We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On oasis in Sale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Repose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Repose to your Saves list
The Repose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On oasis in Sale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After traveling for three days around Morocco including one night in a berber tent during a camel trek we were overjoyed to stay in the the stylish and tasteful Repose before leaving for home. Jan and staff were amazingly hospitable and we just wish we could have stayed there longer to enjoy more of the medina. They went out of there way to help us arrange taxis, prepare a take out breakfast, and make sure we were comfortable. The dinner on the rooftop deck was fabulous. The rooms were beautifully decorated.

Room Tip: There are just three rooms but they divided one of the double beds to accomodate my two teenage sons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    50
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
149
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for two separate nights during our honeymoon. It was a great experience. I wanted to show my husband the beautiful Riads Morocco has to offer and this was the perfect example! The owners were always at our service, if it was for lamp advice or a very early breakfast to go. We had some lovely dinners at the rooftop terrace and even a room upgrade because it was our honeymoon. If you’re planning to stay in Rabat/Sale, don’t hesitate any longer and book a room at The Repose!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedemsvaart
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Second year in a row we visited the Mawazine festival in Rabat, Marocco, and again stayed at The Repose. It's like meeting good friends, you feel welcome and apprecated. Peaceful and stylish with excellent service. It's very relaxed and even if a concert takes a little longer, don't worry, the door will be opened. Need advice about something, e.g. a good guide in Fes, no problems, Jan will help you. It really makes a vacation what it should be: relaxed, good company, good food and good weather. We're already looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: As usual, the most expensive is the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Repose and had the most wonderful Moroocan hospitality by our host Jan and Racid. The decoration of the Riad is truly Moroocan and the location inside the Medina made it a perfect base for our exploration. Jan was very helpful with her knowledge of the surrounding. The meals we had (lunch and dinner) were superb and the breakfasts were excellent.
Also, Jan arranged a driver to picked us up at the airport in Casa Blanca. Overall, a great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Riad earlier this year.
The Riad is very beautiful, and we've been warmly welcomed by Jan in person (with moroccan cakes :-) ). She took the time to show us on a map what we could visit in Sale and Rabbat in the amount of time we had, We were also going to a wedding, and Jan arranged a taxi to take us and drive us back.

The Riad is in the middle of the Sale Medina, and a short ride via boat or tram from Rabbat, so if you want to visit Rabbat, it's a convenient place to stay at.

You can arrange to have dinner as well, The food was homemade and very nice. You can also order some delicious moroccan tea any time. Breakfast is often served on the top floor terrasse, which is gorgeous.

We only stayed two nights, but we had a lovely time. If we go back to Sale again, we would definitely pick the Repose. I recommend it to all, for a nice and relaxing stay. You will really feel like a guest in a home.

Room Tip: We were in the African room. It was a nice room, only issue is that it opens directly onto the livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Perfect if you enjoy small hotels where the owners are welcoming their guests and treating them as real "guests" and not just customers. Excellent service and vegetarian cooking. Owners have UK as well as Maroccon roots and give excellent advice to travellers who seek guidance in what to do, what to see, how to handle differences in culture etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this riad for 2 days. Jan and Rachid (Owners of this Riad) are the most accommodating hosts we ever met. We were offered pastries,dried fruit and soft drinks on arrival,the atmosphere was very welcoming,hotel is clean and comfortable, breakfast was very nice, we requested for a softer mattress which was promptly taken care of. Also the helpers in the kitchen and the rooms were very polite and courteous. Rachid helped us with booking of train tickets among other things. In short a wonderful experience. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Address: Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan living on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Repose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.