We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wedding to Remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shervani Hilltop

Save Saved
You added Shervani Hilltop to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shervani Hilltop
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mallital Hilltop, Nainital 263001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 hotels in Nainital
New Delhi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wedding to Remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We celebrated my brother's wedding at Shervani Hilltop, Nainital, in April 2013.

Both families are from Delhi, and had agreed to organize the wedding in Nainital, away from the maddening traffic, long commutes and heat of Delhi. We and some of our friends and family had stayed before at Shervani, and since the hotel was closest to our requirements in terms of rooms and facilities, we settled for the place.
In retrospect, it turned out to be a very good decision.

We stayed for four days, and had booked all the thirty rooms for about 2 days in the middle with around half the rooms for the first and the last days. All the meals were served in the hotel, and our guests really enjoyed the varied spread during the entire stay. The food at the hotel is all cooked in house and their bakery presentations are something to die for. Breakfast in the mornings under the sun and shade of the outdoors was the most enjoyable meal for almost everyone.

On the Cocktail Night the barbecue was awesome and the live singer added much to everyone’s entertainment with old Hindi numbers and some English ones as well. Arrangements for the Sangeet had to be shifted indoors, because of an unexpected hail storm in the afternoon, but the guests enjoyed every bit of the evening. The wedding night was magical with the splendor of lights on the trees, a dark star-spangled sky and the cool, brisk air of the evening. The warmth of the bonfires, the taste of local Kumaoni cuisine and Choliya music added more charm to the celebrations.

The staff and management of Shervani Hilltop exceeded expectations on all counts.
The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable, with efficient housekeeping.
On the service front, not once did any staff member of Shervani refuse any guest request. They always ensured that even if it was not their job, somebody else came and serviced the request.
Small things like the ironing rates were very reasonable, much lower than what we had expected, and so nobody had to think twice about such things.

The kids made full use of the well maintained games room, toddler's area, and well kept lawns. And the guests also made use of the regular shuttle service between the hotel and the Mall road.

Shervani helped the families coordinate all wedding arrangements for the jai-mal stage, the mandap, dance floor, et al.

All in all, it was the perfect wedding destination and we would highly recommend Shervani Hilltop for their hospitality, professionalism, and attention to detail.

Harshita & Gautam Gupta

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Sir,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

The entire team at the Hotel is thrilled to have such a kind review from you.
It is heartening to know when the efforts that the team makes are appreciated by the Guest.

I thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience with us.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
Team Leader
Team Shervani Hilltop Nainital
05942-233800
nainital@shervanihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    110
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
165
78
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent Food. Class hospitality. Having best man-resource. If you want to open Hotel business just visit and stay and learn how to run a hospitality business.

Reminder: Few blocks needed renovation as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Try to get your rooms in new blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

The entire team at the Hotel is thrilled to have such a kind review from you.
It is heartening to know when the efforts that the team makes are appreciated by the Guest.

I thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience with us.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
Team Leader
Team Shervani Hilltop Nainital
05942-233800
nainital@shervanihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were a group of 40 people just stayed for three days on 9-11 aug'13 can't wait to write one review. The best place if you want to relax, awesome food quality, THE BEST waiters and helper always willing to help you, kids had their own room which had many many many games and also a pool table but it should been have RS.100 for 1 hour, they were charging 100 for half and hour. Buy not to be fooled by the other resort, it is the best. Very quite, peace away from mall just 1 km so NO NOISE AT ALL.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

The entire team at the Hotel is thrilled to have such a kind review from you.
It is heartening to know when the efforts that the team makes are appreciated by the Guest.

I thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience with us.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
Team Leader
Team Shervani Hilltop Nainital
05942-233800
nainital@shervanihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Shervani during Aug 2012. The hotel is very good and is located around 1-2 km away from mall road. The place is peaceful and is away from the busy mall road. Food is extremely good and the service unparalleled. I will definitely stay again. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

The entire team at the Hotel is thrilled to have such a kind review from you.
It is heartening to know when the efforts that the team makes are appreciated by the Guest.

I thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience with us.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
Team Leader
Team Shervani Hilltop Nainital
05942-233800
nainital@shervanihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are a family with 2 small kids and had stayed in Shervani Hilltop, Nainital in May 2013. We had chosen the hotel after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor, but saw the following shortcomings which are not expected from a hotel charging so much...
1. Some renovation paint work was going on in the hotel during peak season of May. Our room was allocated close to renovation work area, whereas we had specifically requested to not do so as we have a 8 month old infant with us. This request was not met. Further more during our stay, we had complained several times against noise made by people doing work just out side our room. No action was taken then also. There was absolutely no privacy left in our room with labourers working out side throughout the daytime.

