We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Govino Bay Apartments Gouvia Corfu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Govino Bay Corfu

Save Saved
You added Govino Bay Corfu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Govino Bay Corfu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gouvia, Gouvia 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Gouvia
lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Govino Bay Apartments Gouvia Corfu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Unfortunately we went to Corfu in October which is out of season, so lots of shops, restaurants, clubs, bars were closed! However with the economic climate as it is, you could actually see that many places had been closed for a long time, not just because it was end of season! Our apartment was clean, well equipped, spacious, there was an upstairs to it which sorted out the sleeping arrangements nicely. The bay was just 50 mtrs from us, the pool was about 70, both in view from our window. Reception staff were pleasant, but the shop and bar/restaurant were closed so I cant comment :o( The big supermarket is a good walk, but worth it . lots of choice, take a trolly bag if you can, you'll need it for water if nothing else! the garage over the road has a few bits and there is a delightful cake/bread shop down the street. a short walk takes you to Gouvia beach where there are bars and restaurants , if they're open! we ate in Bella Mama a few times as the food and reception were fab. Number 7 bus takes you to Corfu Town for 2Euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The park is spacious and green, and the grass field by the bay is nice. The bay itself cannot be recommended: it smelled, and the water was anything but clear. However, there was a swimming pool nearby for a dip in clean water. Beware of the tiles around the pool though, many were broken or missing, and I hurt my foot quite badly. The apartment I had was downright awful! OK, it was spacious, but the decor was early eighties, with lots of (red) plastic, stains on the sofa, and a bathroom in desperate need of renovation. The airco probably also dates back to the eighties- it certainly wasn't up for the job. Couldn't get the temp to go below 26 degrees, even at night. Probably worst was that I did not have a balcony or terrace, even thought I had asked for one. So I couldn't sit outside at all.
Gouvia itself is nothing to write home about - little more than 1 long busy street filled with hotels, restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops. In fact, it seemed that there were too many restaurants for the # visitors, which is a plus since it means you'll always be able to get a decent table and good service. Tip: restaurant Leon (the avocado/crab starter is to die for!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We both really enjoyed our seven day stay at this resort. The staff were helpful and charming. The pool and grounds were superb and the apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean with excellent views from the large windows.
Within the property is a very good restaurant called Yummy Yummy run by Casandra and Domitri who provide a vast choice of meals from 8.30am through to 2am (18 hours). Be sure to take something for bites as there are a few mosquito's in the area. We were very pleased that at this resort there was no one to hassle us with timeshare purchase.

Room Tip: Higher appartment have lots of steep steps so not good for troubled legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was the ideal place for the 6 of us to base ourselves for the bank holiday weekend. We got a villa (one bedroom - 2 single beds) and 4 single beds upstairs. A kitchenette, lounge and bathroom made up the rest of the villa. We used it to sleep, have some pre-dinner drinks and a quick change after a day of sightseeing. The pool was great (as a first dip post plane), but our group definitely needed to see more beach action than the pool provided!

I'd also say they were super accommodating. We accidentally booked from the Friday to Sunday - but we arrived on the Saturday. Without charging us extra for our mistake they managed to find us a new room for the two nights and were really relaxed about it. They were within their rights to charge us an extra night for the no-show but they didn't and I really respect that! I'd say this is perfect for groups of friends or families to use as a base (as long as they are ok to share the pool).

Room Tip: Only thing is the air-con didn't travel particularly brilliantly to the upstairs but I could sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

we went second week in october,everything closed,pool bar was closed all week,shop was closed,in brochure it said distance to beach,beachfront!there is no way anybody would swim in there!full of seaweed and rubish!and certainly no sand! we had to hire a car as our 7 year old daughter was looking forward to playing on beach!good job we did as in gouvia there was only to restaurants open!and had to drive to other side of island were we found nice deserted -( beach! couldnt even buy an icecreme as (end of season)as a bucket and spade (end of season)?? why still sell holidays there? but on a positive note appartments were very nice and beds,towels were changed everyday,and maids very friendly -)not done a review before!!but just wanted to let u know dont go in october!as (end of season) !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The beach was awful. Muddy bottom and it´s more reminiscent of a Swedish boring beach. At the pool, it was a lot of rules that limit children significantly. Poor sunbeds around the pool and unfortunately dirty on the ground. Expensive to get to the finer beaches or to Corfu Town.Large heavy traffikerad street just outside the area. However, it was nice big rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

Apartments were spotless, good air conditioning in living room but none in bedroom, so was comfier to sleep on sofas. Very basic kitchen but all you needed if you planned to mostly eat out. Maid service every day with clean linen and towels.
Mini Market had quite a good selection.
Hair drier in bathroom did not work and after we reported it, still wasn't fixed, which was a bit disappointing !
Pool bar a bit expensive for anything other than beer, snacks quite good.
If you have kids, or you are an adult that likes having fun at pool then don't come !!!!! This was the only thing that was really bad at apartments. The blonde, grumpy, never smiled lifeguard, relished in telling people off for using inflatables, diving, moving chairs !!! She was a horror, so on a Sunday and after 5pm, it was fun for everyone as she was off !!!! It was like a pool party when she left !!!
Guests have to complain to company about this, I am certainly going to, cause apparently in govino bay, lifeguards ain't needed after 5 or on a Sunday, pathetic really

But it did not spoil our great holiday !!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Govino Bay Corfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govino Bay Corfu

Address: Gouvia, Gouvia 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Govino Bay Corfu 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Govino Bay Corfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govino Bay Corfu Gouvia
Govino Bay Corfu Hotel Gouvia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Govino Bay Corfu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.