We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot to your Saves list
Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, Rajkot 360001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Rajkot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for Business Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I booked a room last minute at the Sarovar Portico in Rajkot. It is a property taken over from a previous owner, and has been refurbished superbly. The reception area was not too big but is neatly done. Check-in was smooth and the staff was polite and courteous.

The room was chic, contemporary and very well-maintained. It was clean, devoid of any odors and well-equipped. I was pleasantly surprised to find such a room for only Rs. 3,000 a night. I did not have dinner at the hotel. I got good sleep, there wasn't much noise from outside (well, it's Rajkot) and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well decorated with creature comforts.

Breakfast was somewhat of a let-down after the expectation that got built from the rest of the hotel. Don't get me wrong, it tasted fine. However, there could have been more variety in terms of the cuisines and range of items in the buffet.

Check-out was smooth and efficient. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Rajkot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrpo, General Manager at Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sarovar Portico, Rajkot.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the buffet breakfast verity and will address and rectify the issue highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Gomes
General Manager
gmrpo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    66
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
14
9
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were at Sarovar Portico Rajkot for one night only. The provide pickup from the airport which was convenient.The hotel is located right in the city and is an easy ten minute rickshaw rida to all the major locations. Rickshaws are also freely available. One side faces Shastri Maidan which is a large open ground and we can see the sun rise in the morning from the upper floor windows. The rooms are clean reasonable sized and well maintained. The ac works well . The bathroom has basics like soap shampoo and hair dryer. The food from room service was the spoiler. In spite of asking for very less tikha what we received was so tikha that our tongues were numb even on the next morning . I ate only some fruit from the buffet breakfast the next morning but there were the usual varieties. Housekeeping was slow to respond so you need to have patience but the work does get done in the end.

Room Tip: Upper floor maidan facing rooms are bright and have open view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Sarovar Portico during our trip to Rajkot. It is right in the center of the city and easily reachable. Staff members were really supportive but some of them has bit less knowledge of Rajkot city. Room was small but good enough for couple of night stays. Room was clean and with basic furniture. They have free internet facility in every room and the internet speed was good enough. Food was ok kind and highly expensive.

Overall OK experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had one of the finest stay experiences with Sarovar Portico. The staff is very cooperative and proactive Must say Amit & Tushar and are willing to go the extra mile to ensure comfort and convenience of the guests, Roof top outlet is amazing and rooms are comfortable & clean . Really enjoyed staying and I'm looking forward again.
Take room on higher floor but away from lift.

Room Tip: room on higher floor but away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I happened to stay at Hotel Sarovar Portico in Rajkot city in Gujarat for a night on a business trip. I was surprised by the level of service and facilities available there, given that my expectation was that it would be just about a decent hotel in a small town. But it is as good as any boutique hotel in larger towns. It seems that it was done-up recently, so everything is new.

The food is decent too, although not the best.

The staff are very helpful and prompt.

I'd highly recommend this place for anyone visiting Rajkot.

It also has a rooftop terrace restaurant.

Room Tip: Very good boutique hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great hotel .. Very good service. For its price it is excellent value for what they charge.
The rooms are decently spacious and well maintained. The breakfast is not excellent but not too bad either. Rajkot is a small town and everything is quite closeby.
The staff are quite co operative and accommodating. I had a late flight and was allowed a late check out so i could rest in the room before the flight.
All in all good experience and i would stay hee again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We travelled few places before we had our last stop at Rajkot.
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. We had booked a family room, but found it small. Within hours, we were upgraded to far larger room. Most of the shopping that we did was near the hotel. The buzz of India (specially traffic) was joy to watch. We were treated extremely well, and staff were very friendly and courteous. We spoke local language, so we found everything so easy, but even than, our stay could not have been made any better without constantly being looked after by very helpful staff Like Shalu and Amit including others. A must for any family or business people. Clean, easily accessible and pleasant hotel,

Will recommend to anyone either for business or pleasure. Good food and ambiance............and a visit to Roof Top restaurant is a must.Weather was just perfect.

Sampat family in Pinner Middlesex UK

Room Tip: Some rooms for couple may be small, but location and cleanness outweighs the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot

Address: Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, Rajkot 360001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Rajkot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Rajkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarovar Portico Rajkot is located in the heart of the city's prime business and shopping hub, at a distance of 3.5 kilometer from domestic airport and 3 kilometers from railway station & walking distance from main markets and is an ideal home for tourist and as well as for business travelers.The Hotel offers modern, spacious and elegant ambience with well appointed and tastefully decorated 65 Standard rooms and 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sarovar Portico Rajkot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.