We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Somerset Lodge
Save
You added Somerset Lodge to your Saves list
Gahana Orchards, Gahana Village | Mukhteshwar, Nainital, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 81 Nainital B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Home away from home at 7500 feet. Nice large rooms built in Colonial times , interior is done in mist wonderful manner. Place has a library, a surround orchard, small water stream and most delicious food served by a very courteous staff.....

Room Tip: Please ask for suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new delhi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I Wanted to visit Mukteshwar & finally made it in last week of jan 2013 along with my family was friend's family .The Somerset lodge is excellent place to stay if u wish peace & tranquility with great homely food,place to stay like olden times , high ceiling British time home .with beautful gardens well decorated lawns ,From front lawns u can see a
Annapurna range, that's Nepal side ,rooms are big & spacious Their library & tv room was hit among our kids,they occupied it & had grt fun,even we stationed ourselves in evenings ,yes cold chilled evenings with our evening tipple.Breakfast was great got whatever we wanted ,lunch again was delicious like home ,dinner non veg was excellent.The owner Mr.Raju was always keen to help along with his a very knowledgable Col.Sharma froim Delhi gave us quite good tip,.evening bonfire was great every night. Since the lodge is eco friendly hot water was available in after noon when solar heater worked,it would be very beneficial if geysers are provided so that tourists can have hot water. thats the only downside but overalll a great place to stay i would go again and again, for more adventerous they have chalets down , a trek of abt 800 mts passing through village .For day visit one can go to Chauli ki Jaali & ancient temple & Ivri institute,& Pwd guest house one can see whole panoromic view of Himalayas.....do visit this place you will love it

Room Tip: Main building is grt to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited Mukteshwar in Oct 2012. It was a perfect time to go as flowers were in full bloom and the weather just right, on the colder side. We loved the resort the moment we entered. It has a big garden in the front which gives a good valley view and plenty of sunlight till 12-1 pm. The flowers bed all across the walkway and the garden makes it look very beautiful. It felt like your own home in the mountains with a library and a garden with breakfast served right there in the morning. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. Our package was inclusive of all meals. Mukteshwar being non commercialized doesn't have many options to eat out when you go for sight seeing. Our best experience was hot lunch served at the waterfall, prepared and carried by the staff to the sight with all the crockery and condiments. The rooms are average though, and perhaps old construction but otherwise neat and clean. Food and service were really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mukhteshwar is one of lesser known destinations in Uttranchal but is spectacular with its wide 200 mile view of the Himalayan ranges starting from the Kedardome to the Annapurna. Somerset Lodge is a great place to stay with a super view of the hills and valley. Very nice people to take care of you and Raju Mehra has great knowledge of the flora and fauna.

Soak in the sun or laze around in the library or choose to hike up a trail all the way to IVRI .... undisturbed peace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Somerset Lodge is actually what one of the reviewers described - "hidden gem". Located just about 2 kms from main Mukteshwar, Somerset Lodge is a beautiful resort with a quaint charm to it. It might be something to do with the fact that the house was originally made by the British, and so the architecture reflects it - 10 ft high roof (or maybe more?), thick walls, fireplace, the works! The room we got were huge to say the least, it had 2 bedrooms and a small quarter, possibly for those traveling with a servant. The rooms have a back-door opening into the dining hall. Added to all this is the homely charm to the place - never for once did we feel we were staying at a hotel. The whole place is done up beautifully with plants (the owner is a sort of an expert in botany). One special mention would be the library room - me and a friend spent one whole afternoon, soaking up the novels and excellent collection of fiction available. The experience was undoubtedly one of the best and puts Somerset few notches above any of the other resorts around Mukteshwar. A kilometer down the road from Somerset is another property owned by the same owners called Oak Chalets. The approach path was a bit of a challenge especially given that we had kids with us but the location was no doubt unbeatable. If you are looking to spend time watching birds chirping, the clouds rolling, the rains pattering, and with no particular agenda in mind, not even TV (since the rooms don't have a TV), then this is the place for you. A beautiful location for catching up and spending a weekend with your family and loved ones.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our stay at The Somerset Lodge, in Mukteshwar, has been so far the best in the hills. This 98 year old colonial cottage has within it to boast the charms of the colonial era. Built during the British era this beautiful lodge has everything to offer and not the slightest ambiance of a commercial hill station hotel. The rooms are large, airy and the high wooden slanted ceilings take you back to the nostalgic feeling of once the founder owners of this property. The rooms are decorated with artifacts and little decorative items. Has a small cosy library with books to keep almost everyone busy from kids to elderly with wide ranging topics. A small garden with a swing facing the might Himalayan ranges can keep you busy looking at them for hours. The best place about this place is that you have nothing to do but relax and rejuvenate from the hustle bustle of city life. Though you can visit the nearby Mukteshwar temple atop the hill dedicated to Lord Siva. Also you may walk up to the "Chauli ki Jali", a jarred rock face jutting out with a deep fall below of a several hundred feet. Views of the valley below, the yonder hills with the towns of Almora and Nainital can be viewed from here provided the skies are clear and not overcast with clouds. Returning back to the lodge after a day's trek up the hills, and you are welcomed by team and pakoras. The staff is very warm, friendly and always ready to serve you with a smile. The owners of this property Mr. Raju Mehra and Mr. Manoj Mehra (whose a keen high altitude trekker ) are the most hospitable hosts, and will make sure all your needs are well taken of. They will personally take care of your every little interests and comfort. They have a sprawling orchard of various fruit trees like Apricots, Apples, Plums, Peaches & Pear and you are welcome to go pluck a few and feel the experience of eating them straight off the tree with the 100% freshness. A 20 minute downhill climb takes you into another lodge called the Oak Challet. This is a small yet comfortable lodge within the wilderness where you can feel yourself to be a part of nature without no one to disturb you apart from bird songs and the ecstatic humming of the cicada. I encourage everyone who reads this review to go visit this lovely haven once and feel the truth in every word what you've have just read.

Room Tip: Opt for the main rooms as they open up to the garden and unobstructed view of the Himalayas and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Somerset is a hidden gem in Mukteshwar. We stayed in the old house/cottage for 4 days. It is quite well maintained. If you are traveling with small kids or elderly family members it makes sense to stay at the old house (there is a 2 room cottage also, which i believe are recent additions as compared to the old house). Its a charming house with an old world air about it. The garden and the collection of flowering plants is quite impressive. Food is very homely and tasty, enjoyed all the meals.Staff is very polite and helpful. There is a small library with a nice collection of books on varied topics. It was a very relaxing stay but never a dull moment. Very good place for kids, lots of space to run around. We went for walks around the property and through nearby villages. Special thanks to Mohit for the walk. We also had the opportunity to bite into the fresh fruit from the orchard. Overall a memorable stay for all the right reasons, would love to come back again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for solitude stay at the oak chalet...which a short downhill trek from the main S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Lodge

Address: Gahana Orchards, Gahana Village | Mukhteshwar, Nainital, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.