We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, amazing atractions nearby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Temps des Olives

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Temps des Olives to your Saves list
Le Temps des Olives
31 Avenue des Alpilles, 13890 Mouries, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Mouries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great experience, amazing atractions nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Staying at Le Temps des Olives is a great country house experience, but with all the confort and luxury. The original building dates from 1673 (I uploaded a photo with the inscription) and was expanded in 1811. It has been completely and recently renewed to become a hotel and it looks great and charming. This hotel is very well decorated, the rooms are clean and spacious, the silence during the night is absolute. As it is a small hotel with not many rooms, you get a special attention from the owners themselves. This is the big thing about this place, every morning the couple that owns the place opened a map and showed us the great atractions nearby, the best place to visit and the must sees. Without these precious tips, I would never gone to places like the incredible Pont du Gard, a giant roman aqueduct that is still standing, or the great sunday market at a nearby town. The outstanding views, numerous atractions nearby, beautiful and personal decoration, and this personal attention to guests make this place one of the best country houses I have ever been. And it is a great place to brazilians and other portuguese speaking people, as the owners speak french, english and portuguese very well. I have been there in november, and even during cold weather, it was a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in September and fell and in love with the beautiful Le Temps des Olives. A perfect place to explore the Provence and come back to a welcoming home where Ligia and Mario take care of any wish you have. Wonderful breakfast and excellent recommendations for getting to know the area. We can only recommend it and would be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at Le Temps des Olives. From the first moment we felt completely at home. Ligia and Mario are perfect hosts, they pay attention that your every minimum need is attended to. Their suggestions for exploring the region of Provance are priceless. Also sugest using Ligia as a guide for at least one day, her knowledge of the region is huge. Ligia is also a fantastic cook and trained at the Paris at the Ritz Hotel. Book a dinner and ask Mario to suggest the wine pairing, food and drink fastantique. The comfort of the rooms and the care of them is at least 5*. The olive grove boasts a big cherry tree and we were fortunate to catch if covered with tasty cherries (early spring). We are planing to go back for one full week next spring in France.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at Le Temps des Olives this august with my family and a friend of us. And the single bad thing was that we had to leave Ligia and Mario's Maison D'hotes. Beginning with the complimentary glass of a delicious rosé wine, our experience in this recently renovated rockstone mansion was unforgetable. The owners, two former brazilian executives who had lived in France before, do their most to make you feel like you were in a good friend's home. They put brazilian hospitality to work with the provençale way of living: attentive and warm without being intrusive. The rooms that we stayed were graciously decorated and lots of space. In fact, the my room (Les Oliviers) were bigger than my mom's, but at her room she had two single beds. From the amenities in the bathroom to the softness of the bed sheets, everything was great. The Oliviers room has a stunning view of the surrounding areas, full of Olive trees. Think about the real, deep Provence. That's the image you can see from there. Good to remark that the whole property is spotless clean, all day long. The breakfast is another good surprise. We got fresh breads and croissants every day, fresh orange juice (pressed in front of you by Mario), yogurts, Nespresso Coffee, Melons, Figs (that my Mom loves and Mario kindly went for some in the Figuiers right over the kitchen's window), cereals, milk, ham, cheeses (some of those spectacular french ones), etc, etc... The property is located in a very good position to visit Les Baux, Avignon, Eygalieres, Lourmarin, Bonnieux, Cucuron, Arles, St-Remy (the city Nostradamus was born, Van Gogh lived... ) and many others. The Provence is one of the greatest landscapes in France and this Maison was really a good "safe port" to us, since we saw from the very beginning that the way they treat us were completely different and all would be perfect. Even when we had a minor problem with our shower, it was solved by Mario right away. If you're planning to go to Provence, do not hesitate on reserving lots of days to stay at this beautiful property, otherwise you'll get as regret as we're now!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at Le Temps des Olives in July 2012. We arrived early but were warmly welcomed by Ligia and Mario who are wonderful hosts and genuine people. Mouries is a small and quiet French village, less than forty minutes by car from Marseilles airport. Le Temps des Olives is on the edge of the village and surrounded by olive groves and farmland that's dotted with provencal villas. The house has been sympathetically and beautifully renovated whilst retaining many original features and the interior of the property has been decorated with great taste. It's luxurious and comfortable at the same time. We stayed in two of the rooms as the larger of the two was just available for 3 out of our 4 nights there. Both rooms were beautifully furnished, and whilst the smaller of the two lacked amazing views of the Alpilles and surrounding olive groves it was really peaceful, quiet and cool. This room is not located in the main house so the separate entrance made it feel very private. The larger of the two rooms is in the main house, has lots of storage, an huge bathroom and wonderful views. Breakfast is served in the kitchen/dining room with your fellow guests. Mario and Ligia are so attentive and can't do enough for you without being intrusive. There's fresh orange juice, muesli, delicious breads, croissants, fruit, meats and cheeses - a real provencal breakfast banquet. The swimming pool is gorgeous - spotlessly clean (as is the house and rooms) and the gardens offer a lovely space to sunbathe, read and relax. Mouries does not have much to offer in terms of restaurants. There are a couple of bars but the seem to cater more for locals which is a pity because the town has potential to be so much more. There's a wonderful convenience store run by two ladies who are absolutely charming. Despite my poor french they would welcome us warmly each day when we popped in to stock up with water and fruit for our excursions. We travelled to Mausanne for dinner each night (just 5km on a good road) where there is an excellent selection of reasonably priced restaurants. Personally we could recommend the Moroccan restaurant (La Fantasia) where the food is delicious and the staff are so friendly, along with a restaurant on the opposite side of the street (don't know what the name is) but they sell crepes with beautiful salads (savory, sweet and delicious deserts) which are excellent value and so tasty. For finer dining Le Clos Saint Roch was really special and definitely worth a visit (for lunch or dinner). Maussane is a gorgeous village. It's beautifully kept and has a lovely atmosphere. The really special thing for us was driving there from Mouries each evening - just as the light was fading the Alpilles looked really magical. We saw a lot of different landscapes during our stay in Provence but were really wowed by the sights around this area. Staying at Le Temps des Olives will give you easy access to Avignon, Arles, Nimes, Les Baux de Provence, Saint Rémy de Provence, Uzes (and the Pont du Gard) and even Aix en Provence. Ligia has great local knowledge which she is happy to share with her guests. Overall we totally enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Le Temps des Olives to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: They're all beautiful but for extra space and wonderful views the Olives is very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Temps des Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Temps des Olives

Address: 31 Avenue des Alpilles, 13890 Mouries, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Mouries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mouries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Alpilles Mountains Naturel Park, "Le temps des Olives" is a magnificently restored sheep farm that has managed to keep its Provencal charm and splendour intact.Mouries lies at the bottom of the Baux valley and is bordered by the southern foothills of the Alpilles mountains. From the olive groves that surround the sheep farm to the grey rocky mountains behind it and contrasting blue skies above, "Le temps des Olives" seems at one with its natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Temps des Olives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Temps des Olives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.