We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort in a paradise beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Praia do Forte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Praia do Forte to your Saves list
Iberostar Praia do Forte
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodovia BA 099, km 56, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Praia do Forte
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Resort in a paradise beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May 2012 (it took me a while to do the review so I placed it as May 2013). Since it was off season, the hotel wasn't full and very calm.

I will start with the room: clean, nice and very spacious. There is a full refrigerator, coffee maker, sofa and balcony. Bathroom is huge, you have toiletries clean towels separate bath and shower. Bonus for the room service that everyday had a surprise for us with animals with the towels and placing flowers in our room. They were lovely and super creative!

The hotel is huge, dependencies are nice and clean. The best part is that there are 2 pool complexes: calm and party. If you want to play games, listen to music and meet other people go to the party pool complex. If you want to read a book listening to the sea and relax, go to the calm. That detail was very important to me since I needed a real relaxing vacation, silence and no agitation. The hotel provides a lot of activities: gym classes, walks on the beach, bb gun shooting contest, games, etc. There is also a night show with music and singing - the dancers are notably good.

The beach is super clean, there are turtle nests all over and it is a preserved beach where they reproduce so they can't have lights or food near the beach. You really feel you are close to the nature in this hotel, not only because of the turtles, but you can see a lot of birds, monkeys and crabs. Monkeys are specially cute, they are furry and tiny and eventually risk stealing food left on a plate.

The hotel is all inclusive so you can't be hungry. Food is not great, but there is a good variety. The day we arrived they had a food evaluation so the first dinner was incredible with a lot of lobster and shrimps on the buffet. The remaining days were just ok, nothing spectacular and same options every day for lunch and dinner. The restaurant near the pools open for lunch but are really bad, get the acarajé and fresh food from the booth instead - they are great. If you want a more refined food, you can book a table at a specialty restaurant for dinner. We were able to book at the oriental and french restaurants. The french is great, fine food and good options. The only one with decent options for vegetarians. Book all your reservations when you arrive or you may not be able to get a place later.

You have a good variety of drinks: soft drinks, fresh juices, beer, cocktails, liquors and wine. Cocktails are good, if you want more options go to the main bar near the lobby. Stay away from the wine, there is only one brand and it's really bad. Wine doesn't suit the warm beach weather after all.

Overall I loved the place, it was a great vacation for me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at Iberostar Praia do Forte. Your satisfaction and well-being are of most importance to us and will work hard to keep improving our services.

Best Regards,
Adriane Romero – Quality Manager Iberostar Brasil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    904
    281
    100
    58
See reviews for
1,476
772
30
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love this place, the views, the coconut trees, the swimming pools, the kids club, the staff! Everyone seemed happy to work there! Buffet has a lot of choice, rooms are very spacious, nice and clean. I regret only the restaurant near the pool, which was sometimes messy and very little choice. Be prepared to walk a lot because it's very big...

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor. Our staff does its utmost each day to ensure that all our guests fell at home while enjoying beautiful sunny days in Bahia! We are delighted you have enjoyed our hotel while experiencing a great vacation. Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.
Best Regards,

Quality Manager Iberostar Brasil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The only plus is itis not a bad price, much lower than Tivoli, All else is minus from the chaos at arrival during off season to the very slow front desk to broken overnight Internet service that you pay for and no one can fix hotel wide till after 8 am. Buffet lunch is good, breafkast seems likes recycled lunch and dinner is the same as lunch in buffet places. Grounds are huge, long walks, No elevators in buildings and rooms on three floors, bellboys cannot be found, desk clerks cannot multi-task. I was glad to get out. Also,the shower has shampoo and bath gel dispensers - my bath gel was empty, very clear to anyone if room cleaned after prior guest. I had to get out of shower to get a mini bar of soap and get the floor all wet - not good. The desk has one plug with a light - to use the laptop you have to unplug the light and sit in the dark, badly planned rooms.

Room Tip: Handicapped people not welcome, no elevators and no one helps you walk to your far off building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience at our hotel over the holiday. I'm very concerned with the comments you made. Please feel free to call me or contact me through e-mail at your earliest convenience if you would like to discuss it further. Your satisfaction and well-being are of most importance to us and we hope to rectify the situation as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager - Iberostar Brasil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been spending 10 days on the first fortnight of April 2013.
it was a wonderful experience.
If you want to spend a vacations with entertainment at 100%, this is the best choice.
Location, friendliness of staff and the quality of the service will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on trip advisor! At Iberostar Praia do Forte we work really hard to offer fun activities for all ages as well as a good variety of food and beverages. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.
Best Regards,
Adriane Romero – Quality Manager - Iberostar Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This Iberostar at Praia do Forte in Brazil takes whatever it needs to be the best choice in the country.

