We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punakaiki Horse Treks

Punakaiki Horse Treks
State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
64 3 731 1839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Punakaiki
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Adventure
Attraction details
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This horse-trek was one of the highlights from my trip to New Zealand!! The staff are experienced and knowledgeable and make for great conversations while on the ride! The scenery is absolutely epic and I felt that it was an excellent way to experience the natural beauty of this area!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great treks, horses and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My daughter went for three treks with the same staff member who was a young Swedish lady, Clara. Had a great time. Trek was matched to her skill level (so she was cantering a lot) and she had a great time. Also a beautifully tempered horse.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best way to see the rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I went on a ride (2.5 hours) with Punakaiki Horse Treks. Our guides were two young women from Sweden. Both were very friendly and knowledgable about the horses. Our ride was absolutely perfect. They saw to it that we were comfortable on the horses (we are both beginners) and that all of our equipment was perfect. We rode on the beach, through streams and through a lovely path.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and tailored horse ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I've been here twice in 10 years and had a fabulous experience both times. The ride takes you into the rain forest behind Punakaiki, is truly tailored according to your experience and the horses are all very well looked after. The highlight of the ride is cantering down the beach. Amazing! Many thanks, I'll hopefully see you again in 10 years time!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Riding in Punakaki Gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

value for money, friendly staff, well trained horses.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punakaiki Horse Treks also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Punakaiki Horse Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punakaiki Horse Treks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.