We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punakaiki Resort to your Saves list
Punakaiki Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All about the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed one night at the end of our time in NZ. The distinctive feature here is the setting - fabulous ocean-side location and when the sun sets over the surf it is as good as it gets. The hotel itself was OK bot nothing special. Surprised to have to pay for wifi, when most good motels provide it free at a much lower overall price. Restaurant again was OK if pricey. Would not be in a hurry to go back to this hotel - but this hotel in this location probably would draw me back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit with us especially our location.

I hope your onward journey went well and we appreciate your recommendation for other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    133
    72
    26
    8
See reviews for
40
219
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

we booked two nights at the eco suite, $310/night on 30 and 31/12/13, ended up forfeiting our second night and came home. It was a huge disappointment. We arrived at about 4:30 in the afternoon, after we checked in we were given the keys for the room, only to walk in to a room that had not been made and stunk of cigarette smell. When we rang up the reception, we were told to wait in that room for them to ring back. We waited for about 10 minutes and they told us to go back to the reception to pick up the key for another room, no apology at all. The suite is basically no different to what you would get in a caravan park, bed is definitely not a king size as stated on the website, there were spider web on the ceiling and corner of the walls. We couldn't have dinner at the restaurant because we didn't book a table in advance, which is understandable. But when we asked if we could order snack food or finger food at the bar, the answer from the staff at the bar was just a blunt "No!" We were so fed up and were not prepared to spend our new years eve there as we originally planned. When checked out the next day, my husband said we actually decided to check out a day earlier even though we booked two nights, the response from the reception staff was "oh ok", did not even bother asking why we were checking out earlier, like it wasn't unusual for her. Do these people really know what "Service" mean? It's a shame that this place charge at a top price and call themselves a resort when they can't even provide basic service and the value for money is just a huge rip off. Will never be back again and will definitely not recommend it to anyone, I'd rather throwing my money away than spending it at the so-called resort.

Room Tip: don't even bother going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to relay your concerns to us following your recent stay with us at the Punakaiki Resort.

I am disappointed that you found aspects of your room and the service to be unsatisfactory. We do review all areas of concern raised by guests as your input is valuable in ensuring we achieve guest satisfaction.

We sincerely apologize for the mistake regarding your room upon check in and have discovered it was a mistake in communication. We now have procedures in place to prevent a future occurrence.

In regards to your issues raised regarding room cleanliness, we take housekeeping issues very seriously and have implemented procedures to thoroughly check for any spider webs and understand these can be appear quickly.

We regret that you found our service not too expectation and we will investigate your concerns raised as we do have bar snacks available.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we will use this in our constant endeavours to improve future guest experience. We wish to invite you to stay with us again so we can remedy your experience with us and please feel free to contact me directly by email at melanie@williamshotels.co.nz if you have any further concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Accommodation was in wooden cabins, reasonably spacious, not glamorous but clean. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with lovely views over the ocean.
Was disappointed to be charged an extra percentage for settling my bill with a credit card - not good enough for a tourist hotel.
Lyn walked on the beach but her feet and ankles were eaten alive by sandflies

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your dinner at Jacobs Grill. Regarding your issue with sand flies we recommend that repellent spray is used and have spray available at reception.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I read all the recent tripadviser reports the night before staying complaining about food quality in the restaurant and went to the supermarket and organised room picnics for night & morning, you have a fridge, glasses, tea, instant/ground coffee so the restaurant never entered into my plan (it was busy and the menu yes looked expensive!)
Check in fine, room on ground floor that Paul Carberry from New Zealand in Depth had arranged for us, standard of room first class, just a coat of paint on the bedside table tops would finish it off nicely, views even from the ground floor were spot on, it is all about the location with this hotel. Just a point, if you are sharing and one has a shower, certainly in 104, as the shower cubicle is a plastic wall and against the bedroom wall, switch it on and anyone in the bedroom thinks you are sandblasting, very noisy!! We listened and acted on the reports of our friends at tripadviser and had a great stay and a room picnic is fun for a change, & helps with the budget!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms and location. Regarding the noise of the shower we apologize you found this excessive and will a look at ways to decrease the noise made. Once again thank you for your review and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Pukaiki Resort was a HUGE disappointment. After days of camping and budget motels we were looking forward to a luxury resort - happy to pay a higher price for something special. What we found was a a vastly overpriced just slightly better than a motel room, with no view of the beach, and a bar with truly horrible drinks for $15 a piece. Food was decent, but, again expensive. Oh, and they charge $6 for an hour of internet service for a $240 dollar room. Unbelievable. Overall - over priced and pretentious with no understanding of what a luxury hotel should be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We sincerely regret not meeting your expectations of your standard garden view room on this occasion. We apologize you did not enjoy the taste of our cocktails. We take on board your constructive feedback and will work on ways to address these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Since there is no A/C, it was a little inconvenient that the screen beside the patio door was missing - would have loved to keep the window open for the ocean breeze and sound but due to the bugs this was not possible. A couple of tiles were missing grouting which is not a big deal at all as it was clean throughout. Free WiFi would have been nice even though is was pretty cheap at $3 for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for review with us.
I will be delighted to share this excellent feedback with our team. We really focus on doing everything we can to provide the best service possible and they will be pleased to see you have had a fabulous stay. In regards to not being able to leave your window open we are now in the process of either replacing or installing new fly screens so you can enjoy fresh air throughout the all rooms.

Thank you again, we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

dinner and breakfasts were of extremely low quality, as the service was both poor and definitely incompetent, paired with long waiting time.what was offered as contintental breakfast does not deserve the name.the only reference to other standards was the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are sorry that our dinner and breakfast service did not meet your expectations. We are consistently finding ways to improve our service offered. Please feel free to contact me directly by email melanie@williamshotels.co.nz with more detail of your issues so we can find ways to improve future guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punakaiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.