We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortijo Bravo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cortijo Bravo to your Saves list
Hotel Cortijo Bravo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Velez-Benamocarra Km. 1,5, Velez-Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

There are some nasty people in this world who give totally unwarranted poor reviews. Their were 32 of us at a family wedding (still here as I write this) who had a great time. Well organised, food great, service was too. Polite staff who mostly knew English or enough to understand. Nothing was too much. We are mid April and the weather is super but not too hot. Wedding outside, entertainment outside and the banquet was the first time the Hotel had on the outside patio and was superb. Normally this is held inside but can see more having it outside after ours went so well. Altogether a great hoteland recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

After reading the varying reviews and keeping an open mind, we decided to give the hotel a try and we're so glad we did. Extremely peaceful location with stunning views across the countryside towards the sea - we paid extra for a room with a terrace and it was certainly worth it. Very comfortable rooms with nice bedding and a choice of pillows. The hotel decor is quite contemporary and no signs of tiredness or poor cleanliness. The hotel has character, unlike a chain hotel. We had dinner at the hotel the first night and it was very good although the choices were quite limited. That said, it's the start of the season so perhaps the menu is expanded when it's busier. Overall we loved the hotel and we'd happily return for a couple of nights to unwind.

Room Tip: Pay extra to have a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here in 2011 and could not fault it. On return, hotel felt tired. Staff were polite but not particularly welcoming. No homely touches to be found. Not encouraged to dine in the evening. Room was adequate, but not cozy and bathroom was sparsely supplied with low quality toiletries. The gardens were unkempt and had lost their appeal. All in all, disappointed, and will not return or recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just visited Spain to confirm all of the final plans for our wedding and had an over night stay at Hotel Cortijo Bravo.During the stay we had ur meu tasting ready for the big day and it was just incredible, we have been lucky to dine at the hotel restaurant a couple of times now and each time it has been brilliant. Staff are always so helpful and friendly. The rooms are lovely and the views are just stunning, such a brilliant place to chilli out and take in the peace and quiet. We are so excited to be back in May for our wedding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterwolde, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was our last hotel of our two weeks travel in Andalusië. De hotel had the grandeur and ok location. Only the staff en the hotel looked tired. De parasols by the swimming pool were broken after two days someone kind off repaired them. The cleaning was not very well. Cobwebs at the ceiling and the like. For instance the tablecloths were all stained at the bottom due too the mopping of the tiled floor. The gardener had previous to our arrival been pruning the hedge, only forgot to clean about a dozen or so branches, at the end of our three day stay they were still there on the terrace getting brown. The food in the restaurant was not cheap but of good quality.The employees at the reception were often away and took quiet a will to come when ringed.
all in all for the price we had to pay for the hotel we where very disappointed in comparison to the other hotels in our trip
autumn 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Got married here September 2012 and returned for our anniversary September 2013. Food is amazing, dinner is without a doubt one of the nicest meals I've eaten. Hotel is still beautiful however I thought the grounds of the hotel had become a little run down. Pool area needs some tidying up, just general garden maintenance needs to be improved. Absolutely wonderful setting overlooking the town of velez Malaga, style and decor of hotel is beautiful. Lovely place to get away for a relaxing stay. A car is a must however as there is no spa here just the outside swimming pool. So you could go explore near by town if staying for a few days.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
school
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Myself and my family travelled here for my son and daughter-in-laws wedding on the 24th September 2013 well what can I say about this hotel it is just magnificent from the scenery to the rooms to the staff. firstly I would recommend this hotel for any occasion but as we stayed for a wedding its just the most perfect place it has 360degree views, the food is fabulous the staff are so friendly and helpful. we had a brilliant time here. if I was to have any fault with it (and it would be very very had to find one) it would be the lack of a spa I will certainly go back to stay here even without the spa well done Hotel Cortijo Bravo

Room Tip: all the rooms have a brilliant of the valley and the mountains just be careful on the road up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cortijo Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortijo Bravo

Address: Carretera Velez-Benamocarra Km. 1,5, Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortijo Bravo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cortijo Bravo combines the elegant and typical decorative style of the classic Andalusian houses of the landed gentry with Malaga's own cosmopolitan and romantic trends of the Nineteenth Century. With the added extra of enjoying all the amenities of the Twenty-First Century. All contained in an enviable location, on the Mediterranean. Being at one with nature, rivers and streams, the sea and its beaches. Spectacular mountain views from the Maroma. White-washed villages bathed by the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cortijo Bravo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cortijo Bravo Spain/Velez-Malaga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cortijo Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.