We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, spacious, spotless, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bielsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bielsa to your Saves list
Hotel Bielsa
Ctra Francia s/n, 22350 Bielsa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bielsa
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“New, spacious, spotless, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

In a new building set back slightly from the carretera to France, this is a very smart and modern hotel with well designed and laid out spacious rooms. Our room on the first floor had a balcony facing the river and hills down the valley. Facing south we could spend hot afternoons sitting in the open French doors enjoying the breeze and sound of the river. The hotel is also a bargain and within an easy five minutes stroll of the old town. A great bathroom and toiletries plus HD TV cap it off. Sadly, a previous reviewer was right that the walls are paper thin and banging doors, moving furniture and voices (just) transmit. Our second night was better when we had no one next door - yes we could tell!! When will Spanish hoteliers learn the benefits of carpeting? If only at least in the hallways where voices and footfalls echo tremendously along the marble-esque floors in this hotel. None of that is reason not to recommend it - just be prepared with ear plugs!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Bielsa as part of our holiday tour of France and northern Spain, and we weren't disappointed. The staff weren't fluent in English, but were very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious, with a lovely bathroom. It was lovely to be able to walk into Bielsa and to walk in the nearby National Park. All the food was excellent, and we were pleasantly surprised by the provision of appetisers, wine, water and bread with the very tasty evening meal. Breakfast was also excellent, with a good variety of high quality food. We were also provided with good bocadillos for our day out. Everything at a very reasonable cost.

We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed two nights half board as part of a family holiday in the Pyrenees. Booking was simple, and the half board option appeared good value - so much so, that we wondered if we had been offered the wrong dinner menu (we hadn't!) - multiple courses, huge quantities, wine included. Our room was fine - functional rather than luxurious, but spacious enough for four, with a balcony overlooking the mountains. Hotel was well located, next to the village, plenty of parking, and a great departure point for exploring the Ordesa National Park. Reception and service were great - we would gladly go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

This was our third time at this hotel. Each year we have stayed longer (7 nights this time ) than previously as we can never get over the good value of the half board option, the great location, the friendly staff and the pre dinner gin and tonic at Rey's bar just behind the hotel. The food is excellent, the rooms are very comfortable (we styed in the superior ones) and next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

If you run a hotel with most rooms having great views down the valley, and you are virtually empty, where do you put the few guests that turn up? In this case, in a room at the back overlooking a scruffy smallholding. And you put those few guests in adjacent rooms, even though you must be aware that the walls are so thin you can hear every word that is said next door. I simply cannot understand the mentality. I would have asked to change but it took ages to check in and didn't want to go through the hassle for one night. It was overpriced, too. Plus points are a good breakfast and large car park. Bielsa itself is quite pretty but you'd find more to see and do back down in Ainsa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alibry
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010 via mobile

Everything seemed brand new. Very nice clean spacious rooms. Great beds, furniture and bathrooms. Excellent breakfasts with yogurt, kiwi, peaches, apples, pears, oranges, tortilla, and all the typical meats, cheeses, breads and cereal. Excellent dinners - much better than anything else we found in Bielsa. Nicest staff we met anywhere in Spain. Easy, free parking. Nice balcony and view of the mountains. 3 minute walk to the town. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritishBlueCat
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

As part of our car journey home to the UK having stayed in the South of Spain for two weeks we wanted to drive through the Pyrenees instead of the standard motorway journey.
What a fabulous route, was so easy to drive once we had turned off the main motorway from Barcelona to Lleida A2 we found that they have nearly finished building a motorway to continue from Lleida up to Barbastro from here we turn and follow the river to the ancient town of Ainsa which is so pretty, we had wished we had booked to stay here but that can be another time. Driving this route through the Pyrenees is breathtaking and plenty of places to stop and take pictures and an excellent route between Spain & France.

The Hotel was lovely, its a large grey building just set back from the main road with a huge free car park. Its a typical mountain Spanish hotel in structure run by a family I believe? A warm welcome, English a little poor but we all managed. We had a large spacious room on the 1st floor over looking the car park but with amazing views of the mountains. We had a little balcony that we could step out on to and breath in the mountain air and hear running water in the distance. The bed was two large singles pushed together which was fine, a big wardrobe and dressing table in dark wood to match the shutters on the window. The bathroom was huge and extremely modern more in keeping with a posh 5 star boutique hotel in London. The TV did not really work but then you are in the middle of nowhere, but we had free wifi which we used on the laptop and Iphones. No tea making facilities but they did provide us with a pot of hot water as we had are own tea bags and cups.

It cost us just under £100 for a 3 course meal including a bottle of wine, bed & breakfast which we thought was excellent value.

Dinner was in a big dining room, a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 desserts and a bottle of wine per couple, very nice and saved having to try and find somewhere up a mountain! The bed room was very comfortable, if not a little warm from the heating, with no noise from either outside or our neighbours. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, cold meats & cheese but somelovely pastries which set us up for our journey ahead of us.

It was well worth the visit and the hotel suited our requirements, we would recommend it to friends & family, especially for a stop over through the Pyrenees.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bielsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bielsa

Address: Ctra Francia s/n, 22350 Bielsa, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Bielsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bielsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bielsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bielsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.