We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, hotel centrally located in Georgetown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Penang Rd., Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 93 hotels in Penang Island
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, hotel centrally located in Georgetown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in December whilst on a family holiday (2A + 2 teenagers). We found the hotel to be in a good location right in the heart of Georgetown. A walk up Penang Rd and you find some good market stalls. There's a night food market almost next door but don't waste your time because the food was below average. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful :-) The in-room wifi was fairly expensive and the breakfast was very average. All in all it was a good hotel, in a good location and reasonably priced considering we were there during the Malaysian school holiday period. The swimming pool was in sun all day long.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are huge, higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    47
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
24
27
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Big group-hotel, central located opposite the Discos on Upper Penang Rd.
Many families with kids coming from K.L. or Singapore for the weekend or during school holidays. Pool is often blocked in the afternoon by classes of young people or families with kids.
Rooms are spacious, have Flatscreen-TV, but very limited programs (no BBC or CNN only CNBC). Tea+coffe making are free of charge. Small breakfast buffet is incl., but almost every day the same choice.
But don’t get blinded by the nice rooms (i.e 18th floor) with seaview!!! since they have a big disandvantage:

Starting almost every day at about 10:30p.m. (sometimes at midnight!) extremly loud disco drums from a Discoteque across the street will disturb your peace and your sleep till 3:00a.m. (earplugs essential!! but help only a little to protect you from the noise). Disco is used mainly by locals, making additional noise at night by using their motorbikes. Police is acting like a toothless tiger, not even entering the ground of that disco to protect people when also loud trouble (drugs?) in/or out of the location takes place.
If you stay longer than a night in a sea view room, you only can ask at the reception to escape for the night to a quiet room facing the city side, because you will definitly not get any sleep and of course can not sleep with an open window.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel nice ! very quiet place ,Staff very friendly and helpful. and my favorite the coffee of this hotel (very tasty coffee) . but poor wifi of the hotel .Hope you can fix this problem as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is centrally located. The normal rooms are ok but we asked for an upgrade, so we got a room on the 18th floor which was cleaner and way bigger than the first one. The view was stunning, especially during the night.
The service is fine. They are helpful at the reception but the wifi is not free of charge unless you are not in lobby. They also have a swimming pool which we did not use but others did.
The breakfast is average. Not awesome but defo more than average. They offer a buffet and at different stations you can choose between cereals, rice, noodles, eggs, fruits and soups. Unfortunately they discarded their coffee machine, therefore, you can not make yourself a cappuccino any longer, but can only get brewed coffee.
Anyone doing a visa run, check in to this hotel, it is quite nice. I will defo return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After check in, and found out that is missing towels in my room. I call to room service extension. They told us the room confirm have towels, it should not be missing. In different way, they is saying the towel is STOLEN by us! We argue for half and hours than they just give us the towel, this is wasted my time back to hotel for rest !!!
At midnight, i heard someone is trying to open my room. When open the door, i saw a room services Indian guy wan to open my room. I say happen, that Indian guy told me, he want change the room password, but i don't think they just wan to change the password for door access, this should be done before we enter this room and not in bed time doing. I was not sleep on that night, very unhappy on this service and attitude of the worker and staff at here. One more thing, toilet tissue finish, they request us to buy the tissue paper from them, and i ask this is not should be in the hotel for each room? Why i need to pay when the tissue is finish!!! very disappointed on this Hotel, NO!!! is BADLY than a MOTEL!!! Please if someone want to book Hotel, please don't book for this HOTEL, and a lot of Indian people in this Hotel. Thank you. (Sure you will disappointed and sad when u at here)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed 3N from 12-15Oct13. The hotel is very clean. Very helpful & friendly staff. All kind of foods & pubs within walking distance fm the hotel. Nice view. Madhouse & Super crowded with tourists at reception & breakfast area. Buffet Breakfast is very basic but quality of Penang Standard is there. WiFi not stable. Free parking at multi-storey carpark, well-lighted & clean carpark. Overall, value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor has a very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel from the 8th Sept to 12th Sept with the whole family.....
The room given was a Family Room and perfectly fitted the "Family Troop" we had 2 Queen
beds in the room, which served us Great!!! The morning break fast we were given four coupons and this serves us great eventhough the breakfast was simple but fine.
I do think the management of the Hotel could do with giving the real Good Cereals fr bfast.
Most important the convenience of the area, as its directly in the city Center. we can drive or just walk to the nearest Food Court about 100 meters away. Well Penang has got a great flavour for stall food variety and this can be tasted in any of the food courts. We would usually head to sungai pinang food court. The evenings we would eaily take a drive to any of the restaurants or malls.
Hotel room we had kinda of faces a little bit of the sea front from the side which was good for a view ......
I believe the room carpets do need a change as it looks tired.......
Overall we had a Great Stay at his Hotel and i believe if we have to stay in the city this hotel will once again be the choice

Room Tip: I believe higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 5 Penang Rd., Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 hotels in Penang Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Pulau Penang
Hotel Continental Penang, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.