For those who are used to Iberostar way, you can add also the happiness and joy from the local guys!

Really awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your sincere comments about Iberostar Praia do Forte. Thank you for choosing us as your destination and for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at our hotel and approved our services . We sincerely hope to have you back in the near future! Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.
Best Regards,

Adriane Romero - Quality Manager Iberostar Brasil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Every March for the past 4 years, I've attended a week-long conference here. The resort is isolated from the town of Praia do Forte, but only a short taxi ride away. It's about an hour to an hour and a half (depending on traffic) from the Salvador airport. People who come here generally plan on parking themselves at the resort for a few days: I always see a mix of families, couples, and groups of friends.

Service: I don't speak Portuguese, but I've always been able to find someone who speaks English or Spanish to help me when needed. I've been welcomed with a drink and my luggage taken to my room each time. I've called maintenance (to get an extra bed put in the room), housekeeping (for more drinks in the mini bar), security (I couldn't open my room safe), and tech (I was having trouble connecting to the in-room internet), and all requests were handled promptly and resolved. Check-in and check-out were smooth, even at 4am. There's a travel agent in the lobby, but I've never used them.

Restaurants: I've found the food and drink to be of good variety and high quality compared to other all-inclusives. There are several special restaurants on site that require reservations: the teppanyaki resto is fun for kids; but don't expect the cook to have many fun tricks up their sleeve, or for the sushi to be authentic. We've also been to the steak house, which is in a great location next to the beach, and has a quiet ambiance at night--the food is good but nothing super special. The main restaurant, even when crowded, manages to keep lines moving quickly and I've never had a problem finding a place to sit.

Facilities: The place is isolated and the hotel's beach is private. There are a few vendors on the beach. but they don't bother you. There is a party pool (with a poolside bar) and a quiet pool, and everything settles down once the sun goes down. You can get a fresh coconut with a straw in it and sip it next to the pool. They have babysitters and a day care center at the resort. There's a cigar bar and a lobby bar, and a small disco (that allows families and kids to enter early in the evening). The resort has decent conference facilities (wifi, projectors, sound systems, many different meeting rooms). My only complaint is that the in-room internet requires a cable (which they will provide you if you didn't bring one). The lobby has wifi.

Activities: sports facilities (golf, tennis courts, ping pong tables, billiards, board games, volleyball, rifle shooting), nightly shows (I've never bothered to watch any of them). There's a some fitness and yoga classes offered during the day as well. On the weekend they bring in local entertainers to sing and play music during lunch time near the beach. Since I'm always there for a conference, I don't usually get to enjoy these services.

Beach: there's a lifeguard watching the section where people swim, and flags indicating the strength of the waves and undertow (usually they are red or orange during the time of year I always visit (March). The beach is clean.

Room Tip: there are disabled-access rooms on the ground floor only; there are no elevators to the second or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience at our hotel. We value your opinion and work really hard to assure our daily improvement. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,
Adriane Romero - Quality Manager Iberostar Brasil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaruja, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Exclusive hotel with good themed restaurants, sorry that I could not try it all. Maybe next time.
The service is not as good on weekends, when the hotel is fuller.
The location is a bit isolated, but there are good travel agents within the hotel, with several tour options.
There are also options for leisure and entertainment for the whole family.
I recommend

Room Tip: There are no lifts in apartment blocks, some people with limited mobility should advise at time of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Praia do Forte, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and recommending Iberostar Praia do Forte on trip advisor! At Iberostar we work really hard to offer great service to our guests. We value your suggestions and hope to have you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,

Adriane Romero – Quality Manager - Iberostar Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Praia do Forte

Address: Rodovia BA 099, km 56, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Praia do Forte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia do Forte
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia do Forte
#3 Family Hotel in Praia do Forte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Praia do Forte 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star hotel located in Praia do Forte, only 60km away from Salvador (Brazil). Sea–turtles reserve. 5 restaurants. Tennis courts. SPA and Golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, VISIT US, INC. and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Iberostar Bahia Praia Do
Iberostar Mata De Sao Joao
Iberostar Bahia Brazil
Iberostar Brazil
Iberostar Praia Do Forte Bahia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Praia do Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.