We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 372, Gouvia 49100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gouvia
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous family resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing family holiday, it exceeded my expectations completely and even my fussy husband was very happy with the quality and choice!

The reception staff were very fri and aendly and accommodating to all our requests, from getting us taxi's into Corfu town to changing our beach towels and reserving our courtesy room at the end of our stay. They were ver attentive to the children and genuine smiles were readily given.

The bar staff were busy and sometimes not as agreeable as others on the resort, but I guess they pick up plenty of issues from demanding guests. However, we were always served promptly and politely, the drinks were not strong, but when you have alcohol available most of the day, the last thing you want is drunk people around your children! So that was not a problem in my opinion!

The food was heavenly, the choice and the variety of local dishes was amazing and we all enjoyed the wonderful presentation and taste, there was not much repetition and there was something to accommodate everyones tastes. We also ate at the Asian restuarant twice and enjoyed the experience and the variety of food on offer.

The family room we had, 360, in the new block was lovely, cleaned daily and really freah as well as quiet.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear guest,

We thank you for visiting the Louis Corcyra Beach with you family and for your comments.

All your comments are much welcomed! We are glad that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff members as well as the quality and the variety of the food on offer all day long.

It is a pleasure to see that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in one of our Louis Hotels in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    386
    115
    31
    13
See reviews for
528
423
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in the third week of August as part of a cruise and stay option ( staying first , then cruising on the Thompson Spirit in the second week ). As a cruise and stay hotel it met our expectations .

Our room had a seaview , we were booked in the main part of the building where rooms had been refurbished and we were not disappointed. Rooms were spotless , had adequate space for three people ( 2 adults and a child ) although we did not have a family room. Storage space was also good , bathroom was a good size, air conditioning worked perfectly, in fact we had to turn it up to a warmer temperature as we got cold in the night. Beds were extremely comfortable and the pillows we had were amazing - the softest I've ever experienced in any hotel. A minor point to watch out for is that the bathrooms have an emergency cord in the bathtub. This should normally haver a sticker placed over it explaining its purpose. Ours didn't and our daughter pulled it as most curious children would do and we ended up getting a stroppy phone call from the receptionist on duty at the time implying we were irresponsible parents. However, we did point out that this was the hotel's fault that it wasn't labelled . The next day a label appeared ! That said, all the other staff were extremely polite and friendly and we didn't have problems with anyone else.

Food was varied , there was something for everyone and the drinks were easily the best we've experienced on all inclusive packages. We were surprised to have decent quality wine, beer and spirits included. The Restaurant staff worked really hard to ensure high standards were maintained, especially when there were so many people in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner. It resembled Piccadilly Circus, but tables were cleaned, clean linen was always put on and tables were laid correctly. Although you mostly helped yourself to drinks, staff were also on hand to assist with drinks if you needed it. We were especially impressed that the hotel had taken note of our child's allergy to egg and peanuts and they were prepared to cook items specially for her. We booked into the Asian Corner one evening and the chef personally cooked her some special noodles and pointed out all the dishes that were safe for her to eat. This restaurant was not overcrowded and the service was of a high standard, with a good choice of meals.

Pools , Gardens & other Facilities - We mostly used the Lagoon pool and never had a problem finding sun beds despite getting up late and it being the busiest time of the year. The sun beds vary in quality and comfort however. Avoid the plastic ones if you have bad back. Make sure you have something for your feet around the pool area as the ground is uneven and gets very hot. The Lagoon pool has a lifeguard on duty and they take irresponsible behavior in the pool very seriously. My husband was bitten in the ear whilst in the water and ended up with a swollen ear for 3 days , requiring painkillers and anti- inflammatory tablets, so its probably a good idea to have some ear plugs as well.
There is also a lot of wasps flying around , especially in the mornings in the outside dining area , so take some insect repellent and cream for stings. Our daughter was stung on the eyelid and luckily she did not have a bad reaction. There is a doctor nearby however and the staff are quick to respond if you have a medical issue.

The hotel covers a large area and the grounds could be better maintained. We have visited other hotels in hot climates where the grounds have been beautifully maintained and have a fantastic display of flowers and plants. Some areas lacked basic grass cutting , beds were empty that could have had plants in, and some of the pathways around the site were uneven where the crazy paving had been laid. Flat shoes with a good grip are a necessity, although one lady we met had slipped and ended up with a black eye and bruised face and she was wearing flip flops. Despite these shortcomings , the hotel is in a fantastic location and the views make up for this. There are a good range of water sport activities if you fancy taking to the water and the hotel has a very popular crazy golf area which could be better utilized if it were lit up at night. Although it looks basic there are some challenging sections of course which will cause delight and frustration and appeal to crazy golf enthusiasts.

The |Thompson Kids club is good and they make sure the children have a fun time and are made to feel welcome. Group sizes are kept manageable which means there is no pushing and shoving and unacceptable behaviour which my daughter has experienced at other hotels.

