We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Nicholas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saint Nicholas Hotel to your Saves list
Saint Nicholas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gouvia, Gouvia 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Cambridgeshire,England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute and for a good price so wasn't expecting much.However the hotel exceeded our expectations. We were self-catering and our room was fantastic and very spacious. Air-con was included within the price so this was great (was very hot). Pool was brill, and surroundings perfect, very peaceful and friendly staff. We didn't eat at the hotel much, only for lunch which was Ok. The beach was pebbles so we stayed by the pool everyday. Only downside is steep hill to walk back up after you eaten down in the restaurant areas, however I was keen to get abit of exercise anyway!! Altogether a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was very spacious to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

From the very first night to the last, the St. NIcholas hotel was one of the highlights during my stay in Corfu in June of 2012. The hotel itself is up on a hill overlooking beautiful olive trees and is in a quiet, relaxing location, not too far from the town but far enough as to not be disturbed. The rooms are emmaculate and as well as the pool and restaurant. The one thing that struck me most was the staff. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful. There was always someone around to answer my questions and make sure my stay exceeded expectations. The family who owns the hotel not only opened their doors but their hearts as well, giving a new meaning to the famous Greek hospitality. I look forward to my next trip to Corfu and, without a doubt, will be returning to St. Nicholas!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were there on June 2012 and we liked Corfu so much that we extended our Vacation for four Days. The Hotel is on Top of a Hill with great view to the surrounding lands. The rooms are big and clean (they were cleaned daily) with a great balcony,The pool and the gardens were magnificent. The Staff is very friendly and obliging. The Hotel can provide you with a rental car (has also a big parking area) und organizes Trips (ex. Paxi/Antipaxi Islands). This cozy Hotel exceed all our expectations!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in St.Nicholas in April 2012.
Our friends had recommended us this hotel for its quit location,beautiful surroundings and spacious rooms and we were so happy to find out firsthand that they were so right!
With its beautiful gardens and hundred-year-old olive trees,a swimming pool and away from the traffic,it can guarantee you a relaxing holiday!!
The staff was really helpful and the service was excellent!!
Will definitely recommend it to our friends and will book again!!

Room Tip: The garden rooms have direct access to the swimming pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Hotels in Greece can vary somewhat even within star ratings; Saint Nicholas well exceeded our expectations. The studios are extra spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. The pool and the gardens magnificent; The Taverna by the pool open all day serves delicious food mostly homemade. And the pool bar is indeed a great treat.

Overall a great hotel and a great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Having been in Corfu for 5 times already through travel agencies and tour operators, this time we had decided to do everything ourselves and the use of the internet. So we searched in all places we knew for different options and during one of our searches we came across this lovely hotel. (By the way and having read the comments from other guests displayed here I should mention that we booked directly through their online system and faced no problems at all.)

Our usual holiday is for 3 weeks but having not stayed in Saint Nicholas before we decided to just book one week and extend our stay if it met our wishes. And what a pleasant surprise; Not only it met our wishes but exceeded all our expectations.

The hotel itself is located in a very peaceful location, its gardens magical, and the pool is huge with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. As for the rooms so very spacious for a 3 star hotel.
And the people running the hotel are just exceptional. Amazingly welcoming and going to that extra step to satisfy their guests.

It took us only 2 days to decide that we wanted to spent all our 3 weeks at the Saint Nicholas so on day 3 we made all the arrangements.

We had the best stay ever and we consider Saint Nicholas to be our home away from home.

We will be back in 2012 for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolaos M, General Manager at Saint Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Serge!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and most of all thank you for all your comments.

All our family and team is looking forward to welcome you both to your home in Corfu next summer.

THank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

We have returned to this hotel for years in June. We are always delighted to go back. The hotel is situated over the hills of Gouvia just outside Corfu town. They have a lovely garden with olive trees and lots of flowers. There is a steep 5 min walk up hill from town but you are rewarded when you get there. There is a restaurant serving lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. The rooms are spotlessly clean and they have a basic kitchen if you feel like preparing a meal.There is a large pool and even a small babypool.
If you are looking for a relaxing time in beautifull setting this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNHotel, General Manager at Saint Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Tina
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel. Much appreciated. We do hope to have you the opportunity to welcome you again next season..
All the best
the Saint Nicholas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Nicholas Hotel

Address: Gouvia, Gouvia 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gouvia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Nicholas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the hill of Gouvia, hidden away in an olive grove estate is set the family run Saint Nicholas Hotel. Surrounded by perfectly manicured gardens with ages old olive trees and an eclectic mix of original grandeur and modern touches is the perfect getaway creating a truly unique and authentic Corfiot Experience. A laid-back retreat in the midst of the island’s sun-baked countryside, BUT only 300m away from the heart of the village of Gouvia and just 6km away from Corfu Town, one of Unesco’s Heritage Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Saint Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicholas Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Nicholas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.