We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Penang Rd., Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 93 hotels in Penang Island
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

For me,the price very reasonable. I thought that the room not nice for RM128 per night. I'm quite shocked when entered the room. Very nice and clean plus they have bath tub in the bathroom. My daughter very excited about it.

We got a seaview room. I told my hubby that I can't believe it we got a cheap room in Penang town. At first we just checked in for 1 night because I want to look at the room condition. But,after saw the room,we extend for another night. The room price including breakfast for 2.

They also have friendly and helpful staff. Credit for them. They also provide carpark if you travel by road. Very nice,cheap and strategic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    47
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
24
27
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you want to be at the heart of Penang, this would be one of the hotels to stay at. In is nearby loads of eateries and entertainment outlets. The Hotel is basic and would be great if you are not looking for 5 star experience. Breakfast is pretty ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in super deluxe room good for family and good breakfast as well as location was also good overall value for money for the price paid for the stay in george town. overall great with small pool on 6th floor as well

Room Tip: rooms on higer floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A friend was at The E&O, just 3 minutes walk away from the Continental, and this was more my price range! Just remember this is a budget hotel review: so my 4 star for service is not the same as her 4 star at the E&O. Mind you I did find the Continental staff friendlier!

Really friendly front desk staff, helpful with maps and transport ideas. My room was quiet; sure the furniture was shabby, but it was clean and quiet. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. Room 804 overlooked the Blue Mansion and the pool. Basic, but quite decent buffet breakfast.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room so was happy the request was met.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for a night to attend a convocation at E&O Hotel. A very simple and nice hotel to stay in the heart of Penang island. Room is big but since this is an old hotel, the furnishings are quite old as well. Not dirty but could use a makeover. Reasonable price and simple and good breakfast.
Would recommend and stay there again :)

Room Tip: book online as its cheaper and u can request for non-smoking etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed there with wife and 9 yr son in Nov 2011, has read about the location and review beforehand. The location is really good, on the cross road. our room had a view to the open sea.The colonial part of the town is all around the hotel and you can walk down to these places. The famous food joints are very near,( infact behind the hotel). The stay was nice

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms with view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Georgetown where almost all the attractions are just nearby. I love that its close to excellent food havens like Sup Hameed and the Red Garden Food Paradise. We always stay here, for 3-4 days every 3 or 4 months, coz we use to tag along with hubby who is overseeing a store in Queensbay. I noticed that they have changed quite a few things, like the carpet, the frontline reception and the buffet setup on the first floor. Its just that everytime we stay here, we always eat the same food for breakfast. There is nothing new, except for the chefs making fresh omelettes but apart from that, its the same old. The management should try to change the menu at least every other day, otherwise it becomes so boring eating the same food, especially when you stay for 3 days or more. Overall everything else is okay. Hope that the management will look into this matter. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 5 Penang Rd., Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 hotels in Penang Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Pulau Penang
Hotel Continental Penang, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.