We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Nainital..!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elphinstone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elphinstone Hotel to your Saves list
Elphinstone Hotel
Mall Road, Nainital 263002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Nainital
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best location in Nainital..!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in July 2011 (sorry for a delayed review) when it was not a peak season in nainital. However, Elphinstone hotel is undoubtedly the best located place in nainital. Its on the mall road and facing the naini lake. One can see the entire lake, surrounding hills, famous temple and a big part of mall road from this hotel. One of my friend who was working in nainital that time booked the room for me. I reached the room early in morning. that time the entire lake and mall road was filled with clouds and i could not even see that there is a beautiful lake in front of my room. But after taking a power nap and getting ready, when i opened my room window/ gate, my mouth wide opened to see the beautiful scene in front of me. My room was on the top floor and provided a awesome landscape view of the entire city. Market is at 5 minute distance. Room was good at the price they charged for the top floor rooms which are bit small. No complaints with service also. Can not comment on food as i took all my meals outside except tea/ coffee which were good and timely provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I found this hotel with big rooms and facing to Lake. The hotel is bit old type, but still very nice. One can avoid having food there and walk down to near by good restaurants. But the location and ancient British touch of the rooms are unbeatable.

Room Tip: Choose Corner upper floor rooms which are Lake Facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I visited this place around 2009 June. Warm Services of the staff, good food. Spacious Rooms Balcony facing the lake. There could be a problem with the hot water one day. But overall it is an excellent hotel within your budget.

Room Tip: 1st & 2nd Floor with Balcony, spacious living room and a spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The room turned out to be a suite, a large bedroom with a spacious bathroom and a dining room with sofas. Ours was on the top floor, with a great view of the lake. Service was always prompt and friendly, the rooms were clean. The furniture are old, but that seemed to add to the charm of the place.

My only complaint is that the quality of the food served was not very good at all. Even the eggs at breakfast were not done right, and the coffee was stale. It's best to eat outside.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is located right at the most happening location in Nainital...yes its located in Mall road and right infront of the Naini lake...Location is just perfect if you wanna enjoy the lake view...The rooms are really pretty big!!Though its not high end hotel still provides fulfills basic requirements..Service of the hotel is quite good...Hotel has travel desk as well to assist for arranging local sight seeing tours..But I feel this service is priced on higher side..so go to mall road where you will get the same tours in much cheaper price...Have a nice trip:-)

Room Tip: Opt for Deluxe rooms located on first floor for better lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited this hotel along with our 2 children (< 7 yrs) from 29th Sept. till 1st Oct '13. This place is really wonderful from family perspective.

Specialty:
1) The location of the hotel is excellent. 100 mtrs walking distance from bus stand. Rickshaw stand & boating stand is just adjacent to hotel. Restaurants are pretty closely by.
2) The hotel has a beautifully managed lawn outside the rooms, which gives plenty of play area for children to play. Kids really loved this area,
3) The tables kept in this lawn area, where you can enjoy your breakfast / lunch / dinner facing the lake and relishing the weather & scenic beauty of the lake
4) Few steps only to climb to reach the hotel, which is a great savior, when you return back after a hectic day. Also away from the noise of mall road.
5) Rooms are good, well maintained, spacious compared to small rooms of other hotels.
6) Staff pretty courteous & helpful.

I would say, its a complete value for room rent paid to hotel. Family will really enjoy at this place. Would definitely come back to the same hotel once again, whenever I return back.

Thanks,
Nitin

Room Tip: We stayed at room 6, which is excellent as lawn is right outside this room, and also saves climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, INDIA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

En route to Himachal visited Nainital, Almora, Ranikhet. Stayed in the majestic Elphinstone, grand beauty with massive rooms. Simply awesome, scenic beauty eye boggling around you. Lake atmosphere simply splendid. Panoramic view all the ways from the hotel exterior, lawn.

Guys simply drop in and take a small trip around the place. Visit hilltop, explore the massive lake, the beauty of the atmosphere will make you simply lost in paradise.

Just drop in and enjoy.... Really.. Incredible India !!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lawn side rooms, coz its simply awesome and fresh air with splendid front view of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elphinstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Hotel

Address: Mall Road, Nainital 263002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elphinstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elphinstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.