We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shower in central America!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anahuac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Juayua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Anahuac
Save
You added Hotel Anahuac to your Saves list
1A Calle Poniente y 5 a Avenida Norte, Juayua, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best shower in central America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in in my time in central America. I had only planned on staying one night to go to the food fair and waterfalls but stayed longer as it was so lovely and there is plenty to do in the area.

Highlights:
- amazing powerful showers with both hot (like actually hot!) and cold taps in all rooms
- proper solid beds with nice mattresses in the dorm room
- lovely courtyard perfect for relaxing in
- opportunity for guided trips in the region. I did the Laguna Verde one which I highly recommend. The 7 waterfalls got rave reviews too. Guides were lovely and I think they always use the same group of brothers
- Patty & Maria were super friendly, fun and helpful. Cesar and his wife who both speak english weren't around as much ( I understand they have a small baby) but cesar was very helpful and available on the phone if needed.

The kitchen is tiny but well equipped and they have cheap water refills. Breakfast was delicious!

No complaints at all about this place :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
45
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is exactly where you want to be! The lovely garden / courtyard with hammocks is a perfect place to spend time relaxing and reading. The breakfasts are delicious and a great price, or you can use the small kitchen as you wish. All the staff and the owner are incredibly kind and helpful, and the owner speaks English. It's so comfortable and inviting! Loved it!

Room Tip: The best room is #6, with double doors that open onto the courtyard, allowing breeze to flow through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is amazing..the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and we felt so taken care of. Maria is the sweetest woman in the world...we love you. You will not be disappointed. It is super clean and the owner Cesar is incredibly helpful and generous. So far my favorite place in El Salvador.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder bay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff at this Juayua gem go out of their way to make your stay the most comfortable you´ll have while in El Salvador. A combination of spotless private and dorm accommodations make the Anahuac a great spot for the budget to midrange taveler although those with higher budgets would not be disappointed by the private rooms.

This hotel offers a large breakfast at an additional charge and has a kitchen available for your use should you choose to run thru the market only two blocks away.

Take a few moments to appreciate the local art which hangs on vertually every surface.

Room Tip: Any of the private rooms are a good choice but if you like to sleep in keep your shutters closed les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

For anyone looking for a hostel in Juayua, look no further than Hotel Anahuac. It's a fantastic little hostel that has a great setting in the cute town of Juayua and located in the heart of the Ruta de las Flores. The dorms were nice and clean, the wifi good and the garden was a great place to chill out with other people in the mornings and evenings. If you don't believe us, just read the great reviews in the Lonely Planet, Footprints and other guidebooks. What makes the hostel standout is that it provides and organises lots of tours and excursions to do the things in and around Juayua. An added bonus is the hotel owner Cesar who is incredibly friendly, funny and a born and bred local who is happy to share his insights with you. We were a group of 5 travelling from London and all highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the garden room which was decorated with delightful artwork. The hotel is clean and pleasant, the staff is wonderful. Friendly knowledgeable, and efficient. We also enjoyed Cesar's coffee tour where we learned to appreciate good coffee.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in February and at first did not know what to expect for $25/night for 2. We had never stayed in a hostal before and are more used to mid-range accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised with the place. Our room was basic with real hot water, clean and the staff were incredibly friendly and took great care of us. They also served up a great homemade breakfast for $3.50 including coffee.

We stayed in room #4 which was pretty quiet. We liked the guest kitchen where we made some great coffee and stored our drinks in the fridge. Appreciated the use of their PC to go online for free, since we don't travel with any wifi devices.

Located close to the main square, a short walk gets you to the ATM, Food Festival and Market, Super Selectos grocery, buses and many restaurants.

Special thanks to Maria and Gisella, you ladies are wonderful at customer service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anahuac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anahuac

Address: 1A Calle Poniente y 5 a Avenida Norte, Juayua, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Juayua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Juayua
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anahuac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.