We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante R & R

Restaurante R & R
Calle De El Arte, Juayua, El Salvador
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Juayua
Cuisines: Central American
Description: Chef Carlos Careres creates unique entrees combining talents learned while studying in Canada with his El Salvadoran background. We ate at his restaurant, as recommended in Frommer's guide, and it was the best meal we had bar none in El Salvador. The steaks were perfection as was the chicken. He is very creative and incorporates many of the local flavours - one of the steaks was prepared with a coffee rub (Juayua being a coffee growing town). Carlos speaks excellent English and is incredibly hospitable. Our whole meal was delicious and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Juayua. Also of note, it was one of the least expensive restaurants we visited while in El Salvador!
Restaurant details
Description: Chef Carlos Careres creates unique entrees combining talents learned while studying in Canada with his El Salvadoran background. We ate at his restaurant, as recommended in Frommer's guide, and it was the best meal we had bar none in El Salvador. The steaks were perfection as was the chicken. He is very creative and incorporates many of the local flavours - one of the steaks was prepared with a coffee rub (Juayua being a coffee growing town). Carlos speaks excellent English and is incredibly hospitable. Our whole meal was delicious and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Juayua. Also of note, it was one of the least expensive restaurants we visited while in El Salvador!
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is wonderful very creative. The food had very unique flavors. It's a nice change from the typical salvadorean dishes. It's my favorite Resturant in this small beautiful town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Juayua and R&R - Perfect Compliments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our stay in Juayua was full of good surprises. The people and town are both genuine and accommodating. The entire experience at R&R was appropriately indulgent. The ambiance and food were reflective of El Salvadorian/Juayua culture. From the beginning of the progressive meal, the eclectic salad stole the show. The entree salads were unique and incorporated local fruits and flavors such as: Fresh Guava Marmalade, mango, dried pineapple, Platanos, Cucumber and avocado. Our Main meals were equally as infused with El Salvadorian infusion. The chefs ability to bring out the flavor in vegetables and fruits was specifically impressive.

The staff were delightful! After the meal, Carlos, the head chef, came to our table to welcome us. Instantly, we felt right at home.

If you are anywhere near Juayua, paying Carlos and his team a visit is a must!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Creative dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Appetizer salad was great. Other dishes were also tasty. The staff is friendly. We didn't get to meet the senior chef

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“uuumm not as good as the reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Although the owner seems like a really nice guy we found the food uninspired. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely place: very good food and a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is an incredibly good restaurant for such a small town. I've been travelling down from Mexico for 4 months and it's one of the best restaurants I've eaten it. The steak was very good and perfectly cooked with imaginative and well presented sides. It is pricey comparatively- butt very good value nonetheless. The atmosphere is very nice, out waiter was sweet and attentive and the chef came to check that we were enjoying our meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante R & R also viewed

Juayua, Sonsonate Department
 
Juayua, Sonsonate Department
Concepcion de Ataco, Ahuachapan Department
 

Been to Restaurante R & R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante R & R, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.