We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to completely unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Velez-Malaga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women
Save
You added Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women to your Saves list
63 Los Pepones, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to completely unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We were at Bambu for just one week, but came back so relaxed and felt as if we had been there for much longer. The apartment provided everything we needed, was clean and very comfortable. The pool was lovely - very clean - perfect for swimming or just lazing about. Plenty of loungers, nice shady bar area - and even three gorgeous cats!
We met both couples and solo travellers - everyone was so friendly and most evenings we spent with other people - although that wasn't necessarily what we had planned - but there was no pressure to socialise if you wanted to be more private. We walked into the village a couple of times - which is steep and not a journey you would want to do in full sun carrying shopping - although a taxi back wasn't too expensive if there are a few of you sharing. Guests with cars were more than happy to give lifts to those who didn't, and as a group we visited the Alhambra which was a great day out - about 90 minutes away by car - book in advance and leave plenty of time to get there or you'll miss your timed entry slot - as we did (you can see the gardens, library, museum and fortress at any time, but the palace has to be booked). We have come home with many new friends and will certainly plan to come back in the future. Thank you to Catherine and Suzanne - you're both wonderful hosts!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the biggest and the only one with an oven if you like cooking (although others have a hob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
59
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

A private retreat to recharge, relax, have fun and meet great friends. It really is surrounded by avacado and mango groves. The exotic smells in the evening are wonderful, a real experience. Our ten days were spent relaxing, reading and playing in the pool (which was spotlessly clean). You can be as sociable as you like. We spent the afternoons playing volleyball and other silly water games - the loser of which would make coffee for everybody by the bar area. We hired a car and spent a couple of evenings with other guests dining out at destinations such as Torre Del Mar. Some of the guests didn't have hire cars but there was alway somebody willing to offer them a lift. We walked down to Benamacarra one day. It wasn't too far, about 20 minutes, but was very hot on the uphill walk back to Bambu (35 degrees in August!). The roads to Bambu are a little intimidating at first but after tackling them a couple of times they are pretty straight forward to navigate. In the evenings often we would all buy a little something and barbecue as a group. The atmosphere was wonderful with lots of chatter and games. We also spent a couple of evenings as a couple going to a wonderful indian restaurant that overlooks Lake Vinula and to Nerja to explore the amazing caves and snorkel in the sea. Bambu really is a wonderful place. The views are breathtaking, the building is lovely, the facilities are excellent and Catherine is friendly and always willing to help. Towels and linen were provided and there is a washing machine on site for guests to use for a small charge. There is a well stocked honesty bar providing beer, chocolate and water. for any 'lipsticks' please note that you have to bring your own hairdryer! We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Book early. All rooms are as described on website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Having never stayed in an exclusive lesbian resort before we were a little apprehensive as to what to expect, however our expectations were exceeded within a few hours of arrival.
Bambu only has 7 rooms and this makes for an ideal number of people to socialise with without the resort feeling overcrowded, allowing for both "individual couple" and group time.
The booking process and information prior to arrival from Catherine and Susanne was superb, including the directions to find this "little oasis". Tip for all, I would hire a car for your stay, as Bambu is remote but this adds to the ambience and uniqueness of the resort. However, as we found, Bambu is more like a little family and therefore everyone helped out with those that didn't have cars. When we were there, 2 nights the entire resort went into town (Torre del Mar)for cocktails and dinner on the beach.
Bambu was fully booked for the duration of our stay with a mixture of both English and Spanish guests(most of which had been to Bambu the year previous)which made a great mix of people for the long and often drink fuelled evenings around the bar and terrace table!
There is an honesty bar which is great for those evenings when you want just one more drink or fancy some chocolate!
Bambu have created the ideal setting to enjoy each others company as well as socialising and making new friends.
We went to Bambu with reservations but left not only with a whole host of new friends but also determined that this has to have been the best holiday in a long time.
Would definitely recommend to lesbian couples looking for that special something.
Thank you Catherine and Susanne and see you again soon.

Clare & Tasha

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Well we took a gamble and tried somewhere new rather than the typical Spain visit this year. Bambu is what you would say "off the beaten track". The surrounding distant scenery was stunning, particularly in the evening when the sun sets, very peaceful.
The roads up to Bambu are a little testing by car, but I do recommend you have one just so you can get around easier. There are a lot of places to visit and these are very kindly highlighted in the pack that Catherine & Susanne provided - follow this advice as you will get the most out of your stay.
We also found it handy to have SatNav as part of the hire car package, but if you are a natural adventurer, just go without it!
We had the apartment with a private terrace, I would recommend this is you want peace and quiet - we unfortunately booked in 'singles week' so were glad of this space. The apartment itself is adequate for your needs and the little welcome touches are always appreciated.
The 'hosts' are very helpful & on hand if needed, but your are generally left to enjoy your holiday without being dragged into someone elses party.
The least attractive feature was the road up to the apartment; but I dont suppose you go on holiday to look at the road!
The local village is quaint and very traditional; i.e. loads of men sat outside cafes drinking whatever whilst the women run around doing the work............it is totally not a tourist area so if you are looking for spanish life in a real village, this is it!
The fish shop is gorgeous and if you find the bakery it is like stepping back 100 years, but an experience. I do also recommend buying from the village shops which are infinitely cheaper than the supermarkets and much more fun.

Room Tip: If you want more 'you' time, choose the roof terrace apartment. If you want to mingle around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We loved it: the pool, the view over the mountains, the nicely decorated rooms and accomodation, the relaxed atmosphere, the bar, the service. It is the perfect place to find rest and spend quality time with your partner, or to enjoy the sun and rest when traveling alone. And, if you like, you can have a chat with other women from all over the world. We were so enthusiastic about this resort that we changed our travel plans and booked a few more days to stay. We certainly recommand this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have just returned home from my first visit to Bambu and I really wish I was still there. As a solo traveller I went into this holiday with an open mind, not expecting too much. To say I was pleasantly surprised was an understatement. The room, pool, bar area and terraces were all excellent and well cared for.
As for my fellow solo guests I now have five new friends who I hope to see again back at Bambu next year we all had a fantastic time and some great BBQ's.
To Catherine & Susanne Bambu is a credit to you both thanks for a great holiday experience.
See you next year
Gill x

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, herts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Bamba was everything it said on the website and more. really ticked so many boxes and the idea of solo traveller week is brilliant . Loved loads about the location and Catherine and Suzanne really friendly and helpful. Only thing to be aware - within the local village the food is not so special . people in village really friendly and could not be more helpful just if your looking for a really good restaurant best to head further afield .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women

Address: 63 Los Pepones, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Velez-Malaga
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Country House Holiday Studios Exclusively for Women, Andalucia, Spain. Enjoy sublime countryside, stunning pool, extensive terraces, beautiful gardens, quality self-catering accommodation and the company of other travellers like you. Perfect location for exploring mountain villages, historic cities, the Mediterranean coastline and some of the most stunning countryside in Europe. Walking distance to nearby village of Benamocarra. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively For Women Spain/Velez-Malaga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.