We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel avoid the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Le Grand Hotel
17 quai de Lattre de Tassigny, 34200 Sete, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sete
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel avoid the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful hotel in a very large corner room overlooking the junction of 2 canals. Would agree with other comments about the staff. They were polite but totally indifferent to guests. Every time we passed reception the staff kept their heads down looking extremely busy! The restaurant Quay 21 was the worst meal we've had in France. We had the bourride which was barely warm and totally tasteless. Chez François further along from Le Grand on the waterfront was a wonderful restaurant.We were lucky enough to be in Sete for the water jousting which was great fun.I would recommend this hotel for its position and comfort and very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room and definitely a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    109
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
148
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were disappointed overall with Le Grand . The setting is superb, on the prime junction of the canal network, and our room, with it's small balcony gave us a breath-taking view, but we found the staff indifferent at best. We were not once in six days greeted with a smile at reception, in fact the only acknowledgement we received was a blank stare. When having breakfast the only contact we had with the staff was to enquire about our room No. It was like a ghost town, with no atmosphere, which was a shame because the atrium is enchanting. On reflection two days would have been enough here, and the same can be said of Sete, a grubby town which has yet to decide whether or not it really wants tourists. Full of Arty posters promoting forthcoming jazz festivals in shop windows, and piles of dog mess on the pavements!

Room Tip: A canal view or nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a very grand hotel in the most wonderful location in the heart of Sete. It is on the main canal and looks out over another canal that goes off at right angles. The rooms are comfortable and spacious as befits an old and interesting building.
Staff were a little standoffish but the central atrium, where you have breakfast, is completely wonderful. There is private covered car parking nearby and there are a lot of excellent restaurants within five minutes walk.
We spent three nights at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed out time thre because Sete and the surrounding area is fascinating. Perhaps the best thing Is that it is not just a turist destination but a working town and port.

Room Tip: You must have a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellently located hotel, overlooking the canal and in walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. The rooms are on the small side but clean and functional. Nice breakfast area in the central atrium.
We had a canal view room which was very picturesque. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone as it is in the perfect location for exploring Sete.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel has charming architecture and serves the best buillabase ever! Good service and child freindly. Nice view overloking the canal. Even parking nearby is quite fun in the basement of an old building.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is in a good location by the canals. It is a 'converted' merchants house. From each storey,you have a nice outlook to the breakfast area which was clearly once an inner courtyard but now enclosed by a glass roof. We opted for a superior room which was very spacious and gave splendid views over the canal in front as well as to the sides. We had a corner room with 3 large windows so our room was very light indeed. Breakfast was continental and perfectly adequate. The restaurant is closed on a Sunday which was a minor irritant as we arrived, very late afternoon, in the rain and did not particularly want to trapse round the town on a wet Sunday hunting for a restaurant. However all worked out fine and we had a marvellous meal at L'Ultimo. The hotel ought to provide safe's for each room though - it was inconvenient always having to ask for access to the hotel safe

Room Tip: choose a room fronting the canal -preferably a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our second visit. We booked a superior room which was pleasant and had an excellent view (see picture we have posted). Only cticism of room was that the beds and furniture seemed to be "none superior!" Breakfast OK not brilliant. we didn't dine in the restaurant but it looked good! Advise: make sure you book carparking. Without the hotel parking it would have been diffucult and we were "out of season"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 17 quai de Lattre de Tassigny, 34200 Sete, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Sete
Hotel Le Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.