We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real gem in a spectacular setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Punakaiki Resort to your Saves list
Punakaiki Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real gem in a spectacular setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay here with our two children for just one night and wished it was longer. We arrived late in a storm, and the hotel was being run off a generator: it was the only place with power in all of Punakaiki, and the staff took extra steps to make sure we were OK and had everything we needed for the night, knowing that when the generator went off, so would the lights and the water! The rooms are beautifully designed, and the dining and bar areas were gorgeous. The hotel is nestled nicely into the native bush and right on the edge of the beach. The food was very good, and the wine list was excellent. We would love to return here again to enjoy it properly for longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your understanding with power outages in the area. Thank you for your kind words regarding our nicely designed rooms, restaurant and bar area. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to invite you back to the resort so you can take advantage of the beautiful surrounding area as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    166
    85
    32
    11
See reviews for
54
255
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here one night after deciding the place we had originally booked looked a bit of a dump! Called in to ask if they had a room available and a very helpful staff member let me view the room. Had a lovely stay despite the very noisy Porsche gang of people! Unfortunately they were meeting up for a last night together and were in the bar at the same time as us, nice for them but a bit noisy for us. Still enjoyed the lovely views of the ocean. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant also. Would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding friendly staff, great views and meal served in our restaurant Jacobs Grill. We apologize for the noise coming from another party and have spoken to our staff to suggest to loud groups to consider other guests when dining. Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again at Punakaiki Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed. The resort is right on the beach, walking distance from the pancake rocks. The rocks are beautiful and so interesting - worth the stop to see. We also hiked in the area on some beautiful river trails. The resort is very eco-friendly, which is great. The room was lovely, the views great, and the restaurant was excellent. The resort is a little pricy, but worth it. There is no town there, and not many choices on places to stay. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there is a bad room, although we stayed on the upper level on the end and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our great location, surrounding activities. Also thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant Jacobs Grill. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Punakaiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Punakaiki Resort is located in a unique spot overlooking the rugged coastline and immediately adjacent to pancake rocks. The resort itself is eco-friendly but warm and comfortable and the views from the rooms near the top can't be beat. The restaurant is also excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The walk through the Pancake Rocks is short but really spectacular and the Porari River Track nearby was amazing. We highly recommend the Punakaiki Resort if you are looking for a great place to stay along the west coast of the South Island in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our spectacular views, comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant and convenient location to surrounding activities. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Punakaiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel was in separate lodges. The food was expensive. There was a little café/caravan place on the beach at Punakaiki which did food while you waited, we had whitebait fritters (omelettes) they were delicious. Punakaiki is famous for its pancake rocks and blow holes well worth seeing and free entry. There is little else to see or do in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be good although chalet type but faced the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time taken to post your review. There are many activities to do in Punakaiki including kayaking, a numerous amount of walks along the spectacular coastline, horse trekking, cafes and restaurants, swimming, surfing, fishing, rock climbing, cave tours, still only an example of the many interesting and exciting adventures available at Punakaiki. Once again thank you for your comments and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the resort and although the views were spectacular we didn't think we got value for money. The service was friendly but the rooms were basic and things like laundry and wifi were very expensive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. We take heart that you enjoyed our outstanding views and friendly staff. We are looking at ways to improve our guest experience and your comments regarding room standards will go a long way to help this. Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location, second to none. A very unique, secluded area, the beach is just metres away. We were delighted to find the famous Pancake Rocks just a five to ten minute walk up the road. Fantastic views from every angle. although this seems to be the main attraction, there are many others surrounding the resort -horse trekking, lovely swimming areas, scenic tracks, all these literally next door to the resort. The room was simple and clean. In the restaurant we received a window table as requested. great food, portion sizes are spot on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time taken to leave your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our brilliant location and fantastic views. Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant Jacobs Grill. Once again thank you for your review and wish to welcome you to stay with us again on your next visit to Punakaiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punakaiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.