We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Beer Garden

Anthony's Beer Garden
Batu Ferringhu, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
016-428 9035
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 1,078 Restaurants in Penang Island
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Both myself and my husband visited in March this year, we stayed at the Bayview Beach resort and used to drop in on the way back from the restaurants and night markets back to the hotel.

We loved the cocktails there and Anthony was the most friendly host, he would always come and sit with us and chat and tell us all about the local area. It was interesting reading the walls as visitors used to put messages there about where they were from and what year they visited.

I would recommend this bar as a laid back place to enjoy a drink with warm friendly hosts if you read this review Anthony thanks for the good hospitality and hope to see you and your lovely wife again soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best bar in Penang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

We found Anthoy's through the recommendations of everyone on here and we weren't disappointed. It was a bit of a walk from our hotel but so worth it. Anthony was lovely and chatted to us about Penang and how much it had changed. The prices were great and let's face it drinking in Penang isn't cheap especially if you don't get out of the hotels. We singed the wall and had a great time and have recommended this bar to people that we have met while being over here. Great bar lovely people we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A genuine local bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My partner Mark found this small local bar not far from the big and ugly bars in Batu Ferringhi. Anthony and Sarah are delighful people who served us with smiles and stories about the local and the area. They are just honest and down to earth people (very hard to find these days!). These bar is not to be missed if travelling Asia. It is a true local bar.. No pretences.. no over priced drinks. I wish that these kind of bars will stay and be more appreciated. Anthony and Sarah.. keep up the good work-people like you and the bar you operate are the reasons why we love going to Asia!-Mark and Jay

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brillinat atmosphere & Cheap Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

First off its not a restaurant just a bar. but hey if your like me a liquid lunch it is then.

after arriving in malaysia we found that drinking was going to be an expensive past-time.
arriving in Penang we managed to find a little bar in Batu Ferringhi on the main road to the Hard Rock hotel. A lovely little place that all the colonials seem to hang out in. very good atmosphere very friendly and best of all cheap drink. run by Anthony & Sarah give it a look its only about a 10 min walk but then you can always get the rickshaw back if you have too much to drink. met some lovely people. Cheers Frank (a yearly colonial) see you next year

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing people, great atmosphere, lovely drinks and shisha!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

A friend any myself were only in Penang for 2 nights but we must have visited Anthony's beer garden at least 4 times. A great place to chill out, have a drink and smoke a shisha.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Beer Garden also viewed

 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Anthony's Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Beer Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.