We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worries here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mazeta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Mazeta to your Saves list
Casa Mazeta
1a Calle Oriente and 2a Avenida Norte. | Juayua, Juayua, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No worries here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I spent 4 nights relaxing at Casa Mazeta in Juayua. The hostel strikes the rare balance of providing a chilled-out vibe while also providing quality service. I had a comfortable stay & got plenty of good rest. The garden is beautiful! Be sure to make this your base for exploring Ruta de las Flores.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
37
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went to Casa Mazeta for a two night visit and stayed two weeks. I loved everything about the hostel. It is a great space and has lots to offer to it's guests. There is a wonderful garden it just breathtaking. There are hundreds of DVDs available to watch on the big comfy couch. It was easy to find tours and set them up for my time in town. Wifi is the best I have had in all my travels. It is easy to get around on the busses and visit other towns. Daren the owner is beyond awesome and treats you like family. I was truly in love with this hostel and did not want to leave. The surrounding town was really cute and food festival was so good! I will travel again to Casa Mazeta. It is my #1 hostel from all of my travels!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamazeta, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hola tu ! Thanks a million for your kind review. Hope you manage to visit again someday, and maybe we can even fix you up for a real ´Lucha Libre feminina en baño de lodo´, next time
around !
Abrazos and thanks for the extended stay. It was great having you and the other guys here for such a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Knowledgeable and amiable host Darren welcomed us as if we were old friends--with a (complimentary) drink, of course! After our hostel experience at Casa Mazeta (6 bed dorm and 3 private rooms), we've come to appreciate the advantages of a shared (large/well equipped--clean!) kitchen, spacious chill out area (large lounge/sofa for video movies/reading/whatever), and dining area--we had been staying in apts/condos/hotels/B&Bs. The verdant garden attracts an assortment of birds and butterflies--the dogs, Lippy and Chiquita, are affectionate and only too willing to accompany you on walks around this friendly town. Darren has traveled widely and also owned a hostel at Playa San Diego, near La Libertad. Besides the obvious weekend food fairs, ask him about excursions to local attractions--you won't regret it. We stayed in both the en suite rooms--in the main building and in the garden--each has its advantages. For drivers, there's a proper enclosed garage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamazeta, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Once again thanks for the review, but even more thanks for choosing to stay with us so long. Glad you could feel so at home in our little casita ! I will remember our long chats late into the evening, with ice cold beer in hand, for a very very long time. People like you make owning a hostel such a worthwhile venture.
Safe onward journeys, wherever the road leads you. Look forward to meeting you again one fine day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I arrived here to stay for 1 day end up staying 1 week. The hostel is amazing, really clean, BEST kitchen ever, fully equipped and you even get fresh herbs from the garden, how nice! They have the best lounge area inside on the living room, with a huge couch for everybody to relax and watch a movie after the big food festival, and lots of places to play games, chat or eat together. Good place to meet people, beautiful garden and really good ambiance/vibe. The staff is amazing, Daren will tell you all about EL Salvador as well as Gordo, Raquel is a sweet girl, and Carlos is the best Guide ever! Here you will feel at home leave...

If you want to visit the waterfalls go with them, very professional, with the equipment and a really good tour to do here. They have different tours for everybody with really good prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having spent 10 months traveling in Latin America we were surprised to find one of our favourite hostels in Juayua. The hostel is is beautifully decorated with a lovely garden with lots of little areas to relax in and a huge and well equipped kitchen. As there is only space for 12 people there’s lots of room to chill out and enjoy the atmosphere. Darren, the owner, could not have been more helpful, he made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable and was a fountain of information, not just about the local area but the whole of El Salvador. The ‘7 waterfalls trip’ Darren organises is well worth doing (Carlos the guide was great) and it’s extremely easy to use local buses to see other nearby towns. The curry night was brilliant, it felt like we’d popped around for dinner with a friend and we were in love with the dogs. We could easily have stayed for longer (we were there for 4 nights) and would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Coming to Juayua on our second day in El Salvador, I wasn't sure what to expect. What I got was a really lively town with a weekend food festival that attracts a lot of local tourists and many foreigners ( although I really only saw a few of those). Casa Mazeta was well known enough forme to ask directions and very well placed in town. We stayed two nights in a private room with private bath. I didn't ask who decorated the place, as the current people have been managing since October 2012, but the whole garden and inside is decorated by an artist's touch you can tell. Our room included a small patio type area that was glassed off from the room and included a lion head fountain as decoration. My husband said it was like he was looking at roman ruins.
Darren, the manager, knows how to chat and make people feel welcome. We decided to go on the six hour hike to see the seven waterfalls and he was keen enough to see if the other four people that were staying wanted to go too. This was nice as we met some nice travelers and it lowered the cost for all of us.
I was especially impressed with our guide, Carlos, who easily managed to get all six of us safely down some tricky rock area and down a waterfall, as well as answering any questions we had about coffee farming and el Salvador's history. He also saved us from certain bee stings by hearing a hive way before we did and re routing us up and away. It was a great adventure ending at the swimming hole at Los chorros.
Casa Mazeta was nice to relax and play games (they had cribbage and boggle!) and meet friendly travelers up for getting spontaneous pupuseria dinners. Plus, they have two sweet pups who will walk with you around town and make you feel like a local :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamazeta, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Fantastic review, I thank you ! Especially glad to see mention of Carlos, our excellent guide. He really does work his boots off. Always, always looks after everyone, making sure they are comfortable on the whole hike, and extremely knowledgeable about all the flora and fauna of the area. This one is definitely for Carlos ..... we both appreciate your time in putting together this review.
Saludos de todos aqui en Casa Mazeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Even though we selected this property in the very last minute, it turned out to be one of the best on our way, and for a number of reasons...
Juayua is definitely worth visiting once you are in Salvador, regardless of what you are interested in: you can find anything here. And Casa Mazeta is a perfect place to stay once you reached Juayua.
Having spent 3 weeks in Central America, we were sooooo glad to find at least someone speaking English :) It's unfortunate we haven't had much time to talk to Darren, as he has a wealth of info to share. The village and its surroundings are so captivating that we were busy throughout the 2 days, and coming back to Casa Mazeta we were rewarded with the overwhelming feeling of being at home. It feels in every detail, and although there's nothing fancy about the facility itself, it's a very good value for money, too.
Don't miss the "6 waterfalls tour" - it's a blast! Just ask Darren. We were lucky to be the only 2 people on this tour as we have received a personalized service.
Bringing home great memories...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mazeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mazeta

Address: 1a Calle Oriente and 2a Avenida Norte. | Juayua, Juayua, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Juayua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Juayua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Casa Mazeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mazeta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.