We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Nikau Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Te Nikau Retreat to your Saves list
Te Nikau Retreat
Hartmount Place, Punakaiki, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I fell in love with the place. Best weekend of our lives we reckon. If you are not afraid of roughing it a little , we cannot recommend booking The Stargazer hut enough. While it wouldnt suit everyone as its small and has no facilities or even electricity [who needs it!] we found the facilities we could use in the main lodge were more than adequate. Nothing like drifting off to sleep in your partners arms looking up through the glass roof as the stars put on a display and the night life of the bush comes alive outside your hut. Sharing our breakfast on the step of our hut with the local weka was just brilliant as well. We will be back! PS the other chalets in the bush looked really beautiful as well

Room Tip: Stargazer , go on do it , you know you want to. PS While there is no swimming pool the Tasman sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
59
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Short stop for the night. Got a Koru lodge, double cabin in the middle of a rainforest. Amazing location, short walk from the wonderful beach. Clean and cozy lodge, great atmosphere, very private, but close to main house with bathroom and kitchen. Would recommend to stay for a couple of nights, was very sad to leave. Something amazing, little paradise. Highly recommend.
P.S. There are 2 dollar fee for a towel rent (optional).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Te Nikau Retreat is a really nice place to spend some days just relaxing - cosy rooms, very tidy, clean kitchen and nice staff, not forget about the good muffins. One problem for people without a car could be the isolatated location. The beach is quite close with a little "bush walk". We really liked the trustworthy atmosphere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Thanks to excellent directions we had no problem finding the retreat and were warmly welcomed. We stayed in a private double with ensuite upstairs in the main lodge. This was adequate. We appreciated the heater and extra blankets. The views of the rainforest from the windows were amazing!

We took the short walk through the woods to the coast and took many photos of the shore with the wonderful surf.

We had come prepared and used the excellent kitchen to prepare a feast.

We only stayed on night, but would like to have had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Found the place to be a bit confusing. The lodges are based in the jungle, and are all over the place. Was a bit of a polava finding our lodge as there wasn't many signposts. But when we did find our lodge, I was very impressed. Had a very homely feel, with a well-equipped and clean kitchen down stairs and comfortable bedrooms upstairs. Was close to the beach and the pancake rocks, which were both very nice.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms (circa. 4 person) are far more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

we were really looking forward to our stay in the Koru lodge at the retreat but were disappointed on our arrival. we were given a double room in the main house which is not what we had booked - the staff seemed too busy and were not very informative - we had to ask where our room was, what number it is etc and they gave us no information about the facilities or our accommodation or information about the local area. On arrival we were left standing around outside waiting for someone for 15 mins. the lodge we had booked looked like it was in use and the staff never mentioned anything about our change in accommodation - although the koru did not look that great any way and was not really 'nestled in the rainforest' - it was next to the office and the car park - so maybe it was better being in the main house! the car parking was a bit messy and our car felt in the way and there were lots of people wandering around the place. our room in the house was okay - but was not very secure - it had no outside locks and we did not feel happy about leaving all our belongs in an unlocked room in an unlocked communal house. the room was a good size although very basic - the shared bathroom facilities were downstairs at the other side of the house which was very inconvenient as you had to walk past everyone in the communal living area and kitchen and walk through the whole house to go to the toilet. the retreat is close to pancake rocks and easy to find (just of the state highway).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeNikauRetreat, Manager at Te Nikau Retreat, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Te Nikau Retreat. We always appreciate feedback in order to improve and we are sorry that some aspects of your stay were not upto you expectations.
We can only apologize for keeping you waiting when you arrived. As im sure you saw when you went exploring, we are quite scattered through the forest and we are not always able to be at reception. I hope you made yourself at home in Ruru while you waited.
As for upgrading your room to a queen in Ruru Lodge, this can happen to prevent guests from having to go outside in the night to use the bathrooms in the main house, and we regularly use Koru for staff instead of paying guests as it can be chilli and inconvenient during the winter. Again, this upgrade should have been explained when you arrived had the staff not been busy. Other room options are usually available if it is mentioned at the time. Full apologies for this and we hope that you enjoyed the other unique aspects of your stay in the area.
Te Nikau Retreat is a very safe, trusting and secure place as confirmed by the honesty box system in the kitchen and as yet, we have had no problems with privacy or safety of belongings.
Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter and I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your journey. Blessings and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is downright eccentric with oddball cabins in various parts of the coastal forest. Nevertheless its fun and AOK. We stayed in one of the small cabins (3 bedrooms I think) away from the main building. It was fine although the showers & toilets are squeezed together most oddly but they function well so who cares ?

A place to remember, good value and recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Nikau Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Nikau Retreat

Address: Hartmount Place, Punakaiki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hostel with all home comforts, lodges and cottages nestled in the native rainforest. Excellent place to relax ~ restore ~ explore. Beautiful beaches,river walks, horse trekking, kayaking close-by. Bread/muffins baked daily for sale. Internet and wireless available too. 3kms north of the Pancake Rocks, sign on main road Motel - Homestay - Backpackers indicates turn off. Book free pick up in advance only off Intercity coaches for 12.30pm or 3pm please be waiting outside the visitor information centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Te Nikau Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Nikau Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.