We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clueless management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bielsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bielsa to your Saves list
Hotel Bielsa
Ctra Francia s/n, 22350 Bielsa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bielsa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Clueless management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

If you run a hotel with most rooms having great views down the valley, and you are virtually empty, where do you put the few guests that turn up? In this case, in a room at the back overlooking a scruffy smallholding. And you put those few guests in adjacent rooms, even though you must be aware that the walls are so thin you can hear every word that is said next door. I simply cannot understand the mentality. I would have asked to change but it took ages to check in and didn't want to go through the hassle for one night. It was overpriced, too. Plus points are a good breakfast and large car park. Bielsa itself is quite pretty but you'd find more to see and do back down in Ainsa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alibry
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010 via mobile

Everything seemed brand new. Very nice clean spacious rooms. Great beds, furniture and bathrooms. Excellent breakfasts with yogurt, kiwi, peaches, apples, pears, oranges, tortilla, and all the typical meats, cheeses, breads and cereal. Excellent dinners - much better than anything else we found in Bielsa. Nicest staff we met anywhere in Spain. Easy, free parking. Nice balcony and view of the mountains. 3 minute walk to the town. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritishBlueCat
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

As part of our car journey home to the UK having stayed in the South of Spain for two weeks we wanted to drive through the Pyrenees instead of the standard motorway journey.
What a fabulous route, was so easy to drive once we had turned off the main motorway from Barcelona to Lleida A2 we found that they have nearly finished building a motorway to continue from Lleida up to Barbastro from here we turn and follow the river to the ancient town of Ainsa which is so pretty, we had wished we had booked to stay here but that can be another time. Driving this route through the Pyrenees is breathtaking and plenty of places to stop and take pictures and an excellent route between Spain & France.

The Hotel was lovely, its a large grey building just set back from the main road with a huge free car park. Its a typical mountain Spanish hotel in structure run by a family I believe? A warm welcome, English a little poor but we all managed. We had a large spacious room on the 1st floor over looking the car park but with amazing views of the mountains. We had a little balcony that we could step out on to and breath in the mountain air and hear running water in the distance. The bed was two large singles pushed together which was fine, a big wardrobe and dressing table in dark wood to match the shutters on the window. The bathroom was huge and extremely modern more in keeping with a posh 5 star boutique hotel in London. The TV did not really work but then you are in the middle of nowhere, but we had free wifi which we used on the laptop and Iphones. No tea making facilities but they did provide us with a pot of hot water as we had are own tea bags and cups.

It cost us just under £100 for a 3 course meal including a bottle of wine, bed & breakfast which we thought was excellent value.

Dinner was in a big dining room, a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 desserts and a bottle of wine per couple, very nice and saved having to try and find somewhere up a mountain! The bed room was very comfortable, if not a little warm from the heating, with no noise from either outside or our neighbours. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, cold meats & cheese but somelovely pastries which set us up for our journey ahead of us.

It was well worth the visit and the hotel suited our requirements, we would recommend it to friends & family, especially for a stop over through the Pyrenees.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We booked a renovated 1st fllor room, which was fantatstic value, there's plenty of parking, great views and friendly staff, no complaints whatsoever, the room, breakfast and dinner (which was superb) inc wine came to just under 100 euros. The village is also worth a wnader into for a few beers and pretty street etc

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

We have been staying at the Hotel Bielsa twice a year for at least 10 years. This location is just a few miles from the Spanish/ French border and is a quiet and spectacular way to enter Spain.
The hotel is situated approximately 200 metres from the centre of the small town of Bielsa which is often crowded with french tourists there on a day trip.It is only 14 kilometres from the Ordesa and Monte Perdido National Park.
All the rooms that we have stayed in have large twin beds with private bathroom consisting bath/shower, wash hand basin, WC and bidette. Rooms have small balcony with impressive views whichever side of the hotel you are in. There is a lift. All rooms have a TV, telephone and air conditioning. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The management are in the process of upgrading rooms and at the moment you have a choice of the more modern Superior room or the Standard room for a few euros less - both are good value for money
There is a public room and a bar which remains open until 23.00
There is a large restaurant which has a change of menu every day. Usually the evening meal includes a bottle of wine. The menu is varied and caters for most likes and is good value for money. Breakfast is of the buffet type and is taken in the restaurant. There is adequate free parking in the hotel grounds.
Possibly the only criticism is due guests who seem to be unable to shut doors quietly which tends to echo down the corridors but this is no fault of the owners. The staff are all very friendly and obliging. The restaurant gets crowded and noisy when a coach party is staying

  • Liked — Location and value for money
  • Disliked — Noisy corridors
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bielsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bielsa

Address: Ctra Francia s/n, 22350 Bielsa, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Bielsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bielsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bielsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bielsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.