We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, noisy airconditioner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Via dos Corais Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Via dos Corais Hotel to your Saves list
Via dos Corais Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Dourado- Aldeia dos Pescadores, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 42280-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamar, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, noisy airconditioner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

The hotel has a good location, just 2 minutes walk from the main street, a bit further from the beach. The breakfast was excellent, the pool area is nice and the whole hotel area was very clean. The rooms are ok, nothing extraordinary but spacious and clean. The bathrom is small but nice. It does not, however, have a window, only an opening with wooden bars which results in a hot and humid bathroom.

The main problem was the airconditioner. It was VERY noisy. We had to wear earplugs to sleep and it was not nice to stay in the room to relax because of the noise. We would also have preferred a table and chairs on the balcony instead of a hammock. It would have been nice to sit at the balcony and enjoy a refreshing drink at night.

Overall I would recommend the hotel if they replace the airconditioners.

  • Liked — The breakfast and pool area
  • Disliked — The airconditioner!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    95
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We had a good experience upon check-in, good service, and there is an elevator if you don't want to take the stairs. The pool is very lovely, but the photo on their website gives an impression that the pool faces the beach, but it does not. Their "villa net" room has only one computer for accessing the internet. The location is good and in walking distance from everything, while still away from the noise of the busy roads.

While the overall experience was positive, one critical issue was that our air conditioner was noisy and kept my husband awake at night. I wore earplugs. the air conidtioner was it such a location above the door of the room that it is not in arms reach, and the controls are on the a/c unit. So you have to be very tall, or stand on something to change the setting. Sorry, but the air conditioner is an important feature of a hotel room, and I will not recommend this hotel for this reason.

Also, the staff were varied and didn't always speak English, or they spoke Portuguese too rapidly for us to catch what they were saying.

There is a nice family of a momma cat and her 5 kittens living at the hotel that gave an extra charm to staying there.

  • Liked — Has a nice tree house/tropical home feeling to it.
  • Disliked — Air conditioner
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Lovely B&B/hotel with friendly staff and good food for the price. It's rated as a 2* on a lot of websites/brochures but really it's at least at 3*. The rooms are comfortable & well air conditioned. The pool is quite small, but nicely designed and fine for a quick dip & for relaxing in. A quick nod to the barman and he puts on the jacuzzi for you and if you're lucky, you might just catch a glimpse of a humming bird in the flowers right next to you - fantastic!

Praia do Forte itself is a rather quaint touristy resort, but not in a bad way. The good thing about it is that there are lots of Brazilians there too - either up for the weekend from Salvador or just generally chilling out. The hotel is a little off the beaten track (about 5-10 mins to the main strip & a bit further to the beach) - but that's fine. You get to walk through the backstreets and see the locals going about their business. It's all perfectly safe and welcoming - so makes for a very relaxing easy-going holiday with the only stress of deciding which restaurant you want to sample next - on the whole, they were all good (especially if you like steak!) but we reckon the best was "Bamboo" & highly recommend.

We were content to fill our two weeks just pottering around the town, beach & market stalls most days, but for the more active there are plenty of organised activities available. The receptionist at the hotel, Amir - has a lot of local knowledge and does guided tours around the nearby Sapiranga Forest, which was interesting. He's no longer working at the hotel but his contact details are: [--] (Amir Higashi) and worth contacting if you want a more personal tour of the forest or any advice about travelling further afield.

All in all, we had a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing holiday and definitely recommend it for one to two week break. It's a good base for day-tripping into Salvador or heading into the mountains for a few days. The National Park, Chapada di Diamantina, is supposed to be incredible, and you can get an overnight bus from Salvador for at relatively little cost.

  • Liked — The breakfasts by the pool
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, Warrington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

What a holiday we have had! All I can do is repeat the comments given above - I will try to add some more......

The hotel is small and centrally located. Although given three stars I would say that it is worth much more. I would describe it as a boutique hotel. It has none of the facilities of a large all inclusive hotel - but if all you want to do is relax by the pool and eat in lovely restauraunts every night it fits the bill. The rooms are excellent and impecably clean. The staff themselves are all smiles (especially Isael) and extremely helpful - yes, some speak very little english, but we got by fine.

The village is great. Many, many places to eat -our favourites being Bambu, Beach House and O Europeu. All the restauraunts look quite expensive but there not - often a price on the menu will be for two people. There are many shops selling really nice clothes, jewellry etc. Not your usual tacky holiday gift shops.

The village comes alive at the weekends with locals spending their time there. We spent a Saturday night at a bar called Da Souza - you have to pay about £1 to get in but it is certainly an experience watching the locals dancing samba and enjoying themselves! We got up and had a dance ourselves - what a great night.

Finally I would recommend a trip that goes to Salvador on a Tuesday night. We enjoyed it so much we went twice! You walk the streets in Pelhourinho visiting various live stages with bands playing music- also you get to see the famous drummers who perform on carnival nights. Fantastic!

All in all it was excellent. I would recommend Brazil to anyone. Others who had been to the nearby all inclusives said they were a bit 'out of it' and would have enjoyed it much more if they had stayed in the village on a B & B like us. Our Aitrours rep commented that Brazil was not getting the kind of take up they would have liked and that they may stop offering it as a destination soon. Please don't let that happen - it would be a real shame.

