We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Authentic hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch to your Saves list
Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchstrasse 19, 97209 Veitshochheim, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Veitshochheim
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Authentic hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spend a very good night at Spundloch - Das Hotel. The hotel placed in a wanderful quite neighborhood. Happy environment and very nice end clean rooms. The rich breakfast was served in the authentic dining room. The beds were so much comfortable we slept like at home.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The village is quaint, not far from Würzburg, and steeped in tradition and history. The hotel absolutely lovely with friendly staff - but parking difficulties described earlier. It's a fairly standard German family hotel; very comfortable, clean and well organised. No tea or coffee making facilities as you would expect, and a compact room with a view of a tatty back-yard. But we were especially disappointed because we had booked a room with gourmet meal accompanied by local wines. The meal was competent in execution, the wines quite frankly ordinary and not particularly appropriate for the food being served. You could buy the wines from the Hotel - we did not. We went a few miles down the road to Randersaker and bought some fantastic (cheaper) good wines. In the Restaurant the service was very good indeed, the Hotel was OK, but we felt that it was not at all good value. Overall, lack-lustre; we will not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a small family-run guest house/hotel above the Spundloch restaurant. I'll start by saying that the owner added a bit to the "standard" German hotel breakfast with some delicious specialty jams and honeys to go on some locally-made seeded breads (the owner told me that his sister is a beekeeper, and one of the honeys was from chestnut trees - yum!).

Both the hotel and the town of Veitshochheim are adorable. It's a pleasant and relaxing small suburb to the larger city of Wurzburg. The owner was pleasant, helpful, and approachable throughout our visit. He also responded to emails quickly and was happy to give advice when asked. (I saw him in the restaurant at 7 am and at 11 pm - unclear when the guy sleeps!)

The hotel is not a "fancy" hotel - there's no elevator and no air conditioning. There is a wireless network. The rooms are adorably cute but not luxury. We carried our own bags to our room (although I suspect that if we asked for help, the owner would have helped us). There is nearby free parking for the hotel (but be sure to ask at the desk for directions).

Overall, we had a good time here and would gladly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

From the pages of a German fairytale, this quaint hotel is squeezed into a improbably small space on the main street of Veitshochheim. Although the hotel has its own parking spaces they are a short walk away and you will probably need to ask for directions. There is room on the street to leave a car for a few minutes and the friendly staff will give you a laminated map to help you find your way. It is a short walk from the hotel to the church and the Palace and Rococo Garden. A slightly longer stroll will take you to the River Main where you can take a boat trip to Wurzburg, stroll along the promenade and have a little panic at the marked flood levels on some of the buildings. The hotel has electric bikes for hire if you want to explore further afield. The hotel room was comfortable and very clean. An early and enthusiastic frenzy of bell-ringing at the nearby church was mercifully brief and the quote from Goethe stencilled on the cupboard was not as literary as I anticipated; "Life is too short to drink bad wine". The restaurant operated on that principle and the food was very good indeed.

Room Tip: The room we had was very pleasant but was fairly standard and not like the one shown on the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch

Address: Kirchstrasse 19, 97209 Veitshochheim, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Veitshochheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Veitshochheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.