We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once was Grand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Le Grand Hotel
17 quai de Lattre de Tassigny, 34200 Sete, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sete
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Once was Grand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had the a pleasant stay in Sete, we had the central suite and had a great view overlooking the canal. The reception staff were just OK, they gave the impression they had better things to do....
The hotel was grand in its day but now seems a little run down 'tatty around the edges' its still a nice place to stay they could do better with it though. Our room was very spacious and wasn't noisy at all at night, good considering they are in the centre of town. Breakfast was in the inside atrium and was adequate, the staff here were quite good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    109
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
148
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was fascinated by their web site so decided to give it a try. If you like a bit of history and atmosphere you should try this hotel. The lobby and and the floors give you a good idea of what this place must have like in the late 1800's. It a great location overlooking the Canal de Midi. Our room was small but adequate and the bathroom has been updated. The breakfast was excellent and served in the beautiful lobby area. The free wifi works well in the room. It's a pleasant walk along the canal to find all the seafood restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grand Hotel. The reception and central lobby (where you can relax over a cup of tea or coffee, and where buffet breakfast is served) are most attractive. Our room had a magnificent view of the canal, but was slightly faded. Having said that our stay was good value for money, and you cannot fault the wonderful location and nice friendly service. Thank-you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh Borders, UK
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We can't blame the hotel for giving us a tiny room - it was the last they had with a view over the canal. But it really was small, badly, if at all, decorated and generally down at heel. Reception is friendly and helpful, so we shrugged our shoulders and parked the car in the convenient secure garage a few doors away. Then we went for a walk. As we noticed on the way in, Sete is packed full of cars and people trying to dodge them. The main promenade, along the canal at which the Grand presides, is lined with cheap and cheerful fish restaurants where we did not eat (see restaurant review for where we chose instead). When we finally went to bed, the car traffic outside the window was augmented by boisterous human traffic. So, reluctantly, we shut the windows and turned on the A/C. It was loud and kept the room warm and humid. The bed wasn't the best and we slept little.
Breakfast in the spacious atrium was the usual buffet, with hams and cheese and a good yoghurt, but they ran out of coffee one day and out of orange juice the next.
We changed rooms to a marginally bigger room at the back, which was quiet until a mosquito arrived to get us back to A/C, which worked reasonably well. The 2nd room was even drabber than the first.
Laundry takes a full 24 hours, not same day as one would expect.
The people at the Grand were doing their best but it will take more than that to succeed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Booked from comments on TripAdvisor
Firstly it is grand!the lobby and main part of the building are fabulous
The rooms are a little disappointing however, a bit bland and drab.
Breakfast is a buffet and good.
Great views if you on that side and close to everything you need.
Price wise 120E is a lot for a simple room.
I would rather have paid less and stay elsewhere however I would have liked to eat in as there menu looked great.

Room Tip: Chose a canal view room otherwise the room and aspect will be poor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taff in staffs
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room was lovely--like stepping back in time! Corridors with antiques, old paintings etc. Beds extremely comfortable with pure white cotton sheets--quite a luxurious feel! Set in a most perfect setting longside the canal. Perfect for an evening stroll and the many restaurants. We used the underground parking facility which was safe and secure. A really memorable hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

WHEN we finally found this hotel in Sete it was exceptional. We had to drive around the town at least four times before we finally spotted it across the water! Our fault for not requesting a street map prior but now we've done it ...no problem. Our room was superb with views over the basin and down one of the canals. On the first floor with three corner windows and a wrap-around verandah it was spectacular in the afternoon, night and early morning when we were delighted to have a fabulous sun-rise reflected in the water. The food in the little dining room was very good and the breakfast in the massive atrium area was lovely in very grand surroundings. Built in 1882 in the " Belle Epoche " style apparently this has always been a hotel.
The garage was relatively easy to find (not attached to the hotel, but not far away) a bit tight and dark. My only gripe was when I went back to the car to collect something there was a very aggressive man who was obviously the garage "manager" who insisted I moved my car (which was parked perfectly..my husband is a stickler for that) two inches forward. I did this but when he disappeared I reversed it two inches back! There were other cars parked in there a lot more sloppily so I can only assume it was because I am a woman, foreign and blonde! C'est la vie! Otherwise go there..it was lovely.

Room Tip: There is a lift to each floor but nobody to help with your luggage....so travel light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 17 quai de Lattre de Tassigny, 34200 Sete, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Sete
Hotel Le Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.