  • Liked — The friendliness of staff and the excellent location to the village
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2006

Just returned from the Vila dos Corais, Praia do Forte, Brazil. I see a very thorough review has just be posted ahead of me. Lets see what I can add.

This is a lovely character hotel for people who want to feel that they are in Brazil (rather then one of the faceless mega all inclusive numbers). A lot of local materials are used in the decoration which is all rather charming and rustic. The hotel is located about a slow five minute stroll from the main pedestrian street in the village, through a residential area. It was completely safe to walk to at night.

The pool is ample for a cooling dip - with lots of different levels and little parts to sit on in the water. There is a jacuzzi bubble section. It's not really a pool to have a proper swim in but in the heat you probably won't have the energy to do much but dip anyway.

The breakfast was lovely. Aside from cold meats and cheese the fruits are fab and fresh. There is also a selection of dishes which change around like a truly wonderful breakfast flan, little cakes, scrambled eggs, fried banana dusted in cinnamon. There is plenty to chose from.

The rooms were ample in size and colourful. I didn't have a balcony room but this didn't bother me. I was offered to change to one but I was quite happy where I was! The balconies have hammocks on them. Rooms have satellite tv (CNN and Universal are in English plus some others that have random programmes in English if you're having a siesta). There is a small fridge which is ample for your own bits and bobs.

The bathrooms are big enough. Shower only, no bath, but the shower is nice and large. I wasn't too keen on the fact that the small window opening simply has bamboo at it rather then a window so anyone walking past can hear you on the toilet! Apart from that little niggle it was nicely tiled and met our needs.

The standard of cleaning was excellent. The grounds and reception were equally spotless.

I didn't try the massage but I saw someone else on the receiving end and they seemed to get an incredibly long massage for the money! It looked good.

There is a tele room which also gets used for business conferences that has a cabinet with some English books where you can exchange your holiday reads.

The nice thing with this hotel is that you can mix with Brazilians on holiday. This is where the locals go. There are only around 50 rooms so if you're looking to escape you're fellow countrymen then this is a good choice.

I did wonder if there would be enough sun loungers but it never seemed to be a problem to get one. The sun moves away from the grounds at around 3:00 to 3:30. The sun is so strong here that you'll appreciate the shade anyway.

The staff speak varying degrees of English but you can get by enough to get what you need and a smile goes a long way. When I felt a bit rough one day they were happy to prepare a breakfast tray for myself and my partner and bring it to our room.

If you ask at reception - the lady with the long hair - they can run trips. These are much better value then the Thomas Cook trips (or you can book the same trips at the little tourist office).

All in all I think this was an excellent choice of hotel and have no qualms in recommending this place.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

Have just come back from spending two weeks at this hotel and had a great time. It only has 3 stars but deserves more. It is a small hotel 50 rooms and is maintained well. Not all the rooms have balconies which is a shame otherwise we had no criticisms. The rooms are clean and cleaned on a daily basis with clean linen. The rooms have shampoo, conditioner and shower cap replaced as needed. You have a mini bar and a small amount of space in fridge for your own drinks. Breakfast is from 8am till 10am but this is flexible usually started about 7.30 and is a good buffett breakfast. Freshly squeezed local juices cold meats and cheeses, hot and cold dishes homemade cakes and very attentive waiters who were pleasant.
It has its own restaurant where you can have snacks or a proper meal and prices no different from the village. Pool is ample size for hotel with jacuzi. there is a small gym and massages are available.
The staff are all friendly their english is limited but they are learning this and the man on reception in the afternoon has a good understanding of english.
The hotel is about 5min walk from the centre of the village which is delightful it has been enlarged from a small fishing village into an ecofriendly resort. The bulidings can't go any taller than 2 storeys and the main street is pedestranised. There are numerous restaurants to choose from and we did not have a bad meal the whole time we were there. The ones I would recommend are Beach House, Bambu, Sabour da vila, Taverna Paridiso, O European,
There are numerous boutique style shops selling clothes and accessories, local art and jewelery.
There are several places to change money using your card its based on the us dollar so rate is good, though the weekend they do seem to run out of money but the ATM by the Youth Hostel seems to be kept well supplied. You need to put your card in then take it out and follow instructions.
There is a laundry, go right out of hotel then right at end of road 5 min walk.
The beach is lovely with local fishing vessels in the bay and when the tide goes out there are rock pools and snorkling available to see the reef area with the local marine life.
There is a local tourist information place just up from the bustop, which have some good trips to offer for reasonable prices they do speak English, and Thomas Cook plan to use them and said there insurance was good along with health and safety.

  • Liked — Friendliness, cleanliness, relaxed and well maintained
  • Disliked — Lack of balconies more sunbed mats
  • Tips/Secrets — Has free internet use
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Via dos Corais Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via dos Corais Hotel

Address: Rua do Dourado- Aldeia dos Pescadores, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 42280-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Praia do Forte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Praia do Forte
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praia do Forte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Via dos Corais Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Via dos Corais Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Dos Corais Hotel Praia Do Forte, Bahia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via dos Corais Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.