We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hydrangea Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pancake Rocks

Pancake Rocks
Punakaiki, Punakaiki, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Punakaiki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Ipswich UK
2 reviews
“Hydrangea Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Pancake Rocks viewing area is a few minutes walk from the road. It is well laid out with good signs and paths. Better to view the blowhole at high tide and when the sea is rough!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    193
    35
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhuddlan, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning and impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This natural landscape is a must see and was worth driving up the west coast to go and visit it. The paths are well laid out and are sealed, so no rocks etc to deal with. The blowhole didn't perform on the day, but it was still lovely to see, so much so I went back the second day to have a look.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very well done path through the bush to various viewing places for the rocks and blowhole. You need a good swell and high tide for the blowhole though. Can get busy with coach loads of tourists.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantraybridge
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very impressive! Fascinating geology!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Extremely well laid out visitor tracks and info, and a very pleasant walk down to the rocks.
I didn't see the blowholes in action, but it was still a very worthwhile visit to this impressive site: the pancake rocks are amazing, fascinating, bewildering - and beautiful, too! Really lovely to look at, and it's interesting to read about how they night've formed...
The pathway is well maintained and the place is pretty informative: there's no entrance fee and it's wonderful to have places like this made available. Remember to give a donation!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was a must on our road trip, according to our friends who have visited this attraction before on their travels.
Although we didn't see the holes "blow", as the conditions weren't right, we did see lots of dolphins and that was so beautiful to observe.
Great picture opportunities. Be sure to have GOOD walking shoes, water and of course, your camera.
The shop across that sells t-shirts, etc, had good prices and I LOVE my Wile Kiwi hoodie.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancake Rocks also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Been to Pancake Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancake Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.