We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, restful riad, aptly named” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Repose

Save Saved
You added The Repose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Repose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Sale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A charming, restful riad, aptly named”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What an excellent place to relax after a long trip. We were welcomed most graciously with smiles, tea and cookies and later had a most delicious vegetarian dinner. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and harmonious. We enjoy every minute there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    42
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
131
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As others so many others have said, Jan runs a great Riad. Morocco in general, especially the medinas can be a bit intimidating to the uninitiated. But Jan is there to help with arrangements advice, and pretty much taking care of guests and everything they may want. The Arabian Room, where we stayed was well appointed, well designed, and quite large.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful welcome by Jan when we stepped into the Riad after a long day of travel. Tea and snacks were offered as we sat in her "groovy" lounge area.

Each room is wonderfully designed with comfort in mind. Interesting paint colors and textures, pretty bedding to match and each room with it's own exotic feel (although all of Morocco is pretty exotic!).

Meals were wonderfully prepared. Jan only cooks vegetarian; however, in Morocco this is a plus. Plenty of fresh vegetables, couscous, etc.

Jan is a delightful host and certainly makes you feel welcome in her home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This riad in Sale was a delight in every way. Luxurious accommodations in an old restored private home, the rooms are large and visually stunning. Meals are Moroccan-vegetarian, large and delicious with many varied dishes. Most wonderful of all is Jan, the innkeeper, a personable British, now-Morrocan woman who arranges for your every need, from procuring train tickets, to arranging day tours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. I have travelled a lot, in many different countries, and this is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I have ever ended up.

Service: excellent
Jan, the owner, was entirely helpful from the moment I booked my stay, emailing with train info and organising a taxi to get me from the station to the front door. She also found out bus times for leaving the next day and organised another taxi for me. The girls who work here and serve meals are just lovely, and the service they provide is faultless.

Rooms: stunning
Inside the riad is a gorgeous little sitting room where meals are taken, with a room downstairs and then some upstairs with little balconies looking down into the sitting room. The rooms are just stunning I want my house to look exactly like this. All of the rooms are gorgeous (Jan showed me through as the other guests hadn't yet arrived). I stayed in the chefchaouen suite, which i could not fault. Shampoo, conditioner and soap are provided in cute little jars, and the rooms have heating. the bed was very comfortable. The rooftop terrace is also lovely, a good place to relax.

Food: delicious
The only negative against the place is that if I stayed any longer I would end up enormous. On arrival I was presented with a plate of delicious treats. The five course dinner was just delicious, and the service provided by the girls who work there was faultless. Breakfast was equally perfect. Most welcome after my previous breakfasts of stale bread and a quarter of an egg in egypt.

I almost want to extend my trip in Sale just to stay here. I would highly recommend it to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This riad was probably the best in our trip. They only have 4 rooms but all are decorated with style and are very comfortable. The owners are also extremely helpful. They will come greet you at the parking lot so that you don't get lost in the medina. They will also give you a good overview of the things to see in Rabat. Don't miss out on dinner. We had probably some of our best food in Morocco at the riad. Check the menu before and ask them if you want to have anything different. Their vegetable tajines are amazing.
Breakfast is also very good and they will give you a breakfast to go if you happen to leave very early. Definitely a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I'm so glad my guide booked this riad for us to stay. It was probably one of the nicest and most beautiful riad that we stayed during our 12 day Morocco trip. We were welcomed with lovely incense as soon as we entered and I was amazed just how beautiful the riad was with all of its beautiful lamps, furniture, candles, and overall interior decoration. The food was also delicious and the soup and tagine we had for dinner was some of the best that we had in our trip.
The rooms were also beautiful and it was a shame that we only got to stay 1 night. This riad stood out as the top during our stay and I'm so happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Address: Zankat Talaa no 17 | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan living on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Repose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.