We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The RIght Balance of Heart and Art Attack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gusto Cafe

Gusto Cafe
4 Jalan Sungai Kelian | Tanjung Bunga 11200, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
048904012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 987 Restaurants in Penang Island
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
“The RIght Balance of Heart and Art Attack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I make a half-yearly pilgrimage to Penang. Will stay a minimal of a week in the island.
Naturally, breakfast is never a knotty decision - we (wife in tow), hang out at Gusto's.
Food is excellent, ambience is awesome.

We're spoilt for choice - the best part? The signature meals are parallel (in every good way) to exacting standards of world class cuisine (minus the astronomical costs associated with up-market restaurants, of course)

Gusto's exudes an aura of simplicity, yet, the quality of a sincere meal hints of a copious investment of love, care, quality and skill injected into it.

All in all, IMHO, for all my fellow travel-bugs, when in Penang, do what the Penang-ites do.
Go grub at Gusto's.
It should be in everyone's bucket list

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I go to Gusto Cafe fairly regularly for lunch, and every time I'm there it's great. I usually get the happy burger which is a great deal for RM10 with a drink. Also, the breakfast is excellent too! I recommend the waffles with raspberries and ice cream!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great dining experience, if you're an expat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We've been wanting to check out this place for a while. The opportunity finally came today (Saturday). We asked for a baby chair but were told they had only one. So we took our son to a table (the only baby chair was being used by another family).

Went to the counter to order, they were pretty flexible (we asked for hot choc instead of coffee/tea). Scanned the area and found ANOTHER baby chair, carried it to the counter so the guy at the counter could see. I carried the baby chair to our table.

15 minutes, and still no bagel and french toast in sight. Next table of EXPATS apparently had their orders mixed up, and before you know it, a friendly staff comes over to verify their order, just to make sure everything was okay.

25 minutes, and still no breaky in sight, our stomachs were already protesting. Jason (the owner) comes over to the next table to ask if they had all their orders. Mind you, they've had 3 servings at the table already whilst we had none. The expat table told them "These guys at the next table hasn't had theirs". (Even the other diners seem to have noticed we were being left out).

After the 3rd staff had checked on the other expat table, and none came over to check on us, I knew it was time to visit the kitchen just to tell them a LOCAL customer had been waiting for half an hour. Well she was apologetic, in fact, she apologized profusely - very decent young girl who was courteous and well mannered.

Food came finally, it was good. Maple syrup was really dilute though, but who're we to complain? :P

There's a strong sense they were guarding their expat clientele very well, alienating us, the locals. 3 came to check out on the expat table, none came to us. The seemingly lack of enthusiasm from the owner himself when we asked for a baby chair was a turn off.

It's a cosy place for affordable breakfast and excellent bacon. To be fair, it's a nice concept, and I'd like to see them succeed. For them to succeed, they need to take this constructively and treat guests equally.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“pork burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

went there for late lunch, almost 3pm but we were still accommodated and we had our pork burgers! yum! most places in that area close at 3pm but this place is accommodating. the cafe is nice and cozy ... looking at going back there for breakfast one of these days.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Came here for lunch on a very rainy day! Had cheese steak sandwich and coffee of the day (free refill) :) Really delicious, all the family had great meals, friendly service. Would highly recommend - will try breakfast next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Cafe also viewed

Penang Island, Penang
Penang Island, Penang
 
Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island
Tanjung Tokong, Penang Island
 

Been to Gusto Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gusto Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.