too many rocks, short sand strip). You have to walk 10 minutes to the left to reach famous Praia do Forte ocean pools (Praia do Aquario).

Hotel is located inside a condominium of houses that's is 5 minutes walk from the village. Easy access to good restaurants, shops and projeto Tamar (sea turtles conservation project - a great way to spend a couple of hours and help the project buying T-shirts and other merchandise).

Rooms are nice and quite spacious. I recommend staying in the second floor. Rooms have balconies and a better view. If you stay on the first floor you get to be too close to the are where most of the guests spend time sunbathing.

Service is nice and friendly. Breakfast is ok but not great and there is also an afternoon tea.

For dinner and lunch I would recommend a walk to the village. Better options there.

There is also a great castle ruin 6Km away from the village that is worth the visit. It is dated to 16th century and it was the center of a huge farm in the colonial era (800 thousand square kilometers).

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are better. Rooms on ground floor are much too close to the swimming pool area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz do Sul, RS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you want to stay in Praia do Forte, this is the hotel where to stay ! It is the only one directly at the beach, the sand starts already in the hotel premises and if you walk fast enough across it, you won't burn your feet before entering the wonderful ocean waters and enjoy some nice snorkeling. Once tired of the sun, you can enjoy some rest laying in the hammock of your terrace enjoying the view behind lots of palm trees. Staff is friendly, hotel owner nice and always present and caring of his guest's comfort, breakfast is good.

Maybe a few more laying chairs would be required to satisfy all guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Balcony was a great option and relaxing near the beach very charming. The town of Praia do Forte was fun and full of shops and restaurants. Beach was pretty good. Not the best ever, but more than fun. I would recommend this place and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Pousada as part of our trip around Brazil. It was perfect for us, right on the beach (the Tamar project is just along the beach about 200m) and a short walk to the restaurants.

Nice big room, with a good shower (they often aren't!) and great balcony with an ocean view. The room had air con but most of the time we just opened the doors and let the ocean breeze cool us (no mosquito's while we were there.)

Good breakfast and afternoon cakes at 4pm each day. As a result we never had lunch as always too full! We didn't try the restaurant as we always took a walk into town. Pria do Forte is quite an upmarket resort with lots of restaurants and clothes shops etc - it was much bigger than we had expected but felt very laid back. If going out of season I would recommend being there over the weekend as it was much busier on the Friday with a much livlier atmosphere.

I think the poorer reviews for this hotel were mostly from 2010 and the hotel must have improved a lot since then as we thought it was great. All in all, a good place to stay if you want to be right on the beach and want a laid back hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I really enjoyed stayng at the Pousada. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was spacious and pleasant. The rooms have balconies that face the sea. I spent a lot of time on my hammock just feeling the breezes and listening to the sea. The beach is OK, but walking down a little bit it seemed to be a bit less rocky. I was always able to get a nice lounge chair in their property. During low tide I saw people snorkeling very far out and standing up. The restaurant served a great breakfast and 4 PM tea. I wasn't really thrilled with dinners, though they were well made. I preferred to go to town, which is a short walk away and I always felt very safe (as a woman travelling alone). I absolutely would stay there again.

Room Tip: I enjoyed being upstairs for a good view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua

Address: Praia do Forte s/n, Mata de Sao Joao, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Praia do Forte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia do Forte
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praia do Forte
#7 Family Hotel in Praia do Forte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto da Lua is the only Hotel right on the beach and is a model of splendid tropical architecture. We have 26 very comfortable rooms, 22 of them with a spectacular view over the ocean and the reef. The constant, lovely and fresh breeze from the ocean makes the tropics here at Hotel Porto da Lua even more relaxing. There are also some special suites - one of them with almost 100 m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Porto Da Lua Hotel Praia Do Forte
Hotel-Pousada Porto Da Lua Praia Do Forte, Bahia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.