We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting with oh so friendly hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escuela la Crujia

Save Saved
You added Escuela la Crujia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Escuela la Crujia
Atalaya Baja | El Trapiche, Velez-Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Velez-Malaga B&B and Inns
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting with oh so friendly hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were lucky to spend a week at the beautiful Escuela. We were in Spain for a friends wedding at a nearby Hotel (Cortija Brava) and to be honest we would not have looked at this part of the Costa Del Sol for a summer break. Well my thoughts of concrete jungles and rowdy brits could not have been further from reality. In the Escuela you are so close to all that you would need to experience of classic Spain. Velez Malaga is only a 8 Euro taxi ride away and it has an array of lovely restaurants to choose from. Food is both plentiful and great value (no tourist rates here), If you are looking for a lunchtime drink and a tapas then both the two roadside restaurants, El Trapiche and El Cruce are only a walk away.
The Stars of the Escuela are without doubt Toni and Ima, who let you have the privacy that you might want with the knowledge and enthusiasm that was truly refreshing. 200 characters is not enough to describe our week, thank you Toni and Ima.

Room Tip: The Escuela is a 60 euro taxi ride from malaga airport .. hire a car,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

On the way from France to Escuela we were held up on the motorway and robbed so when we arrived we were feeling pretty traumatised but we were met by Toni Waterman(the co-owner) with kisses and a glass of wine and told not to worry about paying the bill until we had got our finances in order......and could she lend us some money..!!
We stayed here for 2 months 2 years ago and were somewhat apprehensive that we would not find it as attractive.However when we woke up next morning to sunshine and sat in the garden for breakfast,this was 3rd. January,we felt as if we were in a little piece of heaven.
Would recommend this to anyone and in the summer months must be wonderful to plunge in the pool and dry off on the sunlounges,in the nude if this is your desire,
The town of Velez and Torre del Mar are only 10 minutes drive with many many restuarants where one can get a 3 course meal for under £6 !! We stayed for three months and it was a sad day when we left.

Stayed January 2012 travelled as a couple.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

In Escuela we and the family rented two rooms (out of three) for 2 weeks (June / July 2012). The guesthouse is perfectly located for trips to the coast (approximately 10 km), as well as for exploring the cities and natural wonders of Andalusia (Granada, Malaga, Gibraltar, Sierra Nevada). The rooms and kitchens were fully equipped to satisfy all our needs, and the breakfast was served either in the garden or inside a former school. Our children spent all their time in the beautiful garden with a swimming pool, trampoline and table tennis table so we did not have to think up things for them to do. Our hosts, Toni and Imanol were very welcoming and helpful in planning trips, and both speak English. As a family we were given a very interesting discount on the price of accommodation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have just returned(July 2012)from five days here and we're already planning when we might return.Our room was a good size with a kitchen area which was well equipped and very handy for preparing lunch etc with all the lovely locally purchased produce.Breakfast was served each day on our own patio area(we even had eggs from the chickens they keep in their grounds,and probably the best eggs ever tasted!)We only left the Escuela one day,spending lazy days around the lovely pool and then eating and drinking at the large table under the canopy next to the BBQ where we prepared our meals each evening.It was perfection!One evening we went to the closest bar and had a drink each and 8 tapas dishes for 12euros!!
But the best things about this place are the the owners Toni and Imanol.Every B&B should be run by such people;so friendly and helpful with such local knowledge that you feel at home from the start.They couldn't do enough for us and made our stay even more memorable.
Thanks Toni and Ima;hope to see you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Went to the escuela in August 2011 and it couldn't have been better. We chose here as its pretty central to all of the places we wanted to visit, but we ended up not wanting to move from the lovely surroundings. Hiring a car is essential as when we did manage to drag ourselves away we were within distance of some lovely little villages as well as Ronda, Malaga, Granada. Nerja is pretty close with great beaches, bars and restaurants. Toni and Imanol were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a lovely affair, the highlight being the lovely fresh figs from the garden. Local supermarkets are very cheap so a couple of nights we bought a ton of fresh fish and seafood for next to nothing and had a wonderful barbecue in the garden. We never go away to the same place twice but we're looking for any excuse to come back to Escuela la Crujia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hospitality, relaxed atmosphere and the green large plot make you feel at home while away from home. Buildings with a touch of the old Spain and gardens full of fruit trees and a lovely pool, table tennis, covered porch with views and barbecue. Clean, rooms are cosy, ideal for longer stays, well insulated walls and windows with blinds so rooms stay cool while airco if need be can heat or cool. Convenient location:
- at 45 minutes easy driving east from Malaga Airport in the peaceful countryside northwest of Velez Malaga, yet only 10 minutes drive from the beaches and shops with all facilities and restaurants (5 minutes only from Velez Malaga)
- good for trips both along the coast and inland.

Room Tip: If you want to cook yourself you should ask for a room with kitchen. If you are an early riser pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in the only bungalow which did not have a kitchen. It did have microwave but unfortunately no room to use it. The gardens were beautiful and the little pool idyllic with wonderful views and peace and quiet. The one critisism I would have is that the breakfast was extremely meagre! I would suggest that anyone booking takes some food to supplement the breakfst provided. This however would not stop us from returning but I would suggest that anyone books the rooms with kitchen! There is a fantastic restaurant a few minutes drive away called "The Trapiche" which does a fantastic menu del dia for only 8 euros.

Room Tip: Book one of the two rooms with a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escuela la Crujia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escuela la Crujia

Address: Atalaya Baja | El Trapiche, Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Velez-Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable guest house, offering a bed and breakfast service, in the glorious countryside of Andalucía! A small, secluded complex with three guest rooms,(two with kitchens and all en-suite) in an old converted rural schoolhouse, for the discerning tourist wishing to be in the unspoilt countryside of Southern Spain, away from the tourists but still close to coast and mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Escuela la Crujia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escuela La Crujia Spain/Velez-Malaga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escuela la Crujia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.