2. The rooms of the hotel are very small for such a hefty money being paid to them, The bathroom fittings are also not well maintained.

3. They held programs every evening with loud music. Again this was close to our room and we were forced to be awake till the program is over to take some rest because of the loud announcements and music.

The hotel definitely has well maintained garden area with nice joy rides for children. The food spread was average.

All in all, I would not recommend a stay at this property. You will get much better options at their price.

Room Tip: Please do not take rooms on ground floor. They don't have any concept of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Siddharth Balsaria



Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital!


We are sorry that you did not find our property value for money. Shervani hilltop takes pride in its service, beautiful garden, food and our prices are kept in consideration with our expenses. We have different sizes of rooms with different prices as our website mentions the same with photographs. Yes we knows the period you stayed in our hotel renovation was on and may be some dust was found near the toddler room. Please be aware that about renovations we had displayed in our website as well as all main areas of hotel.

We are surprised after reading your comments on the portal which is just opposite of your comment which you have mentioned in our guest feedback book at the time of c/out which is as following:-

“Very good property .Excellent maintenance and courteous staff “

We take great pride in our service and we believe that because of our service we have won the TripAdvisor 2012 year end awards for the top 10 family destination in Asia and top 5 family destinations in India.

May-July is our peak season in Nainital and as a result our packages sell at a premium. During Monsoon season (July-Sept) our packages are much lower than in the summer. We hope you give us another chance to host you!


Thanks & Regards

Gopal Datt Suyal
General Manager
Shervani Hilltop Nainital
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had booked two premium rooms for a family vacation in June '13 for 5nights & the entire trip was professionally handled right from the starting on the time of booking the sales manager Mr Ritesh took care of all our requirements in coordination of GM of the hotel Mr Syal who took equal interest & lived up to his promises till the end of the trip.The hotel is at a altimate location with well maintained &comfortable rooms . The menu served in buffet during breakfast & dinner was well planned by the chef with a vast variety specially the live counter & mouth watering desserts . Mr Bisht the FOM even insurred that all guest were well attended.There were numerous activities which kept all of us entertained even when it was not possible for us to go out due to heavy rains.
The ferry services for the Mall visit were well executed. A big vote of thanks to Mr Shervani whom we met during our stay for managing beautiful property by a team of professionals.

Room Tip: Premium rooms Room no.104 , 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

The entire team at the Hotel is thrilled to have such a kind review from you.
It is heartening to know when the efforts that the team makes are appreciated by the Guest.

I thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience with us.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
Team Leader
Team Shervani Hilltop Nainital
05942-233800
nainital@shervanihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

As always Nainital is the most preferred destination for vacation due to its proximity and lovely weather, and in Nainital Shervani Hilltop clearly stands apart the rest of the hotels. I have stayed in this hotel for all of my visits to Nainital and will continue to do so. The hotel staff is a lovely team lead by Mr Jeevan Bisht. Food is simply superb, anything and everything the chef prepares is just excellent, specially the chocolate mousse in the deserts which was by far the best mousse i ever had. Even the pastries served on the second day were absolutely delicious. We tried almost all vegetarian food be it continental, north indian, south indian, chinese etc etc and everything was perfect.
We stayed this time in the hill view rooms which have a huge terrace just outside the rooms. The location of the hotel on the top of hill gives a lovely view of the mountains. the weather was cloudy with occasional showers and was perfect to enjoy the view from the terrace. the hotel runs complimentary drop and pick to the mall road which makes it very convenient to travel to the market.
Overall full credit to Mr Jeevan Bisht to maintain such a beautiful property and continue to give high quality services to the guests. At the end special thanks to the staff for taking the extra effort, actually my 2 yr old son was not well and we had to get some medicines late in the night, the staff reacted immediately and sent one of their team member to get the medicines for us. I really appreciate the quick response and support i received.

Room Tip: hill view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

The entire team at the Hotel is thrilled to have such a kind review from you.
It is heartening to know when the efforts that the team makes are appreciated by the Guest.

I thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience with us.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
Team Leader
Team Shervani Hilltop Nainital
05942-233800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shervani Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shervani Hilltop

Address: Mallital Hilltop, Nainital 263001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nainital
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
#2 Family Hotel in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shervani Hilltop 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shervani Hill Top has been recently renovated, and upgraded into a 47 rooms garden resort spread over 3 acres having the most beautiful terrace garden and lawns in Nainital. Rooms are spread out in the form of cottages, each cottage having 8-10 rooms with a veranda where the guest can sit out and enjoy the beautiful hills all around. Shervani Hill Top is 2 kms away from the Mall Road, well-located, yet away from the maddening crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shervani Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shervani Hilltop Hotel Nainital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shervani Hilltop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.