We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Chilled and Relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Velez-Malaga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women
63 Los Pepones, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Chilled and Relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok it would be fair to say that without a car Bambu could be a trek from the nearest Town, that said Catherine and Susanne offer trekking holidays :) as well as many other options for your stay at Bambu.

The Location is stunning the views amazing and we were delighted that we had the place to ourselves for the majority of the time as that was what was needed above anything else..

The local town is definitely worth a visit and has many shops from fresh fish, retro bakers through to a modern kitchen designers .. and as many bars besides, all very friendly and inviting..

The rooms are clean, and perfectly suited to the needs of a self catering holiday... the location as a whole is brilliantly situated to explore a stunning part of Spain..

definitely will be going back ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
52
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only stayed two nights at Bambu after a business trip, however it felt like a week of pure relaxation. We loved the remoteness of the place, georgeous views, comfy room, superfriendly hosts, lovely other guests. We'll certainly be back for a real holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Whether you're looking to relax in a quiet environment with a spectacular view of the Sierra Tejeda, or wanting to socialize with a small group of dynamic lesbian women, Bambu is the perfect place to find what you are looking for. You can select to stay during quiet off-season weeks or choose one of their specialty weeks. I personally opted for the scenic tour week and was very much impressed by the magnificence of the cities we visited. I couldn't get enough. Catherine and Susanne were fabulous hosts. They are there if you need them, but otherwise respectful of your personal time. More than an ordinary hotel, I would say Bambu is an experience.
Pam

Room Tip: Because we weren't very many guests during my stay, I was upgraded to a wonderful suite with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent a week there following our wedding in May and I have to say that we had a fantastic time. We had both been reluctant to go to mainland Spain for various reasons, mainly pre-concieved ideas about the tourist industry. Bambu is not a five star hotel, but it is a clean and presentable little complex of apartments built in an old farm house. The characterful cats who reside there are gorgeous. The rooms are clean and tidy and secure.
We had nearly the whole complex to ourselves apart from one other couple and another guest. It was so relaxing after all of the busy times we had had. The first few days were spent unwinding by the pool and it was nice to find a bottle of champagne and a lovely card from the owners when we arrived. We did have the roof terrace room, which afforded us extra privacy and the chance to eat and drink under the stars most nights and have some 'us' time. We did a 'big shop' on the way in at the Eroski hypermarket a half an hour's drive away for our essentials. We did go into the local town of Benamocarra and we were pleasantly shocked at how friendly the locals were towards us. For items such as fresh bread, vegetables etc, the shops were perfect and one lady insisted on giving us freebies with a smile! There are a lot of local men hanging around the main square mainly, at the bars and cafes during the day, but they did not intefere with us in any way and at no time did it bother us. This is mentioned in the information pack in the guest rooms, so it has obviously been an issue for other guests.
After a few days R n R we set off to explore the local area and in a dinky little Kia, it was quite scary on some of the mountain bends up to Comares, where we got caught up in a beautiful town fiesta and set off around the rest of the Axarquia. A trip to Nerja followed a few days later and we had a great time at the beach there.
Bambu is like a little oasis...we will be back soon

