We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed The Environment, Not The Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces

David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces
Lot 400, MK 17, Daerah Bart Daya | Strawberry Hill, Bukit Bendera, Ayer Itam, Penang Island 11300, Malaysia
604-828 8337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #511 of 1,078 Restaurants in Penang Island
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed The Environment, Not The Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had our brunch in this restaurant during our family trip to Penang Hill. It is located at the top of Penang Hill, somewhere near to the cable-car station. There are both indoor and outdoor seating, however, I guess nobody will choose the indoor. We enjoyed the cool air (although it was around 12.00noon) and nice view at outdoor seating. There was a waterlilies pond in the middle of the garden. The best thing was we could sit down on the bench facing to the sea and enjoy the panoramic view. The food is a bit expensive and not so delicious. Don't expect too much on the food. Visit there if you want to have a tea break during your trip to Penang Hill.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    20
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Night out in penang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The view from the restaurant is spectacular especially at night. Food was just ok for that price range but service made up for it. Recommend this place to all visitors who want a nice relaxing evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One grill, raw food, bad service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I will never pay to come here again.

I went here for the buffet dinner in early July 2012. There were two grills, but for some reason, only one was in service. There were two cooks at the one, tiny grill trying to cook no less than seven different types of food - chicken, lamb, beef, prawns, squid, sausages and fish. Variety sounds good right? Think again. The poor cooks are so flustered and inexperienced. The line stretches on FOREVER. I had to wait half an hour in line only to get raw food because the cooks are trying to cook all seven types of food at the same time. I felt a little bad for them, but then, I saw them drop raw food into the charcoal and then put it back on the grill. It happened several times. I was there half an hour, I saw.

Aside from the barbecued stuff, there are only four other hot dishes you can eat - white rice, some dry tomato-based spaghetti thing, roasted vegetables (that really were burnt to the crisp) and another white-sauce dish with peppers that was probably the best thing on the menu. Oh, there was soup, but they ran out of the original french onion before dinner was over. The pastries were alright, to be fair. Service was terrible and some of the waiters would pretend not to see you when you waved at them.

The only good side to the whole dinner was the ambiance. It has a nice garden and a pretty pond. And, being on a hill, it's cool, though it's too far from the edge to have a good view. The whole experience was really disappointing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju-do, South Korea
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Worst dining expeience of our trip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family took a trip to Penang Hill today and made the big mistake of stopping to eat at the first place we arrived at - David Brown's.

The setting is superb - a lovely garden with a stunning view. When we arrived and felt the atmosphere of the place we thought we were looking forward to a special lunch.

We ordered the afternoon tea for 2 and our kids wanted to share a Steak and Mushroom pie.

The food took quite a while to arrive, and there weren't too many customers around - but it came eventually.

The afternoon tea was awful. A few poor salad and egg sandwiches, a small plate of fruit that looked well past it's best, a coiple of slices of poor apple pie and 2 scones. A fellow reviewer on TA described the scones as the best you can get - trust me, if you're like me and you're used to Scones of the "Devonshire Cream Tea" variety - don't touch these. They were really bad.

The pie was an open steak/mushroom filling with a puff pastry crust sitting on top. The meat was dry and chewy, the gravy luke warm and the mashed potatoes cold.

The tea accompanying the cream tea was also very very poor.

In summary - a great view, a lovely garden, awful food, a terrible pot of tea and all for a shade over 200MR.

My recommendation - don't visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible food +service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

After reading in our local paper (w.a) a great review of this restaurant just before we left,we decided we would head there for an awesome meal. We made a booking and were told it was buffet on Sunday nights. As the train left late on weekends decided we would go for buffet. When we were seated we were promptly seved chilled water, then waited for at least 10mins before we had to ask if they had wine beer there. Two of us shared bottle wine, we had to refill our glasses ourselves, nobody seemed want serve us. The meal we thought we be a fabulous spread what a disappointment. One soup to choose, then 3 hot dishesthen BBQ of lamb, steak prawns squid, with a tiny bowl of salad. Sweets consisted of dry tasteless cakes with ice cream.
The price u pay for this below par meal is over the top. When we were getting our money out to pay, there was six of us, two of the staff were looking at us and appeared to be laughing at us, very unprofessional.
David Brown if you exist please come back and show them how it's done.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.