We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punakaiki Resort to your Saves list
Punakaiki Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Canterbury New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a great night stay at Punakaiki Resort the Receptionist welcome me and directed me to my room with a great map She pointed out to where I should park my car. The view from my room was amazing I could see right along the beach and watching the sunset was awesome.
In my room had two Queen Beds and lovely decor the bed was very comfortable, I had a great nights sleep. I dined in the restaurant my meal was yummy we sat by the fire and enjoyed a glass of wine a lovely evening was had by all thanks for making my stay enjoyable, I will be back to visit again. Sue

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    133
    72
    26
    8
See reviews for
40
219
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as a mid winter break, catching the transalpine from CHCH and hiring a car. As we went with friends they knew which rooms to book (rooms 105-109 are upstairs nearest the driveway). The rooms were clean and well furnished. The bed was comfy with the typical duvet/white sheets/ throw on the end of the bed, that are so typical now days.
The lady at reception was very welcoming and asked about our trip. We had booked a special "romance package" which included a bottle of bubbles (Lindaur Special reserve which was waiting in an ice bucket in our room with 2 champagne glasses), a 2 course meal in the restaurant and the buffet continental breakfast. The staff were great at explaining what was included and how we could upgrade for a small extra cost.
The rooms were nice and quiet and you could just hear the waves. We didn't hear our friends in the next room at all so soundproofing is good.
I don't think many other rooms were occupied so the restaurant was closed on the Friday night and dinner and breakfast was served in the bar (there was only our table of 4 and another couple). But the food was stunning and came out quickly.
Waitress at breakfast was also very polite and attentive.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a view ( 105-109) - even though road was behind us we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived in the slow season and received a terrible welcome at reception from Jay or Ray, the only employee staffed during our arrival. She was abrupt and unfriendly in welcoming us. We went to the hotel restaurant and Jay/Ray was our waitress again providing unfriendly and impatient service. The food in the restaurant is all frozen and not fresh.

The sheets were rough and uncomfortable and the room was cold without a working heater which did not allow us to gain a restful sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Details of guest stay: Our fish is only menu item frozen. Guest bought own wine into restaurant, when told we are not a licensed B.Y.O restaurant, complaint was made by guest. Heater was operational in room, setting on heater was not adjusted. Whilst we value all feedback, we pride ourselves in our high standards of service and complaints made about our staff member are taken out of context.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night in mid July 2013, we planed to stay for 3 nights but after the service we had , 1 night was enough, The young lady that was at front desk was so very rude to my wife when she asked about the rooms , all she could do was moan about having to do all the work each night on her own and run around after the guests .
My wife said she could smell alcohol on her berth when talking to her,
when I asked about parking our car , all she said , put it wear ever you want in a very snotty attitude .
The room was very musty and felt damp and was stuck up the back up a hill,
it took all night to heat up the room .
The meal we had the night we arrived was nice but over priced.
Maybe if the staff were sorted out and attitudes were better we may call in next tine
in early September

Room Tip: Arvie before 9pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and take your comments very seriously. Please feel free to contact me directly on my email melanie@williamshotels.co.nz with your date of stay so we can resolve this issue. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great location for this hotel, with a stunning view on the sea. The room was large (2 double beds) and well-equipped; the service was good, with friendly people. And the Pancake Rocks are just by the beach...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback and are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to break our journey on our way to Blenheim. The room that we had was lovely and the views of the sea were stunning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the resort for one night during our honeymoon in mid-May and one night was quite enough. When we arrived the girl at the front desk seemed to care less about customer service. She was rude and snotty. We have to drive across the street to get to our room at the top of the hill. After moving our stuff into the room we realized the heat did not work, in fact the knob fell right off the unit. We called the front desk and had to drive down to reception to pick up another key for the room two doors down. After driving all the way back up to the next room and hauling our stuff into that room it took a long time to get the heat to work in that room. It wouldn't have taken so long but the resort left ALL the windows open...it was about 50 degrees when we arrived mid-afternoon and it had rained. So the room was cold AND damp. We thought it was funny that we had to make a reservation at the resort's restaurant for dinner that night because there were maybe 6 people total there. The food was way overpriced. I told our travel agent not to recommend this resort to anyone and she said she's had other complaints. Unfortunately there is not much else around if you want to see the Pancake rocks. I gave two stars because of the potential of the resort. The grounds are beautiful, as was the view but we didn't enjoy it much. This resort was by far the worst night on our 18-day honeymoon on North and South island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback and your comments do go a long way in improving our guest experience. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. We have implemented new maintenance procedures to prevent this problem occurring again. We will be in contact with your travel agent to address other issues you have announced. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punakaiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.