We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal holiday resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pavilion to your Saves list
The Pavilion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near High Court | Mallital, Nainital 236001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Discount
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Nainital
Delhi, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal holiday resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Do visit Nainital and stay at my favourite hotel, "PAVILLION". Nestled in the hillside, it is a gracious ancestral property, owned and run by the Shah family.
Spacious rooms and modern bathrooms, tasty, well cooked food, prompt and courteous service by their friendly local staff, make for a pleasant holiday. There are lawns in front to relax and laze around as well as a recreational room for children. The hotel is a little away from the main town but not too far for a short exhilarating uphill climb, or a ten minute drive by car which you can park comfortably in their large parking area.
The staff at the reception can advise you on local tours. You can also go for walks in the wooded area above hotel.Nowhere will you find this ambience and these kind of facilities in such a reasonable budget. RENU JOSHI

Room Tip: I prefer a room at the inner side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ma'am,

Thanks for taking out your precious time for writing such a wonderful review. We have tried to keep The Pavilion as a simple and easy hill station hotel. We personally believe in giving value for money experience to our guest and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping to seeing you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    27
    7
    14
See reviews for
87
27
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was awesome . We stayed there for four days . It was little bit far away from mall road n naini lake .Location was very peaceful .The open terrace provide a good view of the natural beauty. They have good space for parking cars. The room was good n the hotel staff was very co operative n helpful . The food was excellent . They serve delicious food . Over all this is a nice place to stay !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking out your precious time and writing a review. We have had so many happy guest but few make the effort to actually write. I am glad you enjoyed you stay at The Pavilion. Hoping to host you again in your next trip to Nainital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Pavilion is one of the nicest place to stay in nainital... had a wonderful vacation there. location is perfect and i guess weather made it icing on cake... :D loved the hotel.
Awesome rooms and great service... and beautiful location.
i loved my stay...
Looking for another trip.
cheers !!! :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Its always a pleasure to know that our guest enjoyed their stay in our hotel. I hope to see you soon in The Pavilion. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

i went there with my 6 months old daughter,. food was just excellent. dinner buffet was good too. waiters were very helpful, they really helped me for taking care of my child :D..they were very friendly. i would like to go there again.but it is a little bit far away from Mall Road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

I am glad you felt secure with your little one in our hotel, as it is a family run hotel we have tried to make it a kids friendly hotel with the open spaces and children's park and a small activity room. Plus the staff has been instructed to be as gentle as possible with the kids( actually it come naturally to most of us). We are now in the process of adding a small bakery cum hang out place in the premises I hope you will enjoy that in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is located few minutes away from the Nainital lake and mall road. The open terrace provides a good view of the mountains. The quality of Indian food was really good. The hotel also had a recreation center which was not up to the mark.

Overall, I would rate this hotel as good in the budget segment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing in, I am glad you enjoyed most of our services. About the recreational centre, actually we were in the process of converting that space into a small cafe, so now with the cafe coming up the activity centre will also get an uplift. That generally happens to transitional spaces. So basically I am hoping that in your next visit you will have a cafe and a better activity centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in Delhi for a short vacation and decided to drive up to Nainital over the weekend (31 May-2 June) and I must say, we made a good choice by staying at The Pavilion. A beautiful property overall, The Pavilion has, to a 'city' born girl like me, a very hilly kind of charm - serene, cool, homely with a touch of grandeur. For the four of us, the Family Room was perfect! The rooms, including the washrooms, were very clean. The hotel staff was helpful and also very polite. The food was excellent! Non-vegetarians MUST try their chicken/mutton curries. Although it is from a little distance from Mall Road, the quiet seclusion from the hustle bustle of the market makes for a peaceful holiday! A must visit!

Room Tip: Try and choose a room facing the garden-side, excellent space to enjoy a cup of 'chai'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking out your precious time and writing about our hotel, I am glad you like your stay at The Pavilion. We look forward to host you again in The Pavilion. Thanks for your encouraging comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel booked thru' MakeMyTrip was a good, clean colonial-type property, with decent rooms, prompt and efficient room service, excellent food and very affable & hospitable hotel staff. It is situated a bit distant from the main Mall Road and shopping area, and becomes a bit strenuous for senior citizens and physically weak persons. Though a "welcome drink" was required to be provided at the time of check-in, this was over-looked! Sufficient parking space is provided at the rear for vehicles and accomodation for drivers is also provided.
All-in-all, a great stay at the Pavilion.

Room Tip: Front facing with verandah are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing such a encouraging review for PAvilion, I am extremely sorry for the welcom drink, we do have process to make sure services reach the guest on time, but somehow sometimes these things happen. Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. But I am sure you will give us another chance to serve you better.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: Near High Court | Mallital, Nainital 236001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pavilion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion is a family hotel situated in the heart of Nainital. With its parking area, children's park, activity room and open spaces and spacious rooms it is an apt hotel for families and people travelling in smaller groups and also for solo travelers. We have tried to maintain the old world charm of the hotel which was originally build in 1880 and was run by Mrs Pert as a tea parlour. We are proud to run a hotel which had evolved into a landmark which is loved by all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Nainital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.