Entertainment - we did not go to most of the evening entertainment , but from the small amount that we did see it was not unacceptable. The entertainment team work hard throughout the day and again at night in very hot conditions and perform some dance routines that would make most people melt, given that they only have a small stage outdoors which is not air conditioned and have additional heat from spotlights to contend with. Some nights we walked into town which is only a short distance. There are plenty of shops and restaurants. If you make up your mind to have other options for night time ( e.g take some board games /cards ) rather than depending entirely on the hotel to provide amusement then you may get a better experience. We were not disappointed as we were not expecting too much. Some nights were very pleasant just sitting on the balcony looking out over the bay , with a drink and pleasant conversation.

Reception - checking in and booking out was very simple, easy and efficient. The staff at reception were always willing to help and were quick to respond to requests. Overall a really good experience .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the Louis Corcyra Beach and for leaving your impressions on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that our hotel and services met your expectations, and we are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the room. You did well by asking to have a refurbished room in the main building and we are happy that you were not disappointed with it!!

We would like to apologize for the incident with regards to the emergency cord, and you are right, a sticker should be placed on it to explain it's purpose.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated the attention of our friendly and helpful staff members, especially with regards to your daughter's allergy.

We thank you for pointing out some areas that need to be maintained and improved and rest assured that we will consider your ideas.

Thank you once again for your comments and suggestions, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in one of our Louis Hotels in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The location of the hotel is beautiful. The sea view more than justified the extra cost. Watched the sun rise each morning and it was just stunning. The staff were without exception helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable although the beds were a little hard. Food was good and the choice available was wide and varied and catered for all our tastes. The communal areas were clean and well presented. The hard working animations team entertained us brilliantly each night and the activities they organised during the day on the beach and around the pool were enjoyed by my children. We purchased a wifi card to access the internet but the service kept cutting out and we ended up going to an internet cafe instead. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure reading that the Louis Corcyra Beach and our services exceeded your expectations and we thank you for sharing your positive thoughts.

We are glad that you much enjoyed the views and the sunrise each morning, they are amazing! Your comments regarding the quality of the food and the cleanliness are welcomed and rest assured that your comments regarding our friendly staff members and our animation team will be shared with them.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to accommodating you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Myself and my husband returned on the 26th August from a one week stay at the Louis Corcya Hotel as part of our Thomson cruise and stay holiday with our two teenage children. Our first impression of the hotel was that it seemed a little tired looking but the reception staff were very friendly and efficient and we managed to get into our room after a short wait as we had arrived before 2pm. The first impression of the room was also a little disappointing as it was very basic and dull with dark blue furniture however the sea view and the large size of both the bedroom and bathroom made up for this. We all found the beds uncomfortable and the air conditioning took a long time to cool down room.

The hotel is located in a lovely bay and the view from our room and the terrace was great. It was also nice to walk into Gouvia of an evening as there are lots of tavenas and shops to browse.

Food is great, lunch is at the pool restaurant, dinner and breakfast in main restaurant, it was the height of the season so we had to queue. Breakfast is particularly chaotic, finding tables and getting food is a mad scramble and not at all a nice way to start the day. The hotel needs to extend the restuarants for busy times.

Entertainment is very poor, only watched one show.

Would recommend boat trip from jetty, the Captain is very friendly and we had a lovely afternoon out exploring the coast and jumping off the boat. Wish we had done the Corfu town trip too.

Lots of sunbeds, we liked to sit down by the sea and the small pool but lots of people enjoyed the larger pool which was great for toddlers and young children.

This hotel is great for families with young kids.

The hotel just deserves a four star rating but I have stayed in better hotels for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the Louis Corcyra Beach as part of your cruise.

We are glad that your overal stay was enjoyable and we are pleased to read that you were left happy with the friendliness of our staff members, the quality of the food and the pools. We are also delighted that the size and view of the rooms made up for your initial disappointment.

However, we were sorry that not all of our services and facilities were up to your expectations. Especially your comment about how busy the restaurant is during peak times is spot on, and we have already discussed this matter in detail at the Head Office. Our Quality Manager is actually flying out there next week to discuss possible solutions with the hotel management, for next season. One of our thoughts is to extend the mealtimes (especially at breakfast) or use the outdoor veranda of the main bar to accommodate customers as well. With the beautiful morning view of the sea, we believe many guests would like the idea. Additionally and to avoid queuing at the pool restaurant, we are thinking of implementing two lunches from next year, one by the pool and one by the lagoon, both exactly the same in variety, product and quality.

Once again we would like to express our thanks for your honest comments and we hope to prove, not for the first time, that we not only consider our guests’ comments, but that we also implement their ideas too.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Excellent location with shops, bars and restaurants a 5 minute stroll away. Beautiful views. Room was lovely with excellent aircon. Cleaned every day and believe the sheets and towels were changed every day. Loads of watersports with Spiros at '35 Boats' across the bay very good prices. Lovely food and plenty of it. Local beers and wine nice and you can help yourself. Can't understand that the last reviewer was at the same resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear guest,

We are very pleased that your stay at the Louis Corcyra Beach was full of satisfaction!