Room Tip: Roof terrace room is romantic and adds a bit of extra seclusion. Lovely views of the mountains too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having been to Bambu and read the reviews we feel it is only fair to give a balanced perspective and prepare discerning travellers for the reality of the experience that is 'Bambu'.
We wanted to support a lesbian-run business and enjoy unspoilt locations however we will not be booking again nor making recommendations since we felt that overall considering location, accommodation and lack of amenity our stay was poor value for money.
The location was remote and access via unmarked,unlit, rough hilly dirt track at least 20 minutes on foot from the nearest village- a hike to which is not an enticing prospect for a sole lady traveller in the height of summer or after dark. the driving is challenging in an average hire car in the summer but would be treacherous in winter after heavy rain without a four wheel drive. Banamocarra- no restaurants just a few snack bars and small food shops. Local men dominate the social scene.
The accomodation only offers privacy to the occupants of the room with access to the roof terrace. All other room doors open on to the communal terrace and are relatively close so that conversations are easily overheard from outside and between rooms. The rooms cannot be described as suites or 'boutique'. The furnishings are very basic; odd mismatched linen , non functional bric a brac and certainly not 'chic'. A daily rather than weekly room rate is charged but daily services &/or linen changes are not offered.
Several rooms only have a door to the terrace and an electric fan to provide ventilation. There is no air conditioning- an important consideration if staying in July or August.
Given the very many pretty towns in Andalusia which are unspoiled and close to places of historical and cultural interest offering high standards of accommodation and better value for money especially out of season, we recommend other discerning travellers look elsewhere.
A shame because we had hoped for better and otherwise love Southern Spain.

Room Tip: Choose another venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineBambu, Owner at Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Well, what can we say in response? Trip Advisor readers will see the other reviews and appreciate that what appeals to many, clearly doesn’t appeal to everyone. We don’t claim Bambú to be anything other than in a rural location and a 20 minute walk to our nearest very authentic Andalucian village – we are not in the middle of tourist-land – this is the real Spain - but all the same Bambú is very close to the amenities of the coast, only 15 minutes drive away.
The road outside Bambú has just in the last few weeks been upgraded (possibly since this guest stayed), meaning that it is not at all challenging – there is just a riverbed (95%+ of the time completely dry and doubling as a road) which has to be crossed - and in the event of heavy winter rainfall there is an alternative slightly longer route to Bambú. Unfortunately at the end of September 2012 when we think this guest was staying, we were hit by some appalling weather, which resulted in terrible flash floods and the loss of 10 lives in southern Spain, some of the worst hit villages only 40km from Bambú. As Bambú is at the top of a hill, apart from a couple of leaks we were largely unaffected but the weather was pretty miserable, not conducive to a positive holiday experience.
We personally disagree about the bric-a-brac and mismatched linen comment – our own style is eclectic and anti-bland conformity - but again, what appeals to one person is quite different to what appeals to another. And we don’t claim to be 'chic' - Bambú is a converted Andalucian farmhouse - if you want chic, the city is probably a more appropriate holiday location.
Our nightly room rate simply means that guests can stay for 3 nights or 10 nights if they so wish and are not restricted to a Saturday to Saturday week. We don’t offer a nightly rate for our convenience but for the convenience of our guests.
We use the word ‘suite’ rather than ‘room’ to identify the fact that all our accommodations are self-catering, having their own kitchen. It is unusual for self-catering accommodation to be daily serviced. Self-catering holidays always work out less expensive than hotel based holidays, unless of course you eat out every meal. Most of our guests really appreciate the choice of eating out or cooking for themselves – especially vegetarians who are not well catered for in Spain. One guest recently commented that they had used just 30€ of her cash all week! Possibly a record for holiday spend! But almost everyone finds that they spend less as eating out in local restaurants and buying produce in local markets in such good value.
Lastly, as for air-con, no we don’t have it at the moment – few villas and rural properties around here do and almost none of the locals and expats living here have it – but having said that we are contemplating installing it for summer 2013.
We do our best to create a comfortable, quality and sociable holiday environment for our guests. We would love to appeal to everyone but guess this isn’t a realistic expectation – the vast majority of our guests love Bambú, have an incredibly positive holiday experience and leave with nothing but happy memories and new friendships formed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossford, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Bambu Resort, A tiny Spanish paradise.

For all of my travelling and shenanigans over the years I had never visited Spain . Mostly because the idea of miles of tourist laden beaches and high rise hotels had never appealed to my idea of a holiday.

My preconceived impression of Spain was well and truly blown out of the water when this year I was invited to pay a wee visit with some friends to Bambu Resort. A seven bedroomed hotel nestled in the hills overlooking Benamocarra, in Andalucía a beautiful (but hilly!) small town of whitewashed houses.

