We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punakaiki Resort to your Saves list
Punakaiki Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Kent, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful views right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This resort (both hotel and motel) is very popular being a natural stop for Pancake Rocks (well worth a visit) and being situated north of Greymouth.

We had booked a room with kitchenette but opted tp upgrade to a standard room with beach view which was lovely - the sand-fly mesh on the windows and patio door meant we could keep the windows open all night.


Internet was expensive which was a shame but otherwise a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    133
    72
    26
    8
See reviews for
40
219
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place was by far the most picturesque, and nicest hotel I stayed in on my NZ tour! The view from my room was stunning. The food was buffet style but it was excellent, and the service in the dining room and bar was great.

Room Tip: I believe that all of the rooms have a beach view, but if not, request this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Superb location, fine large and comfortable rooms, very friendly and effective staff, excellent value for money, only the wi-fi charges are exhorbitantly high. (Would even call that a ripp-off)
Although limited choice on the restaurant menu, the quality of the food is very good, as is the setting. A great place to stay at reasonable cost if you avoid using their extremely expensive wi-fi charges. Watch out for the very aggressive sandflies this time of the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

BUT WHEN ARE THESE GUYS GOING TO STOP CHARGING SILLY MONEY FOR INTERNET ACCESS? It shouldn't cost them on a time basis and they shouldn't charge at all - and certainly they should not charge NZ$3 for 30 mins access (at least it was 1.5Mps).

All of that said, we really liked it. Room was good. Because there were a couple of bus loads of tourists in the hotel we decided against dinner and had it in our room. It was on time, hot and very pleasant. The room was spacious, the bathroom generous (but no bath) and the balcony overlooking the breaking rollers of the sea (EcoSuite) was perfect, except that we had to share it with sand flies!

We breakfasted at 9.00am after the tourist buses had left but by then the cooked food was well past edible. Continental was passable at that stage.

Value for money (GBP152 for the room only) was excellent.

Room Tip: Top floor of the Eco suites facing the ocean is the place to be. Tourists are in the rooms by recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were very impressed with this resort hotel. The view of the Pacific Ocean from our balcony and from the dining room was magnificent. The food was good (breakfast a bit basic, but quite acceptable) and the staff very frendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 1 night in an eco suite and we loved it. The room and great and had a fantastic review. The resort is an easy walk to the rocks. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Be warned that this hotel can be busy with tourist groups so meal time can be a hassle, which is exacerbated by seemly inexperienced waiting staff. We stayed in one of those Eco villas which are nestled amid the rain forest with a nice sea view. Our unit is spacious with a small patio. The layout is unconventional but inconvenient. Many electric appliances and outlets are not functional. You can trip on the threshold easily. I would have noted these on a feedback form, but there is none, not even a piece a paper or pencil. The hotel strives to be eco-friendly but it does not hurt to add an extra trash can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punakaiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.