We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whether you want to chill out or use this as a base this is the place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio Blanco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio Blanco to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio Blanco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Felix Lomas, 4 | Province of Malaga, 29700 Malaga Velez-Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Whether you want to chill out or use this as a base this is the place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Whilst we have stayed here a number of times I could write so much about this fabulous hotel (which is made all the more special by the fanastic hosts). We have returned from a 6 day chill out. You are made so welcome on your arrival and basically you can stay on the loungers all day or use the place as a base to travel around the Costa Del Sol.The breakfasts are really nice and as the hotel only has 9 rooms it is never crowded and we have met some lovely people on our stays. I would say everyone should treat themselves to some "Palacio Blanco" time Try it for yourself and I am sure you will not be disappointed. Already booked the next visit for 2015.. Christa and Jan are great hosts and they have a gem of a housekeeper in Cecelia who is also worthy of a mention as they all help make this place extremely special.

Room Tip: Room 7, 8 , or 9 on the top floor are best for people wanting to lounge on the beds or have a dip in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    16
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
169
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

just arrived home after 1wk in the beautiful Palacio Blanco, and I would go back tomorrow!!!
I was one of 12 ladies who all needed a sunny break. From the minute I walked through the lovely wooden door it was like stepping into a beautiful ,peaceful ,haven. Christa and Jan are the perfect hosts, full of useful hints to get the most out of our break.I would recommend this hotel most highly to everyone and will look forward to going back.

Room Tip: I was in room 1 on the bottom floor,which was cool, stylish and kept spotlessly clean throughout our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Three couples arrived here for a short break and everything was perfect - from Jan picking us up at the airport to dropping us off again. The hotel is fantastic and Jan and Christa are the perfect hosts - we couldn't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

What a fabulous place and what a welcome! From arrival at the airport to the same sad journey back - it was relaxation and like home from home with an added touch of luxury. The hosts were discreet yet attentive - just what was needed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Six friends and I visited the hotel for a hen weekend. We picked the hotel because it looked stunning and fitted the bill requirements wise. We weren't disappointed with our choice.

Christa, the owner, was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout the stay. She gave us plenty of good recommendations regarding what to see and where to eat.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean. There is lots of seating on the roof terrace to sit by the plunge pool, on sun loungers, or by a bar area. Failing that, if you want shade, there are sofas and chairs throughout. It is impossible not to relax here and you feel very much at home.

The rooms are also well decorated, clean and very comfortable. I slept extremely well.

Although the hotel is 40 minutes out of Malaga, it is well worth the journey. The surrounding area is beautiful, the locals are extremely helpful and friendly and everything you need is a short walk away. It is the perfect place to escape the tourist areas.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We where walking in this city and we saw this hotel, so we decided to have a drink here. We didn't sleep in this hotel, because we already booked one. We just went here for a drink.

The owner was very kind and friendly. Amazing building with great decoration! Really beautiful!
We received a tour of the hotel from the owner. We where stunned! Unbelievable beautiful! The rooms looked amazing! We didn't try the beds, but they looked really comfortable. Everything seemed really clean, and the bathrooms where clean and stylish.
Amazing roof terrace with large jacuzzi.

We are definitely going to book here for a future holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed with my friend for long weekend, before Easter break. From start to finish we could not fault this trip and the Palacio Blanco itself. The hotel has a wonderful peaceful atmosphere and as previous reviews say Jan and Christa are wonderful hosts! Velez itself is a buzzing little place with lovely cafes, cakes shops bars and restaurants. Taxis are quite cheap as are the drinks prices. It was also good to practice a little Spanish for those of you who want to with the locals. If you don't want to get the buses the taxis are only 9 or 10 euros to Torre del Mar beach. The best hotel I have stayed in, very very clean and sheets towels changed every day etc.... and Velez itself has a wonderful feel to it. 11/10 for me and will be back... Perfecto !

Room Tip: Rooms on top best, especially for smokers but to be honest all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Blanco

Address: Calle Felix Lomas, 4 | Province of Malaga, 29700 Malaga Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palacio Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio Blanco is located in the hitoric district of Velez Malaga,in an over 300 year old moorish monastry which was converted in 2008 to a luxury 9 bedroom boutique hotel with roofterrace,excercise water jet pool and sundeck with bar .Featured in the BBC program Amazing buildings which followed the whole conversion process. * Prime location in the city centre ,walking distance of bars,restauants,theatre and shops. *Beach and golf course only 4 kms from the hotel. *Rooms with luxery bathrooms and walk in shower, air conditioning, free wifi , international TV. *Perfect for business meetings ,weddings or as private hotel with family and friends. *We speak Dutch , English and German. *It is all afordable luxery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Blanco Hotel
Palacio Blanco Velez Malaga
Hotel Palacio Blanco Spain/Velez-Malaga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio Blanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.