We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing food - please don't think of it as typically Italian.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bacaro

Il Bacaro
Campbell House,106 Campbell Street | Georgetown, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
+6042618290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,032 Restaurants in Penang Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $66
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing food - please don't think of it as typically Italian.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This restaurant looks like an oasis of European excellence in Georgetown's China Town and the setting and service is excellent - unlike the food. We ate a Lamb Shank that looked and tasted like it had been prepared a long, long time before we saw it together with a Chicken Milanese with Spaghetti which turned out to be an OK Chicken Milanese with dried pasta twists and fake Parmesan cheese. The bread served was sliced supermarket white! The desert was a perfectly acceptable Panacotta. If your looking for a typically Italian restaurant where they use the freshest ingredients, cooked simply and always delicious Il Barco isn't it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will come back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The spaghetti vongole was cooked al dente which was superb. Tried the cicchetti for 6 dishes and they were lovely. Friendly and attentive staffs. Pizza however was a little too salty to our liking. Overall it was a good experience and would definitely come back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will be back for more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Comfortable and Cozy. Friendly and Attentive staffs. Great place to dine and relax with family and friends. Tried the Tiramisu with a hot cup of Illy cappuccino. Two Thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Ate here three times, food was good and service. Had one slight disappointment on last night when we chose the recommended wine from the 'Specials' board, which was shown as 75 ringgits and seemed a good deal. However, when we came to pay they charged us 95 ringgits and when I queried it they brought out the Specials board showing the price at 95. They said it must have been smudged when I saw it but I'm certain they changed the price. Surely if a wine is on 'Special' it would be cheaper than the normal menu price? They said no, it was only to recommend it. I paid the bill but felt slightly cheated and annoyed that they seemed to suggest I was mistaken, when my wife and I both saw the price at 75, as that is why we ordered a bottle. A little honesty would not go amiss and if they had made a mistake they should have stood by the price shown.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Judging from the stream of customers coming in on a rainy Sunday nite, Il Bacaro must be doing something right!
Hosts were very welcoming, promptly seating us and after taking our drinks order, were quick to introduce the nite' s specials. They also offered a variety of different sauces than the one on the menu when we said we are looking for a gnocchi dish. The 4 cheeses homemade gnocchi was lovely as was the fall-off-bone lamb shank.
Overall I wud say Il Bacaro is a relaxed and comfortable ( quiet n air conditioned ) place for a good meal at reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro also viewed

Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Il Bacaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bacaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.