We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pavilion to your Saves list
The Pavilion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near High Court | Mallital, Nainital 236001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Discount
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Nainital
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A very good property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Me n my friends we checked in on 10 may at first it was ok..but as we settled in the staff was very good n polite. Ready to help at any time. At first we had a balcony facing room which was ok but next day we shifted to garden facing room which I would recommend to take.food there at hotel was good .
Bakers hut much hyped place but yes the ambiance pleased me and n food was good.
I short the property was very good a cozy place to be with a fast service what else a traveler wants and its not that far from the mall road.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    27
    7
    14
See reviews for
87
27
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for a night. Excellent location, far away from the hustle bustle of the mall yet so close to it. The staff was very helpful and ensured that there was prompt acknowledgement of all our requests.overall a good stay and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing such positive words, they are very motivating and encouraging. Our forte is our service, we try to make our guest feel at home and have consciously tried to keep Pavilion simple and maintain the old world charm of the place. I am glad you loved your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Located next to high court, rooms are old but huge in size...service is fairly quick and we had 1 waiter allocated to look after us and earn some tips...Overall they were quick in their meals.

The hotel rooms are pretty old and worn out...hence expect very average comfort..Toilets were not clean and overall hygiene needs significant improvement. If you are looking to save money and will spend most of the time outdoors then you may consider this as an option...it is an uphill walk to the hotel from Mall Road (almost 20 minutes)

Room Tip: Try to get rooms next to the lawns as they are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for taking time out to write your views on your stay at The Pavilion, well we are a heritage budget hotel though a very highly rated one. I have seen plenty of our guests enjoying the ambience of the place and spending a lot of time inside the hotel with their families, with the space and gardens and the children's park inside the hotel. Now with Baker's Hut also in the premises guest our guest can enjoy a great cup of coffee inside the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were searching for some good cookies in Nainital during our stay & got suggestion from locals about BAKER'S HUT in Hotel Pavilion. The cookies and coffee to our surprise were fantastic & fresh. The quality of products and atmosphere were awesome in BAKER'S HUT. Satish Mehta, Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing such positive words for Baker's Hut. We do not use any chemicals and preservatives in our bakes and try to keep them as fresh as possible. People are slowly waking up to this quaint coffee shop and are appreciating our efforts. Thanks, we wish to see you soon again at Baker's Hut and The Pavilion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Considering that this hotel has a good reputation on many of the websites, I opted for this hotel but it turned out to be the worst mistake of my life
I went there for my honeymoon and it was spoiled in every way possible
1. Water supply is not regular 2. There is no AC in any of the rooms 3. There is no fan or tubelight in my room 4. Chairs were weak and fragile 5. Glasses on the doors were broken 6. Food quality is very bad 7. Staff has no courtesy and were very bad in behavior 8. Hot water outlet was slowest 9. Hot water is only available till 11am

After complaining about this issues I dint even receive a sorry.
I hardly think they care about my feedback, but guys please be aware.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for posting your views on The Pavilion, also its very worrisome that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We try and give the best of services to our guests our other guest vouch for our services and keep coming back to The Pavilion. Nainital enjoys cold to moderate weather throughout the year so almost all the buildings do not have AC's or Fans. Infact we do not have one in our own place, its not required here. Yes hot water is available between 7-11 in the morning and thats the hotel's policy to keep the selling price low which benefits our guests in the end. We wish you a very happy married life and are totally apologetic about your experience at Pavilion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

very nice place to weekand food is excellent great whather natural sorunding.loketed hart of naniital each room with a view of grate himalayas.“Nainital's Best”This Hotel is the Best Hotel in Nainital. Anybody can spend maximum time in property with family and friend

Room Tip: all room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for taking time out and writing such kind words about The Pavilion, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at The Pavilion for 5 days and 4 nights from 13th to 17th of April 2014.

The Background: For our family holiday, we were scouting for a hotel/resort in Nainital, we choose Shervani Hilltop (only because it was rated as #1 by tripadvisor), as it was a last minute booking, we did not get two rooms for 5D/4N with them. We therefore choose The Pavilion that appeared to have embodies all the attributes of the hotel we were looking forward for, they offered us two Heritage Suites for 5D/4N.

The Location: We were interested in staying at a hotel away from the hustle and bustle (and pollution) of the city yet at a walking distance from the "Mall Road". The Pavilion offered us the same, it's at a walking distance from the "Mall Road" and is opposite "High Court". With strong police presence all the time in the vicinity (at the high court), this perhaps is the safest place in Nainital.

The Property: It's has a few old buildings with renovated/modernized interiors and exteriors. Though it can't be compared with five star hotels you won't feel the pinch of not having those luxury attributes. In all, its a good property which is being maintained well. This hotel also has a few moderately maintained lawns/parks with options for kids to play and options for adults to unwind. Heritage Suites offer nice view of the tree laden mountains and the front garden from their balcony.

The Service: One of the best thing was their service, we were hosted by Mr.Ramesh who did his best to make our holiday memorable, apart from his service obligations he extended personal care when a family member of ours went ill. Their staff always had smile on their face and were willing to extend help to their guests. Housekeeping was quick to act on request, they appeared to be honest and well managed.

The Food: Through our stay, we enjoyed various Indian cuisines, they were all delicious and felt like food prepared at home. Chinese food wasn't that great but wasn't bad either. Their bakery was excellent, it offers a host of options for avid foodies like us. We tried both the buffet and the a-la-carte options, all of them were equally good, their dinner buffet offered two course meal with moderate options while breakfast offered several options. Staff at the restaurant (headed by Mr.Ramesh) conveniently served the buffet at the table making it feel like availing a-la-carte option.

The Missing Pieces of the Pie:
- WiFi is available at the Cafe and not in the rooms, it could have been better if the same could have been made available in the rooms.
- There's no indoor/outdoor swimming pool. Though most of the hotels in Nainital don't have one, it could have been altogether difference experience had the Pavilion offered a Swimming Pool (however small it could have been).
- No bath tub. There's not much of a hassle if there's no bath tub, having one makes you feel good.
- No hot/cold air conditioning. Nainital is always cold, the hotel therefore provides Heat Convectors in all the rooms. Their windows have provision of automatically circulating fresh air because of pressure difference. Rooms don't feel suffocated at all. A fresh gush of air fills the entire suite in no time once the exhaust fan is switched on.

The Impression: We have just returned from our holiday with great memories, The Pavilion has great contribution to the same. We would like to thank them for living up to our expectations and wish them all the best.

Final Remarks: The Pavilion is a nicely maintained and conveniently located property offering great Indian cuisines and excellent service.

Room Tip: Check if your balcony gets enough sunshine (in-case you plan to have sun bath or if you would like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing such a positive review, its wonderful to know that our guest enjoy the ambience of Pavilion. We have tried to maintain the basic hill station hotel feel in the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed it. We personally think that food defines and hotel and I am glad your enjoyed our food also. and lastly thanks for sharing such great snaps of the hotel. Thanks and I know we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: Near High Court | Mallital, Nainital 236001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pavilion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion is a family hotel situated in the heart of Nainital. With its parking area, children's park, activity room and open spaces and spacious rooms it is an apt hotel for families and people travelling in smaller groups and also for solo travelers. We have tried to maintain the old world charm of the hotel which was originally build in 1880 and was run by Mrs Pert as a tea parlour. We are proud to run a hotel which had evolved into a landmark which is loved by all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Nainital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.