What makes Bambu really special (apart from the hilltop location and spectacular views!) is that it is exclusively for lesbians.

The seven self catering rooms are spread around the pool and main outdoor dining area, allowing for privacy as well as easy access to socialising all in one!

The accommodation itself is clean, fresh and has everything you need for your stay. Some rooms are of a superior level (one with a spectacular terrace) but even the basic rooms are perfect as a base and have the most wonderfully powerful showers that certainly wake you in the morning!

Catherine and Susanne, who own Bambu were delightful, hostesses, with great ideas for days out and could not have been more helpful during our week long stay.

Due to the location you do need a car although Catherine and Suzanne will pick you up at the airport if you just want a week of lounging by the pool!. Benamocarra itself (which is a good 20 minute walk down a very steep hill!) is limited in the size of shops and restaurants (but still has a few for the odd meal out!), but the nearest big (and I mean BIG!) supermarket is a 15 minute drive away. Malaga airport is a 45 minute drive.

With a car the world is your oyster… or at least the Paella bar on Nerja beach, which is definitely worth a visit after visiting the famous caves. No-where is too far away, The Alhambra in Granada , Gibraltar (although that would be a full day’s travel there and back!) and so many beaches and beautiful towns to visit.

Although this is a resort which suits couples perfectly, I visited with friends and although there were only 4 singles (out of 14) the intimate but friendly ambiance did not make it feel awkward.

One of the most interesting aspects of the week for me was the different nationalities that were there. Scots, English, French, German, Australian and Romanian, all enjoying the sunshine, the friendships and the odd HUGE barbeque or two! New friendships have been formed, cuddles have been given, bikini bottoms have been tied to door handles (but that is a whole different story!).

For single ladies “single” weeks are held, but by Catherine’s own admission it is not designed to “hook” women up with each other but simply to allow single lesbians to enjoy a holiday in the company of other single lesbians, to develop friendships and enjoy each others company.

Other events such as walking weeks are already happening and other “specialist” weeks will be introduced in the future.

There is a huge choice of activities to be found in the local area, from horse riding, to golf to undertaking one of the many walks. Of course, you can always just lie back at the side of the pool and demand to be fed with grapes… although, for me, this did not work and is really my only complaint about the whole holiday!

Room Tip: there are only 7 rooms .. room 5, 6 and 7 are a little more private (room 7 has a wonderful private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Bambù is a fabulous place to relax in a quiet room with a terrace overlooking the mountains was beautiful, we must go to understand the air conditioning would be welcome night.
Each morning we loved seeing the sheep cavaler the hill.
We met great women of different places of Europe and it was great. Being in the pool 30 degrees, playing ball or two to find the bar surrounded by flowering trees c is also very well, prickly pears, grapes and fresh figs were suculentes. What we most appreciated is respect for the quiet privacy of each and the availability of Catherine, the owner, tell us about the different place to visit, how to rent a car, etc. .... Bambù is also, near the foot of the small Benamocara village where you can shop and also by car, you can go where there are lots of choices. It is recommended thanks to Catherine ballad on the Rio Chillar, walking feet in the water in a beautiful place in a beautiful nature, c is a fabulous experience; Thanks also to Gabriela for his great shiatsu massage and openness of mind to communicate with us. Fredy our love the cat more cuddly, always present but never obtrusive. We look forward to returning to find this little piece of paradise to live carefree where our love life is a long quiet river

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women

Address: 63 Los Pepones, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Velez-Malaga
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Country House Holiday Studios Exclusively for Women, Andalucia, Spain. Enjoy sublime countryside, stunning pool, extensive terraces, beautiful gardens, quality self-catering accommodation and the company of other travellers like you. Perfect location for exploring mountain villages, historic cities, the Mediterranean coastline and some of the most stunning countryside in Europe. Walking distance to nearby village of Benamocarra. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively For Women Spain/Velez-Malaga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women to your Saves list