We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Vinny

The Blue Vinny
12 The Moor, Puddletown, Dorchester DT2 8TE, England
+44 1305 848228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Puddletown
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Roly and Helen Harries took over this traditional village pub in Puddletown, near Dorchester in May 2013. Keeping the very best of the old, they set about combining its warm, friendly country ambience with a cool, airy modern interior - part of a style that is reflected in their approach to the food and hospitality. Something for which this bar and restaurant is rapidly gaining a first-class reputation.The food is home cooked, and where possible the ingredients are seasonal and sourced locally from friends or trusted specialist suppliers. The wines have been chosen to complement the menu, and there is always a range of excellent guest ales on tap.Together with Head Chef Anthoney Riley and his team, they've created a menu that reflects their personal tastes, with a truly international approach - a style that owes as much to the hot islands of the Mediterranean as it does to the classic and everyday dishes of Britain and mainland Europe. Roly and Helen with Children Thomas and Benjamin are passionate about producing the very best food at accessible prices, as well as extending a warm and friendly welcome to locals and visitors alike.
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Everything excellent. Next time were in this area will defo be coming here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland H, Owner at The Blue Vinny, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and look forward to seeing you nxt time you are in the area.
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    69
    24
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch en-route to holiday, managed to get the last table. Impressed with the menu choice plus specials and baguettes. We decided to only have a starter and a dessert and thoroughly enjoyed all our choices. My only complaint would be after having asked for a glass of tap water (as well as two pints of ale ) and being pleasantly surprised when it was served in a pre-prepared bottle I was disappointed to note a charge on the bill for 'squash' which I assume was the water. I would make sure if visiting again that I was not charged for something they are obliged to provide for free.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland H, Owner at The Blue Vinny, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi. I am glad that you enjoyed your lunch at The Blue Vinny. Just for your information there is no charge at all for the water and I can only think that unless you had a soft drink, this charge was done in error from one of the staff. If this is the case i am sorry this happened and i would be more than happy to refund it next time you call in or am happy to refund your card. Thank you again for your custom and we hope to see you again.
Roly Harries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, Ringwood
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Good Cheese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I took lunch here after a 3+ hour walk in the surrounding countryside. Initially we didn’t find a particularly warm welcome and service was very slow. However, they were rushing around serving customers, although there didn’t appear to be that many at the time.
There was a good menu for lunch, with even more mouth-watering choices on the specials board. My wife ordered the tuna baguette with salad, whilst I went for the wild boar faggots with mashed potato in red onion gravy and onion rings. The baguette, my wife said was pretty standard; however my dish was beautifully presented and tasted terrific. Given the quality and value for money of my meal we would definitely like to explore the menu further next time we are in the area. A good pub with above average food for a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Upscale Pub in Dorchester area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The new owners have made The Blue Vinny a destination place for dining. It has the charm of a traditional pub, a great selection of beers and wines, a menu of wonderfully-prepared foods, and an open, contemporary atmosphere that made our dinner experience one of the best. Just a short distance off the highway in Dorset, we recommend The Blue Vinny for a fine dining experience. While the five of us ate, we saw couples and families feasting on their fine fare, yet at a very moderate price (less than 20 GBP per person including drinks).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We weren't impressed with the look of the pub from the outside and thought we would be the only people eating there on a Tuesday evening out of season but we couldn't have been more wrong. The inside was lovely and it was buzzing! The staff were very friendly, the menu was original and the food itself was absolutely delicious. It wasn't cheap but it was certainly of a very good quality.
Best meal of our holiday!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Vinny also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to The Blue Vinny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Vinny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.