Your positive comments about the location, the views, the activities and the great selection of food are much appreciated.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you next year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Louis Corcyra Beach (with our 3 daughters aged between 17& 21.
Location was superb. Great views looking over Gouvia bay. Our rooms were in the main hotel block and were very nice and spacious with lovely views. Rooms were cleaned 7 days a week to a very high standard.
Food was very good. Yes it could be a bit repetetive but there is only so much you can do with chicken, beef, salad etc and keep everyone happy! Compared to other all inclusive hotels we have stayed at the food was some of the best we have had. The one bad meal we had (or rather didn't have) was in the Asian restaurant. Basically they had too many people booked in and by the time we went to get our food the majority of it had gone.
Swimming pools were ok, nothing too exciting but they were clean and there were always enough sunbeds. Beware though there is a long walk down to the pool by the beach.
Entertainment was ok and we didn't think it was as bad as some reviews have said - the same entertainment team do all the day time entertainment (water polo, darts, mini golf etc) and then rehearse and have to entertain everyone in the evening. No easy task when its 35C. We did also see a bit of a heated discussion between the entertainment team which wasn't very professional.
We went on 2 boat trips from the beach. Both were great value for money (we booked direct with the boat not Thomson - for the trip to Corfu Town the boat charges €12 and Thomson wanted €20!) The captain of the boat is great and dishes out the Ouzo on all trips!
Lots of the recent reviews seem to have had problems with insect bites but we didn't experience this at all.
Overall this is a good hotel and we would definately consider going back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay at the Louis Corcyra Beach.

We are glad that you much enjoyed the location of our hotel and pleased to read that the food was the best you ever had on an all inclusive holiday. We do our best to cater for everyone and it is always satisfying to see that our guests appreciate our efforts.

We were disappointed however, to read that you didn't really have the opportunity to try the Asian restaurant. The fact that a lot of people had booked is not an excuse for you to have missed your meal; the trays must be refilled regularly enabling our guests to access the food even at the end of a service. We are thus sorry to read that you missed the opportunity to enjoy the Asian restaurant.

Regarding your comment about the entertainment, we are happy that you were satisfied with it. However, we agree that arguing in front of guests is not professional and rest assured that we will remind them of their responsibilities for preventing this to happen again.

We thank you once again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Louis Corcyra has many good points; food is excellent and there is a good choice, the scenery is beautiful and really makes this hotel - especially when sat on the terrace enjoying one of their cocktails! The Lagoon pool is excellent for the whole family although it doesnt have any views and you could be anywhere. The pool at the seafront has beautiful views but isnt so child friendly as it is mainly deep although there is a toddler pool next to it. I didnt use the hotels beach although it looked very nice but the beach is very gritty and the sea is stepped which isnt ideal for young children. Our children used the Thomson Kids Club which is very good - it runs 5 days a week and the staff are very friendly and certainly made our children very excited about going to Kids Club. We went on a Thomson Day Trip "Simply Corfu" which I highly recommend. We visited some beautiful places and it gave a good taste of Corfu. The Tour Guide was very informative and engaged with all the group. Gouvia itself is quite scruffy, however, it did have a certain charm and we enjoyed wandering in of an evening and ate at one of the Tavernas which was worth doing. The Gouvia Marina is worth walking to and there are some nice restaurants there. We did a boat trip to Corfu Town one evening which leaves directly from the hotel beach and it was thoroughly enjoyable - we didnt do the Thomson trip as that was expensive we just booked ours down on the jetty at the hotel beach.
However, there were a couple of negative points: the hotel rooms were outdated. We were very disappointed when we opened the door as it was bland and old fashioned, not what you would expect from a 4*. It has all the facilities we needed eg. fridge, plenty storage space but it really does need updating and modernising. It felt more like a travel lodge in the UK. We had upgraded to a family room with seaview so the room was very spacious with sliding doors which separated the two rooms and the balcony was roomy with table and chairs with excellent views. The other negative point is you have to queue for a sunbed at the lagoon pool - we went in peak weeks so you had to start queueing at 8.45am but the gates didnt open until 9.30am. This was rather annoying as it coincided with breakfast time and its not much fun queueing in very hot temperatures.

BEWARE - the mosquitos are out in force, especially at night. We went well equipped with insect repellants which contained 50% deet. Each night before dinner we covered ourselves in the repellant and we didnt get bitten but the one night my sister didnt use her repellant she was bitten about 20 x and they were quite nasty bites. Other guests were also bitten. It didnt spoil our holiday but do go prepared!!

In summary it was a very relaxing holiday, well organised by Thomson, food is very good, hotel has beautiful scenery and good facilities but the rooms are disappointing.

Room Tip: Have heard the rooms at the back of the hotel in the gardens have been modernised.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear guest,

First let us thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Louis Corcyra Beach.

We were delighted that you had a very pleasant stay and that you much enjoyed the quality of the food, the great views, the facilities and services of our hotel.

Our hotel has recently renovated most of our rooms, but not all of them. Unfortunately, you were staying in one of them, this is why you were disappointed and we can understand you. Believe us, we are doing our best to solve this matter and we hope we can update these rooms as soon as possible.

Thank you once again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 372, Gouvia 49100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gouvia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
#3 Family Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis Corcyra Beach
Louis Corcyra Beach Gouvia
Corcyra Beach
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.