We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place buy some failings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bebek Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Bebek Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Bebek Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua do Zezito, 251 | Camburizinho, Sao Sebastiao, State of Sao Paulo 11600-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 109 Sao Sebastiao B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant place buy some failings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a hotel for weekend couples. We stayed four nights to relax at the end of a Brazilian holiday. The first night was very quiet, the Friday and Saturday full and by Monday it was deserted again. We stayed in a small chalet style room which was attractive and they are arranged around a very nice garden with a swimming stream as well as a pool. However, our first room smelt of urine and we were moved to another. Elsewhere there are somewhat grim looking rooms but we never saw inside these.

We looked into a non-operating spa on the first day. Did not seem a very relaxing place and smelt of damp. The hotel operates on the beach at weekend, with sunbeds, parasols and a man selling drinks. Food orders are taken and prepared at the hotel and served on the beach. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the beach but they do have a shuttle golf cart to help if you want it. Good service.

Enjoyed the breakfast. Not a huge selection but enough to be interesting and nicely presented. Dinner was fairly dull but you can find other restaurants nearby, including both smart and basic ones. Would not eat there again.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Service was excellent all round.

Set aside the smelly room this is a nice place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santos, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The place is well located and the friendly staff is always willing to help. Ten minutes to the beach, Villa Bebek holds a very cozy environment for any couple's trip: the swimming pool (that although looks quiet bigger in the picture than in reality) is interestingly "river-like" designed and creates a nice natural environment in the hotel common bathing area, furthermore, its "Asian spa" themed décor improves the stay. Also, the proactive measures took by the efficient staff overcome the difficulties of the hotel apparatus, as during our 3 days stay, we had to be moved twice from rooms due to: absence of hot water in the shower in the first and moldy/muddy smell on the second room (not to mention the rotten DVD cable and missing light spots). Overall it is very good, would definitely be rated excellent if not by the price, since the cost make you expect a larger resort by the shore with better equipment.

Room Tip: Best option would be to choose rooms labeled "Bebek II". They come with queen size double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here based on good score on Tripadvisor, and we were not disapointed. The start was troublesome because we tried to get help from the hotel to get transportation to the place Camburi. The receptionst only spoke portugese and we don't. But to others, rent a car and you have a nice trip along the coast from Sao Paulo ( 2,5 hours). The road into the hotel looks bad, but once you get there it is paradise. It is bungalow style around a very nice pool, a bit Bali. The rooms are small but nice in a shabby-chic style. The breakfast perfect with fresh juices and fruit, good coffee. This is not an egg and bacon place if you need that. The drinks like Capirinha and Mojito are perfectly made. The lunch and dinner options are italian and very good but maybe a bit pricy. Except for the language barrier, the service is very good. A 10 minute walk bring you to a beautiful beach with blue azur water, long sandy beach, a fresh water pool in the middle generated by a small river and some days very good surfing waves. The small town has some dining places, most of them pizzerias. There is a pharmacy and the traditonal beach shops and a book cafe. Basically you can stay here a week and just enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were quite disappointed being informed that the hotel was under maintenance on Thursday in June;
We felt that due to lack of guests, management has decided not to "open" the hotel (when we called for the reservation, it took them 10 minutes to inform us about the unavailability);
It is a pity....

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

I was told about this great place by a work colluege that lives in Sao Paulo. After looking at the website we decided although expensive it looked quite nice & booked. It was the correct decision. Great location, really nice staff & good food if you don't fancy heading out to one of the nearby eateries.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calbin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We did not stay the night at the hotel but spent a rainy day at the spa. It was wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the cleanliness and atmosphere of where I got my manicure and pedicure. They didn't use sanitized tools and the salon room was not very clean or comfortable. However my massage was wonderful! She had very powerful hands and worked out all the aches and pains that I was feeling. The best part of our whole experience was in the hot tub room. My husband and I reserved an hour in the hot tub room which was lit by candles and had rose petals scattered around it. The water had a scented oil that was very aromatic and left our skin very soft. They even brought us some drinks to enjoy. Very romantic! I would definitely do the massage and hot tub again but would avoid anything to do with the salon.

The grounds of the place are utterly beautiful, peaceful and relaxing even if it isn't right on the beach. The trees and vegetation make it a nice retreat. If we didn't have a beach house in the area we would definitely consider staying here. The rooms looked very clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreBetti, Owner at Villa Bebek Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Calbin,

Thank you for your feedback. We take very seriously any critics and remarks in order to be always improving our services. I respect your opinion and I felt very sorry about learning that you have had such perception of our services at the salon room. At that day, specifically, we were attending a wedding ceremony in which we were taking care of the braid, brides maid and some of our guests. You were one of the last person to be attended at that day and probably the salon was not as it used to be. We also thank you for your remarks on the massage and the therapeutic baths.
I would like to say thank you one more time to help us writing this review and we hope to see you around soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at Villa Bebek and had a truly relaxing and wonderful experience. The amenities are unbelievable - the swimming pool looks like a river and was surrounded by palms trees, flowers, and bushes. There's a gym, sauna and a lot of nice things to do.
The restaurant serves a very good breakfast, lunch, and dinner and the drinks are well made, we suggest to try the tomato juice or the Blood Mary by the pool!
Every member of the staff we met was very helpful and gracious.

We plan to return as soon as possible!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreBetti, Owner at Villa Bebek Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Luciano,

Thank you for your comment and you can be sure that we will keep doing our best to fulfill yours expectations. We looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,
Alexandre Betti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Bebek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bebek Hotel

Address: Rua do Zezito, 251 | Camburizinho, Sao Sebastiao, State of Sao Paulo 11600-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Sebastiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Sebastiao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Bebek Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a good hotel, the beauty of a luxury resort and the charm and cosiness of a little cottage were all combined, making Villa Bebek one of the best escapes in the area.The 28 suites, restaurant and SPA were built around inspiring landscaped gardens, making the beach not the only option to our guests.This is Villa Bebek: unique in this concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Bebek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bebek Hotel Sao Sebastiao, Brazil - Sao Paulo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bebek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.